We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/22
Hotels.com
$65
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/10/22
FindHotel
$56
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/10/22
Priceline$65
Travelocity$65
Booking.com$65
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
123
93
27
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
123
93
27
8
8
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2019 via mobile



Location of the resort is very good which is right on the highway. There was no welcome drink but got a warm welcome and check in process was just 5 mts. The non AC rooms at the top of the resort are very good with great views and cool breeze. There is no need of any AC at this season. But one important thing to notice for those rooms is it's very steep and elders and kids  will find difficulty in climbing but you can avail the free shuttle service. The breakfast was pretty decent with a good spread  of dishes  with juices and bevarages. Restaurant is available but it's very costly and not worth to spend pennies. You can find Taj Restaurant just opposite to the resort which is very good and cheap too. U can find more choices within a KM. Resort also has some good indoor games, kids play area, swimming pool and SPA. SPA rates are nominal. Night time the camp fire was arranged and all families enjoyed a lot with music and dance. Overall it's worth for the money and a great experience.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank varvindk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager_upavan, Manager at Upavan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Dear Mr. Arvind,

Greetings from Upavan Resort Wayanad!!

Thank you for your valuable review. It was our great pleasure serving you here and we are very glad in knowing that our service reached your expectation. Looking forward to serve you again in future. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2019 via mobile

Lovely staff , yummy food , excellent service.. clean and big rooms ,
Really enjoyed our stay at Upavan Resort

Little far from the local market but hoteliers will arrange for transportation also great service

Thank u Team Upavan for the lovely memories


Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kakhiyania
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager_upavan, Manager at Upavan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Dear Ms. Kavita,

Greetings from Upavan Resort Wayanad!!!

It was our great pleasure serving you here and we are very glad in knowing that our service reached your expectation. Looking forward to serve you again in future. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2019 via mobile

Good location and approachable. Rooms are spacious but construction is of old design. Also the recreation area needs maintenance.
Food was good on most occasions but the breakfast menu was limited. SPA at the resort was overwhelming. The best part was the staff was most courteous.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ayuchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager_upavan, Manager at Upavan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Dear Sir,
Greetings from Upavan Resort Wayanad!!
Thank you for your valuable review. It was our great pleasure serving you here. We noted the above mentioned points and will be certainly taking care. Looking forward to serve you again in future. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019 via mobile

It was a very nice place.rooms were clean and tidy. Place was right beside the highway. Easy approach. Rooms are on a gradient. They have van to take guests to their rooms. Very different architecture. Food was good. Not something to expect though. Spa was excellent. Something that one must try on going there

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jithinjohn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager_upavan, Manager at Upavan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2019

Dear Mr. Jithin,

Greetings from Upavan Resort Wayanad!!!

Thank you for your valuable review here. We are very glad in knowing that our service reached your expectation and we thank you for giving us an opportunity to serve you here. It was our great pleasure serving you here and looking forward to serve you again in future. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2019 via mobile

I happened to stay with this resort on 21 March. I won’t recommend this resort for anyone, cause I had some bad experience with it.
Pros:
1)it’s located side of National Highway. So easy to access
2)check in formalities was simple and they offered welcome drinks!
3)lots of security staffs and have nice car parking area
Cons:
0. No Wifi. No internet. No cellular service for idea, VODAFONE. Don’t know about other network barriers. So make a last call at your home before check in. Because you are going to be out the network world
0. For saying they had wifi in reception area. But in room (I stayed in room no.501, no.502) there is no constant wifi signal. I have made complaint and they shifted me to other room and it was the same.
0. It’s was a false promise made by ‘trip advisor’ and ‘make my trip’ saying they have Wifi. I made complains to make my trip later.
0. Water pressure in toilet was very poor. I had to wait nearly 15 min to fill a bucket full. Shower was also slow, so I need to use mug and bucket to take bath. Pathetic!
0. Pool water was not that nice, it have taste of chlorine. Lucky i didn’t bring my daughter to this resort.
0. Very few dishes for breakfast. Better access a restaurant outside the resort. A far of 200m from this resort. Nice and cheap food there you will get.
0. This resort is situated on slop of a hill. So it’s big sloppy way to walk between room, pool, restaurant and playing area. Not recommended for children and senior citizens and pregnant women
0. This resort is crowded with Police and Thunder bolt with big guns. They always stare at us. Like we are all spied. This resort is actually got threat from Maoist. There was killing happened inside this resort. It’s adventure to stay here

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 747muhammadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Manager_upavan, Manager at Upavan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2019

Dear Mr .Muhammed,

Greetings from Upavan Resort Wayanad!!!

Thank you for your detailed review as it gives a direction for us to work to. We at Upavan Resort
strive hard to cater to the individual requirements of each of our guests. However there are
times when factors outside our control and factors that cannot be planned for in advance can
affect the overall experience of our guests. I believe yours is such a case. Do allow me to go
into the details.

We do not false advertise any service. Ours is a boutique resort designed to give guests a
holistic resort experience at an attractive price. However, we do not cut corners in bringing this
experience to guests. The Wifi service, as you have mentioned, was indeed affected during your
stay and our apologies for this, however this was due to network issues at the ISP and not
because of the WIFI infrastructure. The issue was raised and fixed by the ISP. Both Idea and
Vodafone does have coverage within the resort and we have had no complaints in the past
about cellular coverage. You might have faced an odd instance.

With regard to the water pressure in said room, we have looked into the matter and have found
no visible faults. The hot water pressure is of course not as strong as the regular pressure. This
is because we use instant heaters than take some time to kick in but draw lesser power
reducing the load on the power infra in the region.

With regard to our swimming pool, the same is cleaned daily as a matter of routine. Chlorine
needs to be used for sanitization of the water in the pool for the safety of guests as is the case
in any other swimming pool.

The restaurant has been a focus area for us this last year and we have made significant
improvements as can be seen from recent reviews. Our breakfast buffet is modest but prepared
fresh on the day. With over 10 freshly prepared items in the buffet I would hardly call the spread
small nor cheap. Alternate options are available around the resort and the staff is more than
happy to guide guests from their own local experiences.

Yes the resort is built on a hill which adds to the charm of the property and is fitting considering
we are a hill station resort. Families with kids and senior citizens are regular visitors here. While
some kids and guests enjoy the walk up the hill should they be staying in higher rooms, we have
multiple 4-wheel drive jeeps on site to move guests up at any time of the day. Moreover The first
tier of rooms in the 3 tier designed resort is a cakewalk to access on foot.

We do understand that while we work hard to entertain our guests, the property might not be to
the liking for everyone. However we interact with our guests every day and encourage them to
share their concerns with us so that we can attend to it immediately. We only wish you had
spoken to us directly and or mentioned these concerns during your stay and we could have tried
to make your stay more relaxing.

I do hope we get to see you again on your next visit to Wayanad and we will try to paint a new
picture together.

With regard to your last point, we will not respond to false propaganda or unverified claims. This
is a family resort and a professional security service operates within the resort for the safety and
security of all guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews