We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mr & Mrs Lawrence.”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We got married on Oct 7th, we stayed the Friday night before the big day and left on the Sunday morning.
On arrival the receptionist was highly professional and after a friendly insight as to the location of the various amenities, we checked into the Bridal Suite. We were delighted at the cleanliness ,the facilities within the room , the bottle of bubbly and the box of chocolates left.
Once unpacked the bar was visited where by we met Margaret and Audrey. Nothing was too much trouble for these ladies including re positioning my flower on my suit on the morning of the wedding. Kyle behind the bar was a great ambassador for the complex, very approachable courteous and professional the whole time he served us.
The catering staff and the food we received during our stay was second to none.
My wife and I still think about our fabulous a stay at the Mill Forge , we are even going to book the same dates next year for our Anniversary, I would just like to finish and thank everyone for making our visit so relaxed and welcoming . Their are too many names to thank individually so a great big thank you to every one, You did yourselves proud The Mill Forge .

Room Tip: Bridal rooms are top of the range. Other rooms are fair for their price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank columboGumbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Thank you so much for your excellent review. We are always happy to hear that we made our couples stay with us so memorable. I have printed off your review for all our staff to read. We look forward to seeing you back again for your anniversary. We wish you all the best for the future.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

We had our wedding here a couple of weeks ago and it is a good wedding venue but not as brilliant as the reviews I’ve read. The bridal suites were £180 , that’s including a discount for the dream wedding package . A bit overpriced in our opinion as the tv vibrated constantly and the remote didn’t even have a back on it to keep the batteries in . We were charged more than we expected for all the guests rooms as it never said on the sheet of paper that the prices already included the wedding package discount. When it’s your wedding you don’t like to complain and I don’t regret having the wedding there but I think reading all the reviews I just expected everything to be perfect . I’ve been to the highlands many times and the hospitality is outstanding and maybe I expected The Mill Forge to be like that. At breakfast we had to ask 3 mornings on the run for cups, cutlery . No matter where we sat there was something missing off the table . Small things but they do begin to turn into big niggles looking at the full picture .

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Linda,
Thanks for your comments. I'm sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we will look at all the points you have raised. However we are glad that overall you enjoyed your wedding and your stay with us. All the best for the future.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had a very pleasant greeting on arrival and were welll informed about our vacation.Our room was very clean and warm and very well equipped. We had an evening meal, well served and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Hi Jean,
Thank you so much for your very kind comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us again sometime.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Booked a last minute trip after being caught up in the Monarch fiasco. Booked for 4 nights and we are so pleased we did. Beautiful hotel with stunning surroundings. We booked a twin room with disabled facilities which was a lovely, warm, cosy room with everything you need. It is a wedding venue but still make you feel more than welcome if, like us, you were staying for a short break and not attached to a wedding party. The bar is welcoming and comfatable and the food in the restaraunt is fantastic and very reasonably priced. All of the staff were brilliant and cant do enough for you. A special mention to Katie, Margaret and Kyle in the bar and to Clare in the restaraunt for the never ending hospitality offered by them. Nothing was too much trouble and you could tell, they really enjoy their job. We would definatley return and can highly recommend The Mill Forge as a venue for any occasion. TOP CLASS>

Room Tip: all rooms are ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gimassif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. I'm pleased to hear that we made your stay so enjoyable after suffering such disappointment with your original holiday. I will make sure that our staff get a copy of your lovely comments. Please come back and visit us again on your travels.
Kind Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We went for a friend's wedding and stayed for two nights.
The venue was wonderful and the rooms are loverly.
There is a good choice of breakfast menu.
The various prices suprised us as they were so reasonable
I would say if you are thinking of planing a wedding please give this place a good look
If you want a short time away it is well worth it

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Stuart,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the recommendation. Hopefully we might see you back again at another wedding.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
3.8 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
3.9 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
2.6 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
4.9 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
492 reviews
5.2 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: ₹ 4,162 - ₹ 8,410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing