We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice But only if in Non-Road Facing Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice But only if in Non-Road Facing Room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Nice, older style hotel. Rooms are small but nicely outfitted and comfortable and, as long as you have a room on the back-side of the hotel, good air circulation with open balcony door (rooms facing the road have to choose between air or road noise). Also, rooms facing the road have to deal with light from the hotel across the road which is lit up like a Christmas tree all night which you could block out with the heavy drapes but then there is no hope for any air exchange. Breakfast is very good and there is a pleasant bar area. 4-star ranking may come from having a sauna in-house, but it is not enticing as it is in the same area as the bar.

Room Tip: Reserve non-road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alternatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    67
    17
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
67
5
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

Alexander hotel is a nice place to stay. Rooms a clean and spacious looking more like North American rooms than Europe, breakfast buffet was fully stocked even had eggs and bacon. Staff were polite and helpful. For us a nice break from visiting Holland. Only thing would be the free parking it is free but we got there on the tail end of a holiday weekend in Holland and had to wait for somebody to leave so I would have a spot. Town is great for walking on the beach and just taking it easy and at the right time very close to all the flower fields so great for car ride or bike.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank driver59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

My husband stayed at this hotel on a business trip and I accompanied him to do some shopping and relax a bit on the beach of Noordwijk. The location is simply perfect. The sea, but also the shops are at walking distance and you can park your car for free.

The hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The room was tidy en spacious and even had a balcony from which we could see the sea shore. I think that if you are staying here outside the holiday season, you probably experience more of a "business" atmosfere than during summer, but that is alright.

Breakfast was excellent. More than enough choice in drinks, types of bread and fruit. Also the hotel has good internet acces (one computer you can us for free and payed access in the whole building), which is very convenient for people who have to do some work work after Dutch office hours.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, free parking, internet access
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eveline44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2006

First impressions of this place from the photos on their website and the outside of the hotel were quite good, but this turned out to be a misleading impression of what was to follow. Presumably since I was travelling alone on business, I was allocated a single room. This turned out to be probably the smallest hotel room I've ever seen, very reminiscent of a study-bedroom in a student hall of residence.

All the furniture (including the bed!) appeared to be made of some sort of cheap plastic resin and was crammed in to a tiny space where there was virtually no room to move or put luggage. To be fair, it was clean and reasonably decorated, but its just outrageous that this hotel claims to be of 4 star standard - what a joke.

Having gone to sleep, I was woken repeatedly during the night by other guests (by the sound of it totally drunk), staggering up the narrow stairs immediately outside my bedroom door.

Trying to get a coffee at breakfast the next day was impossible; there seemed to be no staff on duty, and those that were just ignored me, in favour of a large group.

When I raised these issues with the reception and asked to be moved to a different room, I was abruptly inormed that they were completely full. I then chose to check out, which obviously annoyed the receptionist who snapped that "..you should have told us earlier, now you will have to wait while I process your bill..." She also threatened to charge for the second night also, but climbed down when I refused to pay.

Finally a warning about car parking - the hotel's website boasts free parking, but they only have a very limited number of spaces on a first come first served basis. On-street parking in the area is rather limited, so a long walk may be necesary if you arrive late.

  • Liked — The lobby was attractively decorated
  • Disliked — Incredibly small single room and Attitude from front desk staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Try somewhere else
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Noordwijk hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
0.2 km away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#2 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.8 km away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#1 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
0.5 km away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 km away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#7 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Hotel

Property: Alexander Hotel
Address: Oude Zeeweg 63, 2202 CJ Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Noordwijk
#8 Luxury Hotel in Noordwijk
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,149 - ₹ 12,864
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexander Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Alexander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Noordwijk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing