We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,693)
Filter reviews
3,693 results
Traveller rating
2,365
987
248
57
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,365
987
248
57
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstivoli victoriaemo restaurantgolf courseshuttle busexcellent hotelportugal mastersadult poolsister hotelstar hotelshuttle servicepool staffplay golfmain poolpool arearelaxing staykids clubeach evening
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 3,693 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

We recently stayed here for our company meeting. The bedrooms were fantastic and the staff could not have been more helpful.
Big thanks to Marcia who helped us with our meeting.
The food was fantastic and they hotel could not do enough for us.
I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting to hold a meeting in a beautiful location.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Lorraine011157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta M, Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Lorraine,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Life is a journey.
Marta Mota Pinto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Having stayed in many 5* hotels I have to say I felt dissapointed when it came to our stay here. I expected great service from the reviews I had read previously and with the reputation of the Anantara brand I was expecting a really luxurious stay... Check in was ok. 1st impressions of our room and the hotel were good, lots of storage space, a clever room layout and nice toiletries. However the 1st let down was that at check in we were told that we get complimentary water and fruit and that it would be on the table next to the window and not to be mistaken for the chargeable water... there was no water nor fruit. When we called to ask for water, mini bar a.k.a chargeable water was brought... we had to then ring again. Unfortunately we had to ring every day for water which is not the level of service we are used to and should have to receive. Second major flaw for me was the maid service, it was appalling. After spending a full day on the beach we got back to our room at 8pm, the bed was still a mess, towels not changed, basically nothing had been done. There was no 'do not disturb sign' on, however someone had been in to deliver fruit( but not water)?! Turn down service was unpredictable, one night it was at 7pm when we were showering, other nights it 9.45pm! Inconsistency sums up the maids service. When informing guest services about our dismay it was as if nothing had happened and that they would pass the message on. The way in which it was dealt with was poor and again not the sort of service you expect from a top 5* star hotel.

Location - not great in my opinion, however that is my fault for not researching properly. If you want a place where by you can go for a walk etc this is not for you. We like to be by the beach or at least close to something... This pace is totally isolated. There is a shuttle which is acceptable most of the time, however when requesting it at the Tivoli and being told it would be 5 mins for it to turn up 45 mins later was ridiculous and actually spoiled our evening as it was then too late to re-venture back out that evening. We would have just ordered a cab if we had be told about the wait.

The half board option ( buffet) was atrocious. Bland food, often nothing out and the queues for the chef were a joke. We waited 20 mins to get served a drink. Just really poor. I can only say it is probably acceptable if you have young kids and that you just want a quick and easy meal.

Service and food at the seafood restaurant however was very good.

Pool areas were nice with comfortable beds but if you don't like to sound of children bombing into the pools head over the adult pool, but be sure to reserve a bed as they often get taken up very quickly...

Puro Beach was sold to us as part of the hotel but what wasn't made clear is that although it is partnered with your hotel you cannot charge anything to you room as it was implied to us at check in, it is a good job we brought cash as I didn't fancy the hour round trip back to the hotel to get money. Service there was mediocre too. Personally I wouldn't return. Flashy but poor service. They ran out of bottled water ( in August, in a heatwave!!!!!!! )

Overall I think that there were elements of good service as you'd expect for a 5* but it is inconsistent and thus the hotel feels more like a 4 star. The maids are rude, poorly trained and lazy in my opinion and have cost your hotel us ever returning. Which is a shame considering how often we visit the Algarve.

I can understand why some people think this hotel is great, it is great if you have kids and don't want to leave the hotel - But for me its the small things and they matter.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta M, Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Mrs Lucy H,
We apologise as we failed to meet your expectations, all your valuable feedback as been conveyed to the management team.
We hope you will give an opportunity in the future to convey the true Anantara journey.
Feel free to contact us at any given time.
Life is a journey.
Marta Mota Pinto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel did not change very much the look from the Tivoli time. The major improvement is without a doubt the services and the quality of the staff. Now is a superior 5 ⭐️. The only bad thing is the temperature of the adults pool. It’s frozen. This is a hotel to visit again and again

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank tiago5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta M, Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Tiago,
Thank you for your very nice review; we will be sure to convey to all team members.
Looking forward to welcome back again and again.
Life is a journey.
Marta Mota Pinto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

What we liked
Room upgrade was fantastic and we loved the Victoria suite, very comfortable, great space
Luis (our butler) was absolutely brilliant
The pools were great – really great space
My son had a proper cot which was great – much better than the travel cot you are often given at hotels
Babysitting service worked well but very expensive as we had to pay minimum 3h charge but usually only used 2 hours

What we didn’t like
Food for children - very very slow service, not very nice and limited selection
Limited changing facilities - none in men’s toilets by pool and no nappy bins by pool except in ladies
Kids’ services fairly superficial - no real understanding of what’s required: no toys provided in the room etc (although Luis and the kids club lent us after we asked which was appreciated)
Kids’ club was billed as an area we could use but we were told we could only use if if my son was left with staff so it was effectively out of bounds as we did not want to leave him
Service generally slow for food/drinks and some staff seemed untrained which is not good enough for a hotel of this standard and price
Broken glass on the floor if our suite - 3 separate pieces found despite reporting the first two
Limited allergy free options at buffets - did get almond and oat milk when we asked (after long wait) - no soya yogurt on offer but provided on request
Sustainability could be hugely increased - remove single use plastics eg straws, cups in gym and bottled water around pool. Offer reusable cups and filtered water, paper straws, cotton buds with paper stems, packaging for toiletries etc, solar power
Prices in restaurants very high - we were charged €90 for a piece of Dover sole and 2 tiger prawns
The beach is not suitable for very young children – the day we visited the waves were huge and very rough/dangerous, the Purobeach club is very much an adult area with very loud music, people drinking and smoking. We were told the beach is “maybe a 5 minute tuk tuk ride away from the hotel” but in reality it is much further - maybe 20 mins

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Jenny Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta M, Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Mrs Jenny Y,
Thank you for your most valuable feedback; we took all your notes and convey it to the management team.
We are working in all due steps to be plastic free in the near future, we have solar panels in use currently , always had since the Hotel was built; we are targeting a growing sustainable hotel and service, we have an herb garden on site and use local , seasonal produces.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon to showcase some more of our Anantara Journey.
Kind regards,
Marta Mota pInto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Wonderful time spent with the family at this resort. The level of service was exceptional. There was always a sun bed available by the pool any time of day. The food selection was excellent. Too bad we had to leave and come home!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank jenn201846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta M, Manager at Anantara Vilamoura Algarve Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Mrs Jenn,
We were delighted to have your family staying with us, glad you had such a nice experience.
Waiting anxiously for your next visit.
Life is a journey.
Marta Mota Pinto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews