We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (743)
Filter reviews
743 results
Traveller rating
619
80
29
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
619
80
29
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bridal suite from start to finish shot glasses colin carpenter wedding meal perfect wedding venue mr mrs on arrival gretna green jacuzzi bath small wedding special thanks champagne and chocolates guest rooms couldn't do enough renew our vows hair and makeup
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 743 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

We went for a friend's wedding and stayed for two nights.
The venue was wonderful and the rooms are loverly.
There is a good choice of breakfast menu.
The various prices suprised us as they were so reasonable
I would say if you are thinking of planing a wedding please give this place a good look
If you want a short time away it is well worth it

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stuart195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Hi Stuart,
Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for the recommendation. Hopefully we might see you back again at another wedding.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Beautiful, peaceful setting surrounded by trees, fields and sheep.

Disabled room fine but twin beds and a bit of a squeeze between them...so no use if both visitors are a bit infirm.

Wet room lovely, shower good. Shower seat a bit high for my wee mum. Couldn't put her feet on floor.

All-you-could-wish-for breakfast included in the fantastic price.

Wonderful place for a wedding. Rooms all scattered around in lovely lodges which can be block booked for the whole wedding party.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank junej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi June,
Many thanks for your kind review. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our disabled room is currently on our list for refurbishment but in the meantime I will pass your comments onto the Management Team.
Many Thanks
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed at The Mill Forge for a wedding over the course of 2 days. We found it rather charming, great location the bar area is very cosy, I was certainly very envious of the great selection of Whisky on offer...pity I couldnt sample all of them! We found the staff to be very warm and welcoming, as you would expect as the Scots are very hospitable and good humoured. In particular, Jack and Margaret were very pleasent and couldnt do enough for us.

Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. The wedding itself went really well and the after party was held in the function area. Food was also very good - a first time for me trying haggis but im definitely a fan!

Thank you for a great few days we would definitely visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Rob198318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Many thanks for your lovely comments. Our staff will be happy to hear that they made your day so special and enjoyable and that you enjoyed our haggis. Please come back and see us again, maybe you will manage to sample the rest of the whiskys that we have on offer !!
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights.(the night before and the night off our wedding) from start to finish it was perfect. The night before we had a lovy bar meal with a few drinks in a very comfortable relaxing lounge then retiered to our bridal suite. Champagne and chocolates awaited us in what was a super sized room not to mention the bathroom. Our guest rooms were perfect as well and our daughter loved the kids play area. The morning of our breakfast began with a hearty breakfast with superb choice..we had June and Rachel come and do our hair and make up once ready was nearly wedding time. The wedding planner along with photographer came to our room with pastor sandy Jameson who then escorted us to the romantic church where my husband to be and best man were awaiting. The staff happily played our choice of music and the pastor was more than happy to let us sing a hymn. The service was perfect. Beautiful words from God's Word followed by the anvil ceremony. Our photographer Colin carpenter was superb and made us feel so relaxed. Afterwards it was dinner and what can we say! Beautiful! Plenty plenty of food to a very high standard..so much we couldn't eat it all. The staff were fantastic with service..nothing was to much. We finished the evening with one for the road in the lounge and retired to our bridal suite and rooms. Even the sun shone! Perfect wedding.. perfect day..outstanding venue. Will certainly visit again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Yvonne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi Yvonne,
Thank you so much for such a lovely detailed review. We are so pleased to hear that your wedding experience with us was so perfect. Many congratulations and all the very best for the future.
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Got married here 3 years ago and just been back for are 3rd wedding anniversary fantastic venue and staff are excellent didn't want to leave such a warm welcome would recommend this venue for wedding or even a night away with your loved one

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wendywinniegamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, Wedding Co-Ordinator at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Many congratulations on your 3rd Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for coming back to visit us and leaving such kind comments. Hopefully we will see you back again in the future to celebrate again.
Regards
Donna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews