We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Dining Experience”
Review of Barraca

Barraca
Ranked #8 of 125 Restaurants in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 33 - US$ 37
Description: An unforgettable dining experience Rodizio is the unique method of serving. Our Passadores are constantly walking around with various kinds of grilled meat on large skewers. You choose whether they'll stop and carve a great cut right at your table. Our extensive buffet holds all types of tasteful starters and side-dishes. A place where it's all about enjoying good food with friends, family, colleagues or just with your loved one. The restaurant in the authenthic barn of the Mentzhoeve from 1864, has been transformed into "urban rustic" style, thanks to interior architect Ronald Hooft. Rough and warm.
Restaurant details
Description: An unforgettable dining experience Rodizio is the unique method of serving. Our Passadores are constantly walking around with various kinds of grilled meat on large skewers. You choose whether they'll stop and carve a great cut right at your table. Our extensive buffet holds all types of tasteful starters and side-dishes. A place where it's all about enjoying good food with friends, family, colleagues or just with your loved one. The restaurant in the authenthic barn of the Mentzhoeve from 1864, has been transformed into "urban rustic" style, thanks to interior architect Ronald Hooft. Rough and warm.
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

My son and his wife treated me and my wife out to dinner the last night of our visit with them near Amsterdam, the Netherlands. The restaurant - Barraca Rodizio Grill and Bar - in Hoofddorp is an upscale bar and grill. We had reservations for 6PM and were seated as soon as we arrived. The Maitre ‘D explained to my son and his wife in Dutch and to my wife and me in English how everything worked. Go to the Dutch-style salad bar as many times as you wanted. While eating a waiter would come by with meat on a sword skewer. If you wanted a piece, you would place a round disc that said YES on one side or NO on the other side to indicate whether you wanted that particular style of meat. There were several kinds of marinated beef, ribs, pork, leg of lamb and even marinated fresh pineapple available at different times during the meal! As we were told, if you went away hungry, it would be your own fault. This was truly a great and unique dining experience for all of us!

Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus H, General Manager at Barraca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Dear Don,

Thank you so much for this positive feedback! It's great to hear that you had such a great experience at our restaurant. We strive for delicious food and good service and it turns out that we reach these goals! I hope that we can welcome you again soon in our restaurant.

Kind regards,

Robert Aukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

the food is great and the staff is nice. Lots of buffet choices that you can repeat as much as you want.

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank cachirro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus H, General Manager at Barraca, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear cachirro,

Thank you so much for this positive feedback! It's great to hear that you had such a great experience at our restaurant. We strive for delicious food and good service and it turns out that we reach these goals!

I hope that we can welcome you again soon in Barraca.

Best regards,

Robert Aukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

I booked a dinner for two. The place was very nice, a bit noisy, but as a Rodizio place should be. The salad bar was the biggest surprise ! What a luxury ! Even if not particularly Brazilian there were two expensive Italian wheels of cheese (Gorgonzola and Parmigiano) and the quality of the food was excellent; both the cold and the warm. Friendly and efficient service, and what an immense load of food! Now, the but... this place could be outstanding if the meat that was coming generously to the table was (especially the beef cuts) a little bit less cooked and more crust salted on the outside as the Brazilian recipe states. It could also be that it is cooked and adjusted to the Dutch taste (more Medium than rare and less salted on the outside) but salt is bad for your health isn’t it . I will definitely come back and wish the tips I wrote above will be taken into consideration. Overall judgement: Prima, very good value for money ! Obrigado.

1  Thank Alessandro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus H, General Manager at Barraca, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Dear Alessandro,

Thank you so much for this positive feedback! It's great to hear that you had such a great experience at our restaurant. We strive for delicious food and good service and it turns out that we reach these goals! I will definitely pass your feedback regarding the meat on to our operational team. I hope that we can welcome you again soon in our restaurant.

Kind regards,

Robert Aukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

Nice service, good food with variety of meat. I've never been in such place, so i was very surprised that Brazilian cuisine may taste like that. First time, but definately not last!

Thank Aleksandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus H, General Manager at Barraca, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Dear Aleksandra,

Thank you so much for this positive feedback! It's great to hear that you had such a great experience at our restaurant. We strive for delicious food and good service and it turns out that we reach these goals!

We’re looking forward to welcoming you again to our restaurant.

Kind regards,

Robert Aukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2018

We have been to the restaurant a number of times and this time took a party of 10 collegues. The service was exceptional and the food quality very high. This was coupled with a great atmosphere which really made the evening special.

Highly recommended for couples or larger groups

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank tracydZ8303FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claus H, General Manager at Barraca, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dear guest,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It's great to hear that you've been several times in Barraca and that you and you colleagues enjoyed the dinner once more. We're glad that you appreciate our focus on service and quality. That's what we strive for!

We hope to see you and your colleagues again soon at Barraca!

Kind regards,

Robert Aukes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barraca also viewed

Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 

Been to Barraca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing