We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but dated rooms” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendid Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Splendid Palace
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food but dated rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This hotel has a fantastic location with fabulous views of the lake and of Limone. It could be that we were unlucky with our room, (905) which was cold and noisy. With no heating and only a thin blanket each, we had to sleep with socks on. I did ask for and was given another blanket but a duvet would have been much better. That said, we really enjoyed our stay and found the staff very friendly and jolly. The food was excellent and the drinks in the bar very well priced. We would go back but I would request a nicer room.

Room Tip: Avoid the 9th (bottom) floor. It is noisy and cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FrauH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    155
    58
    11
    5
See reviews for
96
359
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

stayed there in August for a week, big very nice hotel, facilities, views & location 4 * , rooms clean , 5 mins walk to the centre of Limone

food......OMG....plenty of choice, whatever you want, you can have enough.....


pool big enough....sunbeds...first come first served....

overall very very very nice hotel... for relaxed holidays

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kasia_o78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed for just a week in June, Unfortunately the weather was very mixed and there was quite a lot of rain, However we made the most of our holiday and had a trip to a local vinyard which was most interesting and amusing with some wine tasting and a trip to Verona which was very worthwhile. Malcesine is also very close by ferry. We also hired bikes in Riva for a day, which made me feel a lot better about indulging in the Hotel Splendid Palace evening buffets. I'm not always a fan of buffets but there is so much choice here - it was great. Every evening I had lots of 'small' plates - sort of Italian tapas. They also have help yourself wine (red, white and rose) on tap, as well as beer and soft drinks - not the best wine in the world but absolutely fine. The waiters in the restaurant are obviously 'old school' professionals and very helpful. We eventually managed to get a table on the small balcony which was lovely. Lots of choice at breakfast time too, but juice a bit disappointing. The evening entertainment was a bit bizarre ( Brazilian dancers? Which incidentally my husband thought were charming!) but stangely enjoyable - after a few glasses of help yourself wine! The room was very outdated, even for this part of Italy and fairly basic although it was kept very clean. The shower cubicle was rather small and towels showing signs of wear and tear. However the view of the lake was fabulous. The position of the hotel is perfect, very close to the boat station for anywhere on the lake. Limone is a beautiful resort, I imagine the most picturesque on the northern lake with lots of lovely walks arouns about. We had some very nice lunches at Le Palme just on the water front and in the evening often had a night cap there whilst listening to their gutarist - very pleasant.

Room Tip: Avoid pool level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank katkearsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed hear last year and wow limone is an amazing place not just to stay but to see we had a lovely room looking over the lake i will say the room was dated but its a europian country and this seems to mostly be the norm! it was clean tidy and a good size food was great never had one problem lovely bar and the bar man/woman was awsome ! lovely in door pool and terace out side an amazing holliday we are going back again this year!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank essexstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We went as a late twenties couple. Brilliant hotel, with views from a high vantage point accross the Lake. Facilities fantastic with indoor and outdoor pools, hot tub in a secluded lemon garden and great food/drink. The staff were awesome, so much fun and friendly, perhaps used to a German style visitor a little banter and gratitude went a long way with them! They were the best staff I have ever encountered. Limone was beautiful and more scenic than other parts of the lake but is the last drop off and first pickup for excursions so watch out what you sign up for, going to Venice would add an extra couple if hours of travelling EACH way compared to those at other hotels! Would recommend a wine tour and hiring a speed boat in Limone which was great fun and unrestricted in terms of where you went. Malcense across the lake was good to visit for a day as Limone is quite small.

Best hotel all round that we saw, free drinks at dinner were an unexpected bonus!

Make sure you get a room not on floor with the pool though as your balcony will be inches from everyone out there! Also we had arrived a few days before the kids holidays, after which it became a much busier place so would go earlier next time!

Brilliant hotel and experience.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank AJ-Bham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
1.1 km away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#9 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Villa Dirce
Hotel Villa Dirce
#7 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#10 of 43 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid Palace? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid Palace

Property: Hotel Splendid Palace
Address: Via IV Novembre, 66, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#2 Family Hotel in Limone sul Garda
#3 Romantic Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,163 - ₹ 14,967
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Splendid Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Splendid Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendid Palace Hotel
Hotel Splendid Limone
Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Splendid Palace Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing