We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous holiday home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Palmtree cottage

Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Kitchen/diner
Living room
Living room - range of downlighters and lamps for relaxing and reading
Main bedroom
Bathroom with large walk-in shower area. Heated towel rail.
Twin bedroom. 2 single beds. Wall mounted TV. Antique fireplace.
Enclosed outdoor area, Charcoal barbeque
Palmtree cottage
Yes - there is an actual palmtree!
Palmtree Christmas
Local pubs and diners only a 5 minute walk from Palmtree
Scenic shore walk from Moville to neighbouring village of Greencastle - 2 minutes from Plmtree
Village square - 5 minute walk
St Patrick's Day parade 2016
St patrick's Day parade outside Palmtree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Moville, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Marie K
Derby
1 review
“Fabulous holiday home”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Recently stayed at Palmtree cottage for four nights to attend a wedding at Redcastle. Perfect location for touring the Innoshowen peninsular. Easy drive to Derry and to the ferry which will take you over to The Giants Causway and Northern Ireland's many attractions. Lots of lovely beaches a short drive and the lovely Malin Head. Cottage was excellently equipted with lovely bedding and towels. Would not hesitate to recommend this property..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelled here for a break away with my partner and 5 week old son. House fully equipped with everything you would need in your own home. Beautifully decorated with large spacious garden. Located within walking distance to town centre and lovely shore walk. House very clean and welcoming. 100% thumbs up.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agit27
1 review
“Our New Little Gem.....”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I recently spent a weekend in Palm Tree with my husband and daughter and this house is a little gem. Beautifully presented with every home comfort you can think of. this is ideal for a family or a couple looking to get away for a relaxing break. Just a short walk to the shops, restaurants and pubs and the beach is literally at the bottom of the road. A fantastic location with two great golf courses which appeals to my husband and beautiful beaches and a play park. We have visited Moville several times and this cottage is our favourite - recently decorated, bedding and towels were of high quality and Hugh advised that all mattresses had just been replaced. We spent the evenings sitting by the fire watching dvd's from extensive supply provided by the owners - there were also books, magazines and games! My daughter loved the beautiful dolls house in her bedroom. We would certainly recommend this cottage and we will definitely return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2016
Thank you for your wonderful review,we really appreciate it.
Hugh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angelsare...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“lovely home in a perfect location but lacked the personal touch”
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A few days before travelling to this property we were informed that the open fire was not operational. We had done a lot of research in to different cottages for this break away. Having an open fire was one of our main reasons for booking this property so to be told so close to our arrival date was very disappointing. It was too close to our check in date to cancel. Just check with the owner before booking as it is still listed as a luxury. Overall the cottage was clean and spacious. Lots to keep the boys entertained. Beautiful beaches and scenery nearby. A drive up to malin head is a must see. Breath-taking scenery.
Would have given a five star rating only for the open fire fudge.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
I am sorry that you were disappointed with the fire not working. As explained, the issue with the open fire was only discovered just prior to your arrival and it was not possible to get the necessary repair work done in time. We have had this repaired and our recent guests have reported no issues. i am heartened that you would have given a 5 star rating if the fire had been repaired in time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leahbest9...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house in a lovely town”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I stayed in this house for my birthday weekend and had a great time. The house had everything you would need including a massive range of dvds! Very clean throughout! My husband and I met Hugh the owner and he was a gentleman. The house is very close to the centre of Moville which is a lovely wee seaside town. We will definitely be back and will be booking again VERY soon!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing