We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
99
34
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
34
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews own wine beautiful castle olive oil gabriella vineyards property wifi tuscany luggage woods comfort
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Is it a castle? Yes it is! And it is beautiful. The hotel/winery is tucked away in gorgeous countryside and is well worth the stop. The room was large enough with a comfortable bed and very clean bathroom. The manager Gabriela is very very helpful, a little quirky but also great fun, make sure you ask about the wine it is very good and Gabriela will find the right one to suit you. The breakfast is simple but provides a quick start to your day. The hotel is only a short distance from the lovely medieval town of Monteriggioni, there are some great restaurants here. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarePhilBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro D, Direttore at Castel Pietraio, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

It is true, it is a medieval castle, but instead of knights and ladies now there are tourists who can stay just as they did the pilgrims of old, but it is a constant commitment to find comfort in their many most. I'm glad it was satisfied even by a tasting of the wines we produce in our cellars exclusively from grapes of the vineyards around the castle. I hope that the proximity to the major art cities of toscan not enable it to visit them. Thanks again for recommending Castel Pietraio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A wonderful old castle which has been completely and tastefully updated. A delightful hostess and nice breakfast. A convenient country location very near to Monteriggioni. The rooms are spacious and the baths are large by Italian standards. Well worth a stay

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Yago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauro D, Direttore at Castel Pietraio, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

It 'always a great pleasure for me to read the words of a satisfied customer, I thank you and I remind you that I and my staff are always at your disposal when you want to return to Tuscany.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our stay at Castel Pietraio was amazing. The hotel is fantastic! Gabriela is very kind and funny. The room was gorgeous and very big, the location is perfect to visit the area. Gabi also suggested us to go do Casalta for dinner and we had an amazing night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabiStau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauro3546, Direttore at Castel Pietraio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

I thank you on behalf of myself and all the Castel Pietraio Staff for your kind review.
It was a pleasure for us to accomodate you during your stay in the Chianti region; such as you have been able to see we are in a strategic area, located between Florence and Siena, just a few kilometers from the beautiful San Gimignano, and may others important middle ages cities of Tuscany.
Casalta is one of the best restaurants in the area and have a dinner there is a must.
Hooping to see you again, best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Castel Pietraio for 4 nights on our honeymoon in August. It isn't the easiest to find - but our GPS got us close enough that we eventually found it. It would be VERY difficult to find for the first time in the dark as it's VERY dark out in the countryside. We were greeted by Gabriella - who is very nice and genuinely interested in getting to know her guests. We booked a junior suite which was located in the same building as the reception rather than the castle - that was really the only downfall. Our room was very large - with a sitting area, king bed and fairly large bathroom. We were greeted with a bottle of their own wine - which is delicious by the way - we ordered a case and had it shipped home!

The breakfast is pretty basic, but it's included in the stay so we didn't complain - lots of cheeses, meats, pastries and cereals. The grounds are beautiful and the pool looks enticing, but we didn't have time to use it.

Two nights in a row we walked about 1/4 mile to the village of Strove for dinner at Casalta and it was amazing both nights! I highly recommend eating here at least once during your stay. The castle is close to several Tuscan towns - one day we took the train into Florence, the next we went to Chianti and San Giagmano, the next day we drove into Monteriggioni to see the town and then also visited Siena. I would recommend staying here as your "home base."

Honestly, we didn't have 1 negative thing to say about the castle. I hope you choose this for your stay in Tuscany - you will not regret it!

Room Tip: We chose the junior suite and it was a nice size with plenty of room for two of us and luggage.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenh756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Castel Pietraio, a real renaissance-era castle converted to an agriturismo on nearly 400 acres of productive farmland smack in the middle of Tuscany, is a great home base for exploring the region. Located within a few kilometers of Monteriggioni, 400 meters to the direct east of the village of Strove, the castle is quite easy to find if you’ve properly prepared by obtaining directions directly from the property or doing basic research using any mapping program. For those traveling with GPS (as most of us do now) the exact coordinates were given to me on my booking confirmation.

We were warmly greeted by our exuberant hostess Gabriella, who chatted merrily with us as we checked in. We were guided past the suit of armor and shown to our superior double room which, although very nice, was not located in the main castle but rather the same smaller building where reception is located. The highlights of the large room were a vaulted open-beam ceiling and a large sitting area, all over red tile flooring. Suffice to say we had lots of room. The king-sized bed & pillows were comfortable, and once the shutters on the skylight and window were closed we had a dark, quiet, peaceful sleep. The four-piece bath was large and modern, and featured a full tub with shower.

The grounds of the castle are large and well-manicured and the pool area, looking out over acres and acres of vineyards, was huge. We walked down into the vineyards to sample some of the grapes, which were ripe and delicious. Speaking of delicious, I encourage wine lovers to sample a bottle (or two) of the castle’s own wine.

Unfortunately the property does not feature a traditional restaurant, but there are restaurants relatively close either in the village of Strove (walking distance) or Monteriggioni. A nice continental breakfast was served in the main castle and featured much of what we had come to expect in Italy – lots of baking, local meats and cheeses, fruit, juice, cereals, and your choice of hot beverage.

To summarize, Castel Pietraio features unique, modern accommodations in a location perfectly suited to exploring the heart of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Families or larger parties can rent apartment accommodations in the main castle.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews