We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
7
10
3
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
7
10
3
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hummus small village tabo monastery walking distance valley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2016

If you are planning to stay in Tabo, you already are not a luxury oriented tourist but a accommodating traveler.

But be prepared to really rough it out at Tiger Den, the room is very basic, hot water is erratic, the food service is very slow.

The staff tries to do their best but they maybe they are short staff to accomodate the sudden increase in the crowds in this sector

Location is great, close to the monastery , if you get up early you can walk up for the chanting session at around 6 am. You can also take the small hike to the caves uphill. The view of Tabo from up there is great

Also the old monastery is one the best I have visited , the serene environment and the old paintings are breathtaking

If you are lucky enough to visit Tabo, please keep it litter free and plastic free, lets ensure we preserve the sensitive ecology of the Himalayas

Do visit the cafe at Sonam Guest house for local delicacies

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explorerspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Nicest hotel we stayed in the Himalayan mountains. Good view, good food, great hospitality from the manager. Meals never fail to surprise us and probably also the best food we had on the mountains. Basic amenities provided.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sgraymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Horrible place. In spite of booking in advance we got such terrible rooms. We had booked 4 rooms and they gave us 2 rooms on the ground level and 2 rooms on 1st floor. The place was so dirty and the stench of the garbage and toilets made it difficult for us to even breathe and the owner of the place RANA was very rude and arrogant. My advice to fellow travellers please stay away from this place even if the location seems convenient.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank farida k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Location is the only usp of this hotel as it is just 100 meters away from the Old Monastery. Although there are several other homestays and guesthouses near the monastery but their access is through narrow lanes.

Rooms are too basic to be comfortable with smelly and apparently dirty linens.

Millennium guest house run by the monastery itself seems to be better option.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ashishvetmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 June 2016

The hotel is run by Vaneet Rana who is a disgrace to hotel industry & hoteliers in Spiti Valley. In spite of prior confirmation, payment & booking, when we reached the hotel the hotel owner rejected to accommodate us as he had accepted on the spot booking at a higher price than what we paid. Tabo is a kind of place which is quite remote & there are very less hotels there. The owner instead started suggesting us other hotels where we can go & make the fresh booking. He didn't even refund our booking amount.

Try booking hotels such as Trojan, Hotel Siddharth & Dawachen Retreat etc. as this hotel can reject your confirmed booking anytime for their profits.

I am sure the two positve reviews are also fakely written by hotel staff itself.

Room tip: This hotel is not trustworthy
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank mayur k
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews