We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding Day”
Review of The Mill Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mill Forge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We got married at The Mill in December last year and we had a fantastic time. The staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The day ran so smoothly and it was fantastic having such a large bridal suite as everyone congregated in my room which was very special and I will always remember that.
I had Bill Black as my photographer and he was fantastic and I got my flowers from Gardenwise in Annan which again were perfect.
I would highly recommend The Mill - I was the only one getting married that day and had a fairly small wedding but it felt really intimate and they couldn't do enough for us. All my guests loved their rooms and the atmosphere at The Mill and we are so pleased we chose to get married there.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 77kitty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such lovely comments about your time in our care.

I am delighted to hear that the staff were so helpful and friendly and that you and your guests enjoyed our accommodation and the atmosphere here at The Mill Forge.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

548 - 552 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband Stef and I were married here o 17 December 2011. We planned the whole thing from over 100 miles away by e mail and telephone and travelled up the night before without ever having seen the actual venue. All I can say is this place is amazing- and its staff are incredible. There are no words to describe the experience of getting married here- the closest I can get is "magicall" the food is fantastic, the staff cant do enough to make you feel welcome,, the rooms are beautiful (and contrary to the opinnion of one grumpy reviewer we found them very comfortable.Just faultless- so brides to be ad guests take it from us- if you are booking or have booked your special day here it will be just that- special- so dot believe the odd criticism- and just relax and enjoy a truly memorable day in the safe and experienced hands of the Mill Forge xxx

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madcow1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

On December the 7th I married the man I want to spend the rest of my life with the day was at the mill forge we spent 2 nights there having an amazing meal with close friends and family in our small party we had 17 people, the meal the night before was lovely and so worth the money and it was a lovely atmosphere another bride was getting married that day. The bridal room was lovely room 31 so personal and intimate. The day of the wedding could not go any smoother, the staff were amazing and really treated you with so much interest and could not go out of the way too help you enough, the wedding ceremony was lovely small and intimate with John Carr who was so funny, I had June and Rachael to do my hair and make-up and they were fantastic they made me look and feel like a princess for my perfect day in the mill forge, carrie my photographer was amazing and my pictures are fantastic I received them yesterday and had a tear or two, the wedding meal was lovely big portions and so warm, the kids portions were great and the evening buffet was lovely and plentiful. We also got the wine and champagne package and there was enough for everyone infact my husband and I took a bottle of champagne home. My day was more special and perfect than I could ever think possible the people from the beginning and this included me ringing for advice or questions to the end were amazing, they didn't just have a job to do at all they cared and they were so accommodating, professional and the service they gave was far more than I expected at all, you are all wonderful people and a credit to the mill forge. I admit I read the reviews before I came and what utter tosh and nonsense people have written about noise, lumpy beds - it is a perfect dream place and my day was fit for a princess, who spent the day captivated in a bubble and that's how you all made me feel - I thank-you from the bottom of my heart and my husband had better book our 1 year anniversary there in room 31- seriously ladies and gentleman thank-you sincerely xxxxx

Room Tip: room 31 was stunning and all my guests loved here family rooms they were like lovely so roomy and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JUNE591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

I am delighted that you have taken the time to write such a flattering review of your experience at The Mill Forge.

To hear how much you enjoyed every aspect of your time in our care gives us great feedback on all aspects of our business. Everyone from the wedding planners, chambermaids, restaurant staff and the kitchen staff work very hard and it is extremely gratifying to us all to learn that you were pleased with all we have to offer.

The other services providers such as John Carr, Carrie and June are all people we highly recommend and again it is lovely to hear that you are happy with the service they have provided for you.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review.

Regards

Graham Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

May all your wishes come true! My daughter got married here on 7,12.11 and what a wonderful wedding it was!. This was only thanks to the brilliant staff at The Mill Forge, they knew exactly what was needed/required at each and every stage of her wedding. I cannot tell you what a beautiful day they ensured that my daughter had, and i am so grateful to them. The rooms were fabulous, the staff were brilliant, and what else could one ask for? I would always recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a nice, intimate wedding, and also for those who want to go and renew their vows/have a second honeymoon/whatever, stay here! This was wonderful, Thankyou for such a beautiful time-you are lovely people!!!

Once again, Thank you so much. The mother in law

Room Tip: Would recommend the lovely four poster room with a jacuzzi bath-worth the extra!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris181716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I cant Thank all the staff, and everyone involved enough in making our wedding on the 6th of December 2011 utterly perfect!! We arrived on the monday to a lovely warm welcome, the rooms and the bridal suite are stunning, and immaculately clean, our wedding day was perfect the mill take care of everything for you. I would highly recommend this Wedding venue!!! We had Colin Carpenter as our photographer and he was wonderful so helpful and patient with the screaming children hahah! I had my flowers and flowers of the bridal party done by Vandella flowers in Carlisle also perfect!!We had Craig Irving as our piper and it really set the atmosphere for the day. Hair and make up by Fiona and June the ladies were fantastic and I'm sure work miracles!! Thank you soooo soooo much to everyone again at The mill we truly had a magical day thanks to all of you! Mr and Mrs Isik.

Room Tip: Every room beautiful!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GretnaGreen6, General Manager at The Mill Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I will pass on your comments to all the people who you have mentioned.

We wish you every happiness for the future.

The Mill Forge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirkpatrick Fleming
3.9 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#2 of 5 in Gretna
931 reviews
3.8 km away
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
3.8 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
445 reviews
4.9 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#1 of 5 in Gretna
495 reviews
5.2 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mill Forge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mill Forge

Address: Kirkpatrick Fleming DG11 3BQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Kirkpatrick Fleming
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kirkpatrick Fleming
Price Range: ₹ 4,202 - ₹ 8,489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mill Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With thirty-three en suite bedrooms, a private wedding ceremony venue, three functions rooms, restaurant & bar and stunning gardens, The Mill Forge is an ideal location for Gretna Green weddings. Tourists and passing business travellers are also welcome. We have easy access from the A74(M) from both north and south. carriageways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Mill Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Forge Lockerbie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing