We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A rocky experience not to miss

This beautiful rock formation near Gokarn is a must visit for the tourists. Had these rocks were... read more

Reviewed 14 March 2022
arpuka
,
Bengaluru, India
Yana Rock formation is truly spectacular!!!

We took a cab from Gokarna at around 0730 hrs and reached the parking point at the Yana forest... read more

Reviewed 25 December 2021
gangolli
,
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Read all 150 reviews
  
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
81
63
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
81
63
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking area small temple eating places must visit place beautiful rock amazing trek birds chirping personal vehicle caves route forest kms steps sirsi nature road hrs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We first heard of Yana when our hosts suggested it that its a must visit attraction. It was not in our itinerary but we decided to go ahead still and it was worth the time taken. Yana rocks are massive limstone rocks just out of nowhere in a jungle!

The route : Take the road going to Sirsi from NH17. This was the only time during entire trip, Google maps got the directions wrong. While it showed the destination correctly, the road shown to reach the attraction (left from Sirsi road) was incorrect. When we took the turn, we realized that it was not motorable. Luckily there was a shop just at the turn, we checked at the shop and they told us that we missed a left turn which was about 3 km earlier! We went back and then realized that the sign board was in English when going from Sirsi to NH17 while it was in Kannada (which none of us were able to read) when we crossed earlier.Once you take a left here, the road goes through a jungle and has only one small hamlet on the way. The road is lonely so it is better to travel in a group. Once you travel for about 7-8 kms, you will reach the base parking for Yana rocks.

The trail : Once you park at the base, a small trail takes you to base of the rocks. There is a climb involved and if you are not used to treks/hills climbing, it might test your stamina. However, it is not like you can not make it. The trail itself is very beautiful with dense forest on both the sides and streams crossing in between. When we visited in last week of Decembers, it was butterfly paradise. We witness hundreds and hundreds of butterflies of different varieties. It was as if the road is completely butterfly carpet. The last climb has steps built with a railing.

The main attraction: The rocks are mammoth in size and makes you wonder what was geological phenomenon which resulted into this kind of formation. The size and shape of the rocks it humongous and unique. No photos can do justice to the experience. As usual, there is a mythological story associated with this. Wikipedia has a good details about geography and mythology associated with this.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Handy Tips:

1. You will like this only if you are a nature lover and/or geography/geology buff.
2. Be mentally prepared for good walk and some of it being climb.
3. Make sure that you go in a group as the approach road before you hit the parking is very lonely.
4. Walking sticks, SunHats recommended.
5. Allocate a day for this. While the attraction itself will take 3-4 hours, you feel tired after the walk and would like take it easy.
6. The eating places available around and on the way are ordinary. Plan such that you can reach Gokarna or Kumta by lunch/snack time.

Date of experience: December 2014
14  Thank Neerajjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2015 via mobile

I wanted to visit this place since last 15 years. Atlast I made it. After returning from Dandeli, we touched Sirsi and was wondering to head towards sagara or yana. We decided to go to yana. We have to park the car a km away from the spot.. There is clear path and easy to walk. We saw many old ppl walking to this place. The place is amazing, you can find two huge rocks. We went inside the rock, it's like between the rocks. There is a story behind this what I heard is Mohini destroyed Bakasura inside the rock, so you can find the rock is full of black color and the soil is black. You can track around the place to different rock and explore. Nearby place to halt is Gokarna 40km or Sirsi 40km.

5  Thank PramodNanjareddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 January 2015 via mobile

It is a nice place to see..The rocks ..magic .. now not clean not maintained well ..If it is maintained well ..then it is equal to newyork ' Watkins Glen. .. cave is very nice to explore . Tremendous ... india should concentrate on tourism spots. We got everything naturally ...but... ?

1  Thank oshylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2015

A single monolithic rock formation that astounds the beauty of the place in midst of the natural green vegetation.

Date of experience: December 2014
3  Thank NatureDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2015

This is awesome place. You have to walk a bit from the parking, but it is not too far. We have 3 kids with us, 2 below 5 yrs and 1 around 9. They had no problems what-so-ever of walking this distance. If you love walking and photography, then this place is for you. Awesome rock formation, lots of green trees around, red-sand is beautiful.
While coming out of the caves back to the entrance is bit tricky though. If you are at old-age or having walking, knee problems, then make sure somebody accompanies you as the road is very slippery and lots of ups and down. But otherwise, this place is definitely a must visit.

Date of experience: December 2014
2  Thank AniketSamudra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews