We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Amazing hospitality and generosity!

We visited Michael John's (100 of us) on a very wet day, between a family wedding and the sit down... read more

Reviewed 22 September 2017
Aine377
,
Derry, United Kingdom
Best Guinness

Smashing wee pub in Stroove or Shroove.Great pint of guinness .Very friendly staff and clientele... read more

Reviewed 9 July 2017
beezer67_12
,
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Read all 6 reviews
  
Reviews (6)
Filter reviews
6 results
Traveller rating
4
1
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
1
0
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 6 of 6 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2017

Smashing wee pub in Stroove or Shroove.Great pint of guinness .Very friendly staff and clientele &despite being the only pub left in Strove there are no rip off prices.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank beezer67_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

the owner is very friendly and the place is lovely!! the view is breathtaking and definitely a place for friends, couples and families. The location of the pub is not crowded which is ideal for me..very relaxing. Me and my husband will definity vist again!

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Aizel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

Sat here half the night enjoying the chat with the locals and Michael John the owner. I had a lovely evening and must say a most welcoming bar to visit.
Even got a lift home. Hello what more can you ask for.
My advice if visiting Greencastle Visit this pub.

Cheers lads

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Truthprevailshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2015

The bast way to find this place is to drive straight past Shroove lighthouse, stay on that road, and it loops back past the Drunken Duck, with MJ's on the left, a little further on. However, it's not easy getting a drink in Shroove, and it only has two bars, with one closed altogether [Drunken Duck] and MJ's only open at night. It's in a great location, with great views over the Foyle, but sure thats no good when it's closed.

Date of experience: January 2015
3  Thank letterkennycaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews