We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picture perfect country weekender!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Large Inglenook fireplace with traditional Kentish hops garland.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Boughton Lees, Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Tim R
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Picture perfect country weekender!”
Reviewed 22 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

While I can't guarantee snow will be falling outside (it was for us), once you get the fire going in this gorgeous Kent country cottage it becomes your own winter wonderland. Maybe you'll be lucky enough to visit enough in warmer months and enjoy the pool? Either way, the hosts have thought of everything and you'll be right at home. Would love to come back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2018
Sounds like you experienced a bit of the winter magic at the cottage - thanks very much for taking the time to leave a review and do come back, perhaps in another season - autumn with all the colours in the garden is also amazing ! Best wishes Tim & Maite
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma_p
Cheltenham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Getaway not far out of London”
Reviewed 20 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Tim & Maite’s cottage was absolutely stunning in every way. Stunning surroundings, beautiful decor and a great location. It’s definitely a great cottage for all seasons.

They’re the perfect hosts too, with every detail for comfort being covered - from super fluffy white towels, the most comfortable beds, a well equipped kitchen through to a thorough welcome pack that makes you feel like a local.

Not one bad word to say- and would love to visit again in the summer!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidE617...
1 review
“Fantastic Long Weekend”
Reviewed 13 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

My family and I recently spent a wonderful 3 nights over the Mother Day’s weekend. On arrival we were greeted by the beautiful smell of the open fire. All rooms were perfectly laid out and very clean and tidy.

The character of the cottage is well blended with the modern extension matching seamlessly with the original building. The cottage exudes a family comfort and the garden and grounds very private and relaxing. All the bedrooms are of a good size, as is every room.

The highlight for me must be the fire place which was amply stocked with wood for those romantic evenings. Although this was run close by watching our daughter play on the swing and the dog zooming around the large, secure grounds.

The owners where extremely helpful and accommodated all of our wishes. I would certainly recommend this cottage and will be looking to return later in the year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosmopoli...
1 review
“Lovely family weekend”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Tim and Maite are fabulous hosts, communication is first rate and always responsive. Our trip was disrupted because of the snow but Tim and Maite were flexible with our changing plans and really patient. The house itself is wonderful, really beautifully decorated with plenty of space for a great family weekend together. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
We're glad you made it and also glad that we were able to extend your stay given the snow scuppering your arrival date. Maybe come back in summer next time [less chance of snow!] and when the pool is in full swing. Thanks for the kind review :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renée K
1 review
“Perfect spot for a relaxing, group getaway”
Reviewed 11 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

What can I say? The setting is breathtaking; on a big property with a huge garden and lush fields. It is a tranquil cottage which is close enough to local amenities, but far enough away so that you feel as though you are the only people around for miles. Such a brilliant place to get away from the hustle and bustle of London. Tim and Maite (the hosts) were great - they provided a wide range of recommendations of things to see and do, ranging from local walks to a spectacular dinner at the nearby Compassess Inn (a MUST try if you are in the area!). We travelled in a group of 6 and couldn't have had a better time. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend away, then Plantagenet Cottage is the place for you. We will be back!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2018
Renee - thanks so much for the kind words - we're so glad you had a fab time - we love the Compasses too. Hopefully see you another time :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing