We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gracious hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Ranked #5 of 19 Monteriggioni B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Holliston, MA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Gracious hospitality!”
Reviewed 6 November 2011

This was a wonderful introduction to Tuscan hospitality. Claudia & Carlo met our every need (one of us needed gluten-free foods, and Claudia did personalized food shopping). The rooms were clean, the views great. We toured the little church attached to the home, and we felt part of the family there! A good location to use as a base to visit many of the hill towns. Full breakfast was good. It's helpful to have a GPS with Italy chip to find the B&B and other local sites.

Room Tip: Ask about size of showers if you need a larger space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailordog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
98
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on a friends recommendation as part of our honeymoon and we only wished it could have been for longer! The rooms are immaculate and clean, and the house really feels like a home away from home. The views are breathtaking and the whole place is decorated so beautifully. The staff, Claudia and Carlo put on a fantastic spread of breakfast complete with devine chocolate milk. Our flights were potentially going to be cancelled, and we had no wi-fi, and Claudia helped us sort it all out, and recommended some yummy restaurants too. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Not a room recommendation but...The road up to the place is a dirt road so be wary if you are drivin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GemmaandLachlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada Hills, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Claudia and Carlo are the most generous and welcoming innkeepers. The wrap you in their warmth, always ready with a restaurant suggestion or driving directions. Breakfast was the best way to start the day with delicious food and a view unsurpassed in beauty and serenity. Claudia shared her home with us, showing us the church that dates from the Middle Ages to the gothic charm of the wine cellar, which reminded me of the setting in Poe's , "The Cask of Amontillado" to the fantastic kitchen right out of Tuscany books. Family pictures, and treasures gave the place a feeling of being in a relatives' home for the holidays. And the conversations were like talking to friends. We loved seeing her son's book and photographs. Our only regret was that we didn't spend a few days just soaking in the scenery and blessed sunshine. But, we will be back! Thanks Claudia and Carlo for a memorable trip.
Peggy and Arnie Johnson, Granada Hills, California

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent. UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Situated about a fifteen minute drive from Monteriggioni and Siena is the delightful La Canonica di Fungaia. We had a four day break here driving down from Verona in under 3 hours. Easily found with a satnav! A car is essential to see all the amazing hillside villages via some very scenic routes with hardly any traffic.
Claudia and Carlo met us on arrival and provided all the information needed to enjoy our stay. You will not find more generous and hospitable hosts. The historic building provides an amazing atmosphere and very comfortable accommodation. Breakfast is fantastic.
The location in the hills with incredible views of Siena and the surrounding countryside, the swimming pool and gardens complete the experience.
Also highly recommend is a day we had out with Donatella (Wine Tour in Tuscany). We visited three very small wine producers in amazing locations in the Chianti region. The trip included wine tasting, the wine making process, balsamic vinegar tasting and production. Some very special cheeses, local honey and olive oil were also provided. One of the wine producers was also a truffle hunter aided by two truffle dogs! A subject I was particularly fascinated by!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauls1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

What a wonderful B&B! Claudia and Carlo make you feel right at home with their caring and generosity. You can see the loving touches everywhere. A great place to sit and relax, enjoy the view and the pool after a long day of touring. Breakfast was the Best in Italy! Home made scrambled eggs with cheese, homemade sweet breads, lots of coffee and tea and many other selections. The room was neat and clean and well maintained. We enjoyed every minute we were there!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and faced the hills. Wonderful breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lball1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteriggioni hotels
1.8 km away
Relais la Costa
Relais la Costa
#2 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
7.7 km away
Borgo San Luigi
Borgo San Luigi
#1 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
6.4 km away
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
Il Piccolo Castello Hotel
#4 of 12 in Monteriggioni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
Agriturismo Tre Madonne
#3 of 12 in Monteriggioni
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
6.9 km away
Agriturismo Fattoria Il Colombaio
4.2 km away
Agriturismo Novelleto
Agriturismo Novelleto
#3 of 27 in Monteriggioni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Canonica di San Michele? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Canonica di San Michele

Property: B&B La Canonica di San Michele
Address: Strada di Fungaia, 11 | Località Fungaia, 53035, Monteriggioni, Italy (Formerly La Canonica di Fungaia)
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Monteriggioni
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Monteriggioni
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,145 - ₹ 13,446
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your B&B La Canonica di San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing