We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
YBM
York Harbor, Maine

Great Getaway

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Aug 2016
Fox Harb'r Resort is remote and not in easy proximity to any of Nova Scotia's renowned tourist attractions. However, it is a great place for a get-away for those who love to golf or for those who just want to enjoy the solitude surrounded by an aesthetically pleasing landscape surrounded by the lush green golf course and beautiful gardens with sweeping vistas of the Northumberland Strait.

In the evening, we enjoyed cocktails on the terrace of the Cape Cliff Dining Room, and as dusk (and mosquitoes) rolled in we moved in to our table in the dining room where we were served an outstanding dinner by the warm and hospitable staff.

Our suite was very nicely appointed... comfortable bed and beautiful view. If you want the best view, be sure to ask for a second floor suite.

We're very pleased with our stay, and look forward to returning in the future.
Date of stay: August 2016
Room Tip: Ask for a second floor suite for the best views
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₹31,096
  • Preferred Hotels
    ₹28,447
  • eDreams
0.0 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹7,368
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    ₹7,370
20.8 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹8,848
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹8,850
  • Vio.com
28.1 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹7,557
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₹7,560
31.9 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
47.9 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
55.6 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
55.1 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.7 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
48.3 km from Fox Harb'r Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Fox Harbour
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveller rating
412
66
17
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
412
66
17
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fox harb'r golf course nova scotia dining room northumberland strait top notch horseback riding get away the pub hidden gem hot tub a great experience play golf pro shop beautiful grounds halibut high end
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
404 - 409 of 507 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We found the Fox Harb'r Resort enroute from Cheticamp, Cape Breton (about 4hrs) to New Brunswick. It is a beautiful, hidden gem and a welcome "vacation" after so much hiking and numerous stays in smaller B&Bs and rustic lodges. The rooms are elegant with lovely balconies overlooking the water and golf course. The facilities are extensive with a fantastic indoor pool, tennis, horseback riding, etc. Fox Harb'r is also a very romantic setting.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarianneNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Fox Harb’r is an interesting resort. It’s in the middle of nowhere, albeit a beautiful nowhere. It seems to have a penchant for privacy, a gated community that is very meagre with signage. It has its own air landing strip for its Fox Harb’r jet and private planes. And, it didn’t seem very crowded, even though we visited in August, seemingly in the height of the season.

Yet, it’s a delightful place. My wife and I rented a studio suite but, because of a problem with Wifi, were upgraded to an Executive suite. What a treat! Elegant master king bedroom, luxurious bathroom with heated floor among other perks, and comfortable living room with gas fireplace (which even in August came in handy on one cold rainy day).

The golf course is very nice, not spectacular, but nice. The service is good, and the food above average. Why are there not more people here? I couldn't figure it out. However, all the more pleasant for us, who enjoyed this August retreat in beautiful Nova Scotia.

Room tip: Higher floors might have a better view of the Northumberland Straits.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 464bobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin T, President at Fox Harb'r Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2016

Thank you for taking the opportunity to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Fox Harb'r Resort. I am glad to learn that you enjoyed our service, food, golf course and accommodations.We pride ourselves on providing a luxury experience to all our guests and because the resort is so large, measuring over 1,100 acres, we have 15 minute tee time intervals and a relatively small number of guest accommodations, our guests are often telling us how much they enjoy the "uncrowded" feel of the resort.
Thank you for visiting Nova Scotia and Fox Harb'r Resort. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

This is a review of Tim Horton's co founder Ron Joyce's golf course at his Fox Harb'r Resort on the Northumberland Strait in Nova Scotia, not far from the town of Tatamagouche where Joyce grew up. I did not try to use my status as a member of the Golf Journalists Association of Canada to get free or reduced green fees. Instead I paid the full $200.00 daily rate which allows for unlimited golf, but were just here for the day, so 18 holes was all we played. I've played Fox Harb'r before, but not for many years and I wanted to be sure I could post an unbiased review of the course. Here's what I thought.

Fox Harb'r Golf Resort opened in 2001 and from the very beginning was never designed to attract the average golfer. By that I mean your median average income golfer. Ron Joyce hired famed Canadian golf architect Graham Cooke to build what he intended to become one of Canada's best resort courses. Joyce is a billionaire and made it clear to Cooke that money was no object. That concept has extended to the clubhouse, spa, restaurant and accommodations. The people who come to Fox Harb'r to stay and play for a few days often arrive by private jet. We saw two land while we played. In other words, its target audience is the rich and famous. Over the years these have included Bill Clinton, Tony Blair, George W. Bush, Bobby Orr, Charles Barkley, Hank Haney and the most famous name of all, Tiger Woods, who holds the course record of 63.

Given that Fox Harb'r is not exactly on anyone's beaten path, it gets very few visitors on a daily basis and once you're there it feels more like an upscale private club than a resort. With not very many rounds played each season it has a reputation as probably the best maintained course in Nova Scotia. Graham Cooke, one of Canada's all time great amateur players, recognized that just because you have money, that doesn't mean that you necessarily want a difficult golf course. Fox Harb'r is not easy by any means, but is fair. Wind is the principal enemy followed by the water, some woods and sand.

It's just over a 90 minute drive from Halifax to Fox Harb'r, mostly on divided highway, but the last part is through scenic Wentworth Valley and then to the village of Wallace. At Wallace there is a bridge over the head of the harbour and then a right turn down a paved road through rolling farmland with views of Wallace Harbour on the right. The first sign of anything resembling a resort in this bucolic countryside is the newly planted vineyard on one side and a tall wrought iron fence on the other. There are no grand signs or even ungrand ones telling you that Fox Harb'r is at hand. The entryway is gated and well landscaped with two foxes the only clue that you have arrived.

As far as I am aware Fox Harb'r is the only gated community in Nova Scotia or the Maritimes for that matter. I was buzzed in after identifying my group and tee time. After parking in the mostly empty parking lot I wandered over to the pro shop that is part of the very large clubhouse that faces the 1st tee and 9th green. Elliot Isenor was manning the desk and we chatted about the state of golf generally and Nike's decision to get out of the golf business despite having Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy on their payroll.

Later I headed for the practice tee where I was the only one warming up until my playing partners arrived from Moncton. The practice area is large and like a private club the balls are free and you can hit as many as you want or in my case, need, in order to get warmed up. The practice green was ominously fast. So much so that the gusting winds were able to affect deflect a put from its intended path. Enough talking, let's play. Fox Harb'r was named Best New Course in Canada in 2001 so it should be fun.

Before starting I should clear up one point of confusion and to some extent, contention, about the Fox Harb'r course. While it advertises itself primarily as a seaside course and uses the word 'links' quite liberally, it is only the back nine that fronts on Northumberland Strait. The front nine is entirely inland and features water hazards, but the ocean isn't one of them. So with that caveat let's play.

I've included pictures of most of the holes so you can use them to aid in my descriptions.

The first thing you will notice from the photos is that it was a beautiful day for golf. The second is the conditioning of the course. The fairways at Fox Harb'r are as good as you'll find in Nova Scotia, as are the greens. The third thing is that there is nobody in front of us. If you value being able to play at your own pace then Fox Harb'r is your destination.

The carts are equipped with satellite linked GPS systems that provide all the information any golfer should need about playing a hole for the first time. That's a rarity in Nova Scotia and a definite aid in club selection.

We played from the whites which is 6375 yards, a good test for most golfers. The first drive simply requires some decent length and avoiding the water down the left side. It's a good, but not great starting hole.

No. 2 is the first of four par fives and probably the easiest of the four. Here the trouble is on the right and avoiding it a big hitter could reach this in two. Again, a decent hole, but not inspirational for sure.

No 3. is a brute of a par four playing over 410 yards. It's the hardest hole on the course and I don't have much good to say about it. Happily it's followed by the easiest of the par threes, a straight uphill shot that plays longer than the yardage. By now many golfers will be wondering, aside from the conditioning, what's so great about Fox Harb'r? The first time I played it, I had these same doubts and still wonder why Graham Cooke decided to start of with a whimper and not a bang.

Things get a little better on 5 and 6 which are the second and third holes of a fairly easy stretch. I don't know about you, but I prefer easy to hard. Don't get me wrong, these holes are not defenceless. There is water, sand and woods as well as very fast greens. The sand at Fox Harb'r is a delight to play out of. It is soft and consistent. If you know how to play a sand shot then these should not be a problem. After playing 4,5 and 6 you should be feeling better about your game, but that could soon end as there are a series of holes coming up that require thought and precision.

No. 7 is a gorgeous par three to look at and play. This photo from the white tees shows that there is no room to miss on the left. In fact if you are short the water comes into play on the left side even more. What you can't see is that the green is protected by bunkers on the right. This hole plays 175 yards and odds are the wind will be in your face. It takes a long accurate tee shot to make the green. No one in our group did, and two ended up under clubbing and landing in the water short of the green. Still, it's a very good hole.

No. 8 is a risk reward hole for big hitters. The water continues down the left hand side and at some point you need to cross the stream into which this small lake drains. It only plays 335, but the sensible play is just to hit an iron straight out short of the bunkers and then hit a short iron onto the green for an easy par. That's what I did and had an easy approach shot. The carry is less than 100 yards with another 20 or so to the green.

However, a big hitter could challenge the water and a carry of about 250 yards would get you across and a lot closer. Personally I think that choice is for suckers, but it is no doubt a temptation to some.

No. 9 is the second of the par fives on the front and far superior to the first one. It's 500 yards uphill with the clubhouse in the background. It doesn't look it from the photo, but those trees on the right are definitely in play. On the left hand side are some of the largest bunkers you'll find anywhere in Nova Scotia, maybe the largest. Another distraction on this hole is the possibility of a jet flying across the fairway at a low level as the runway is just on the other side of the road. This is exactly what happened, but I didn't grab my camera in time. As I passed by the runway there was a lear jet with its engines still loudly whirring. I resisted the temptation to yell, "Cool your jets!".

One thing I didn't like about this hole was a tiny, completely hidden pond just to the left of the green. However, if you checked the approach shot out on the GPS you could obviously find out it was there. Here is the approach shot on 9. If you compare the cloud cover on the first photo you can get an idea of the prevailing winds which today were quite strong and in our faces for too many holes for my liking.

So that's the opening or parkland nine of Fox Harb'r. It takes a while to get going, but the last three holes make up for it. Let's head for the back.

The first thing you notice on heading to No. 10 tee is that it's almost as if you've gone to a different golf course. Gone are the forested edges of the fairway, replaced by tall grass and deliberately planted specimens. Usually houses alongside a golf course are an irritant, but not in the case of Fox Harb'r. The first ones you see are condo units which is where most of the registered guests stay. Each building houses several units and they all have a great view of Northumberland Strait. Since we are not staying there's not much more I can say about them other than they are well back from the fairway and don't interfere with the play. In other words, you'r not going to hot your ball in somebody's front yard.

No. 10 is a dogleg to an elevated green that requires a good tee shot and a precise second one to hold the severely sloping green. A much better start to the back nine than front.

No. 11 is a brute of a par five that plays 535 yards from the whites and is the hardest hole on the back. The good news is that after you struggle by this hole there are five in a row that fall into the easier half of the holes. Also, the water finally begins to become a factor, maybe not on the holes itself, but in terms of making the holes very pretty to look at.

No. 12 is a long uphill par three. It is the first time you get a good view of the Ron Joyce house in the background with the lighthouse to the left and covered bridge to the right. The hole itself is pretty ordinary. No. 13 is another long par four that takes you past a number of very expensive looking private homes. When the Joyce property was built it was considered to be a mansion, but some of these new ones are actually much larger. It's the people who own these that come and go by private jet.

No. 14 is the first hole where you get a great view on Northumberland Strait. On the left side is the lighthouse and marina where one of Joyce's many boats was moored. It's a lovely hole, but the water never comes into play unless you hit a terrible drive.

No. 15 is easily the strongest of the par threes. It requires a decent carry over water to an elevated green. Like No. 10 which also has a steep rise from front to back, if you get above the hole, just pray you can stop the ball before it rolls off the green.

The 16th at Fox Harb'r is the signature hole and strangely, also the easiest. It certainly looks difficult from the black tees, but only plays 353 yards and there's almost always a tailwind. Although the carry looks formidable, it really isn't and even average golfers should reach the fairway from the back tee. From this vantage point you can see just how much work had to be done to shore up this part of the course. The Northumberland Strait is notorious for rapid erosion and I'm sure Graham Cooke realized this when he designed these oceanside holes.

At the end of 16 fairway there is a plaque marking Tiger Woods drive on this hole.

The difficulty returns on 17 as the string of relatively easy holes comes to an end at fairly long par four. You also get a look at what I think is one of the biggest mistakes at Fox Harb'r. Rather than getting in at least one more and probably two oceanside holes and at least two more where the ocean would be in view, Joyce decided to build a par three course that nobody ever plays. Some of the lesser holes on the front could serve as the par 3 course while up to 13 holes could be on the water side of the clubhouse. Have a look at this photo I've included and see if you don't agree that this is a total waste of some great golf turf.

No 18 is a very strong finishing hole. It's not a particularly long par 5 at 460 from the whites, but it does require a solid drive to make it to the dogleg left. The second shot is to an elevated green which is guarded by a few strategic traps and some gnarly rough, which as I found out, is not a good place to be.

All in all Fox Harb'r is a very fair test of golf and its immaculate conditioning, great water holes and the ability to play at your own pace (fast for me), make it worth the high green fees. With the opening of the Cabot Cliffs course at Cabot Links Resort in Cape Breton, Nova Scotia is experiencing an explosion in golf tourism, particularly high end. This will no doubt benefit Fox Harb'r in the long and short run. You might want to play it before it really gets on the golf world's radar.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank maritimeexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin T, President at Fox Harb'r Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you Maritimeexplorer!
The most comprehensive review of our cherish championship golf course ever. I truly appreciate your very thoughtful and insightful commentary about the golf experience at Fox Harb'r Resort. You kind words have been shared with our entire golf team and they are thrilled with your compliments and grateful for your constructive criticism accordingly.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Fox Harb'r Resort in the very near future.
Sincerely,

Kevin Toth
President, Fox Harb'r Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2016

Golf course is magnificent, service is fantastic, digs were amazing, food was acceptable.
1 night stay with all the golf we could play on a fantastic golf course with tremendous vistas - very nice dining room with VIP service but lobster was just a bit overcooked and very expensive.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin T, President at Fox Harb'r Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor Review concerning your recent stay at Fox Harb'r Resort. I was very happy to learn that you thought so highly of our golf course and you enjoyed your experience along with your accommodations.Thank you for your comments about the overcooking of the lobster and please accept my apologies. I have shared you valued comments with our Executive Chef to ensure that the cooking timing is done to perfection in the future.
Thank you once again for you great review and I look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Fox Harb'r Resort in the very near future.

Sincerely,
Kevin Toth
President, Fox Harb'r Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2016

Had a wonderful experience. The property just set the mood to relax. Everyone are so friendly from check-in to boys helping with your luggage. The room is huge with great view of the water. Highly recommend this property for family and business get way. Very clean and calming.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanso S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin T, President at Fox Harb'r Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Thank you for completing a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Fox Harb'r Resort. I was very happy to learn that you had a wonderful experience with us. Your kind comments have been shared with our entire team and I know that they will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the services provide by Fox Harb'r Resort.

Sincerely,
Kevin Toth
President, Fox Harb'r Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews