We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wonderful wedding”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

So, we decided on the mill forge for our wedding in the 2nd July. We couldn't have asked for a better venue. It is so beautiful. Everything went to plan and the staff were so helpful. The rooms were lovely and the bridal suite was the envy of every guest. The food was amazing and the room was set up perfectly. We haven't had one complaint. Every one of our guests had an amazing time and couldn't praise the mill highly enough. Thank you so much!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank sellybob57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Sellybob57

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I'm delighted that you and your guests enjoyed your time with us and it's wonderful to read that you "haven't had one complaint".

Wishing you many happy years together.

Graham Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 185 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

What an amazing place to have a wedding x thankyou so much to Margaret and all the staff for a truly magical experience we adored all the little surprise add ons , the attention to detail , rooms everything . We felt so special from the moment we arrived until we left this is the same for our guests too we will definately recommend you to everyone what a beautiful place thankyou all our love sue and Danny Webb

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Chelsea W

Many thanks for leaving such a flattering review. "Absolutely perfect" are exactly the kind of words we love to see in reviews as it means our guests have loved their time in our care.

Wishing you all the best for the future

Graham Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

This is a very popular wonderful location for a wedding the little chapel very quaint had a wonderful day . My only down point of the day is where it is all open planned when it came to speeches this was over ridden by the noise coming from other room and could not hear them (maybe a small amp and microphone might be an investment for when speeches are being made .
The servers were absolutely brilliant very quick and very efficient, the bar staff amazing too very friendly
Accommodation small but enough room for two and very clean
Another down side was breakfast was although a nice selection to eat the cooked side of it not very nice the toast was cold and the only thing Scottish about it was the slice of haggis that was on plate the beans were mushy the tomato was forgotten and not exactly hot, there was a couple of disabled people in our group although a ramp For wheel chair no way of getting person up the stairs so no breakfast another two people found it a great strain to go up stairs
On the whole it was a very pleasant stay and would recommend for anyone's wedding

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2016

Dear Sue M

Thank you for your kind review.

I'm delighted that you had a wonderful day and will take on board your points about breakfast. We do already offer breakfast downstairs for guests who cannot manage stairs so I'm not sure why your friends were not offered this option.

Regards

Graham Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We couldn't have wished for a better place to have got married. stunning bridal suite. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff......Jamie was fantastic she helped me into my dress. Such a gorgeous setting. So glad we chose mill forge. Will definitely return one day

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Faye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2016

Dear Faye F

Thank you very much for your kind review.

I'm delighted you thought your weekend was "absolutely outstanding" and that you found our staff to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Graham Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Got married here on 23/06/2016 and it was beautiful 10 of us in total. The rooms were clean the bar was lovely for a few drinks. Full Scottish breakfast was lovely. Staff were friendly and polite with plenty of them about. For what we paid for the wedding it was alot more than what we expected. Thinking of coming back next year as a 1st anniversary get away.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheMillForge, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2016

Dear Liam S

Thank you for leaving such a great review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your wedding with us and were surprised at just how much we include in our wedding packages. It's always good to "over-deliver".

We look forward to welcoming you back for your anniversary.

Graham Smith - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
3.9 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
3.8 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
3.8 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
444 reviews
4.9 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
494 reviews
5.2 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: ₹ 4,229 - ₹ 8,459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing