We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
265
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wildlife experience local community sloth bear his team the cottages roof terrace bird life the general manager other guests the river every meal great variety local women highlight of our trip mosquito net national park game drives
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2016

If you are looking for an extremely comfortable wild life experience in India where the park is not over-run with tourists of both the Indian and European/American variety and where you are sure to view a variety of animal and bird life, The Forsyth Lodge in the Satpura Wildlife Preserve 3 ½ hours south east of Bhopal is definitely the place to go. The accommodations are wonderful and if you choose the Machan style, not only will it have a big bedroom/living room with sit-out on the jungle itself, it also includes an upstairs covered roof-terrace with a king-sized bed surrounded by mosquito netting and comfortable chairs and a sofa to view the forest from above. You can also sleep the night up high outside if you don’t mine climbing down stairs to the bathroom. The staff is outstanding in service and the guides are incredibly knowledgeable not only about the animal life but also regarding trees, insects and jungle life. We were provided with our own guide, Surya, for our entire 5 days at the lodge who took us out on Jeep and elephant rides or walks in the forest or around the 42 acres of the lodge itself. He ate dinner with us as well and he was incredibly intelligent, educated, kind, courteous and just a pleasure with whom to spend time! In general the staff cannot possibly do any more to make you happy and comfortable while making you feel welcome and a highly valued guest. Rishi, the director, oversees the staff and the venue with top level management skills as well as wonderful attention to the guests. On top of all this, the food is delicious, varied and fresh and schedules around dining are relatively flexible to your desires. Of course there is a lovely pool. After 30 years of travel in India and visiting many animal preserves I had always wanted to see a sloth bear having seen their claw markings on trees and their pug marks on the ground. When I arrived and was asked what I most wanted to observe, I said a sloth bear. I saw 7 in Satpura forest and 2 were mothers with their cubs! Elephant jungle safari’s are always the highlight of my animal viewing trips and at Forsyth Lodge I was provided with two elephant trips to view animals. One was 2 hours and one was 1 ½ hours – much longer than usually experienced in other parks. Here the elephants are so well trained that the mahouts do not use discipline of any kind but do all their driving gently with their feet and the elephants respond with sometimes minute changes in their walking through the forest so that you very unlikely to be touched by a branch or tree even when you are off the paths. It’s just two passengers per elephant and our guide traveled on a second elephant so we had plenty of room to change position and relax in our howdah. You can also take rides on the holy Naramada River, which separates the lodge area from the preserve. We saw Guar, Chittel, Sambar, wild boar, Sloth bears, a jungle cat, langur and rhesus monkeys, and many wonderful forest and water birds.

Room Tip: Machan Cottages include, big room, large bath, shaded roof terrace with big bed, couch and chairs, and garden terrace on jungle.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drreinisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We stayed in Forsyth Lodge with a group of 16 people, including teenagers. The lodge has been recently renovated and is in impeccable condition. The rooms are extremely comfortable with top class bedding and bathroom fittings. The food was delicious, especially the lunch which was cooked by the local village women using locally sourced vegetables and recipes. The rangers were absolutely amazing, with in-depth knowledge of the flora and fauna, their enthusiam evident during evering safari trip, whether the walking safari, jeep safari or boat safari. The lodge is ideally located near the river, which changes every day and with every season, home to migratory birds, crocodiles, wild boar and much more. The lodge is also extremely well run, with attention to the smallest detail, such as a french-press coffee machine at 5am before the safari drives (much appreciated). A truly wonderful place with fabulous staff

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 5goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2016

This was a last minute decision. We decided to visit Satpura national park for two nights at the end of our Indian trip. I phoned up the lodge and managed to get a room. I already knew that there were no permits left for the park on the first day but the lodge took us out on an afternoon/ night safari (4pm till about 9pm) in the buffer zone. We had a wonderful time and were lucky enough to see a leopard. The naturalists at the lodge were very knowledgeable and really made the trip worthwhile. We even had an astronomy lesson one evening.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016

Rishi and his awesome team of naturalists and lodge staff make your stay at Forsyth a really memorable one! The cottages were beautiful, food was delicious, conversations were interesting, safaris were fascinating and the entire setting was absolutely perfect. Highly recommended!

Stayed: February 2016
Thank Rhea857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

It was dark when we arrived for three nights but we immediately knew we were somewhere special. From the minute we arrived to the time of our departure we were treated as if we were family members.

The dining area is well set up and the menu is varied. Food is perfect, nothing is to much for the staff. On returning from a game drive we found our evening meal set up outside which was smashing. Another time lunch was prepared by some ladies from the local village which was again very nice. Lunch was also served beside the pool one day.

Rooms are spotless and all well laid out. Drives are interesting having to cross the river by small boat to visit the park, also boat trips are possible where there is plenty to see.

Plenty of walking can be done around the lodge and there is plenty of wildlife around about including leopards.

Local children all wave with beaming smiles as you pass by in the jeeps. The lodge is an important part of the local community.

Resident Naturalist David was brilliant and so helpful during trips and giving photography assistance which was much appreciated.

Apart from seeing Tigers this was the highlight of our three week trip.

Many thanks to all the staff and the owners who always greet you personally after every drive and join you for meals for such a memorable visit.

You have to experience this Lodge first hand.

John & Carol. Liverpool UK

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rishi S, General Manager at Forsyth Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Dear John,

Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you both here with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Forsyth's experience as well as the National park that it supports. We hope that we will see you again soon at the lodge.

Regards,
Rishi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews