We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no heat, no parking”
Review of Hotel Alcantara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alcantara
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Reviewed 10 April 2015

We prepaid for two nights at the hotel, and missed the first night due to the air traffic controller strike in France. When we arrived for our 2nd night, the desk clerk tried for a long time to convince us that we had canceled our reservation since we didn't show up for our first night. There was no hotel policy about this, but she was absolutely sure that we couldn't stay at Alcantara that night. She finally called someone who told her to give us our room. It would have been nice if she had acknowledged that we had missed a day of our vacation because of the strike, and known to give us our room. WE asked where to park, and she said very clearly that parking on the street was free if we could find a spot. We had found a spot right out front, and left our car there. When we came back from sight seeing, we had a ticket. The woman then seemed to know nothing about parking and would not translate what the ticket said. Apparently the hotel has access to a limited amount of parking spots a few blocks away. When we realized that our car had to be moved, there were none available. We wore our down coats and rain jackets sightseeing - it was chilly and rainy. The heater in the room didn't work, and nothing could be done about it...it was cold. Loud noises that sounded like a fog horn kept us up all night long...still have no idea where they came from. So wish we hadn't stayed at Alcantara.

Room Tip: find out where the continuous noise comes from. In 307, we were awaken all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Felicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We traveled as an educational group---6 adults and 10 college students. The rooms were fine, and the people at the front desk helpful and courteous, but the group dinner we had was dreadful. it was really dreadful. Maybe it was because their banquet food gets less attention than their menu food, but still, it was the worst restaurant food we have had since bringing our study abroad group to Spain in January.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed here for three nights with my mother and it was lovely, very clean and comfortable, free wifi, great breakfast selection, friendly staff and a great location in Caceres. I cannot fault this hotel as the value for money was fantastic.

Me quedé aqui para tres noches con mi madre y era precioso, muy limpio y cómodo, wifi gratis, buena seleccion para desayuno, personal amable, y excelente ubicación en Caceres. No me puedo quejar nada de este hotel, porque el valor para el dinero fue fantastico.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC9261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. I booked a single room and on check-in was given a large modern double room with a very clean modern bathroom and a balcony. I was also told on check-in that I could change rooms if I was not happy with the one given to me. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is great - 5 minutes from the shops and 10 minutes from the old city, and perfectly quiet at night. I could not fault the experience. Great value for money, and if in Caceres again, I will be re-booking here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fimcc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

OK, free WiFi, friendly manager, coveniently placedOK, free WiFi, friendly manager, coveniently placed.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treuiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Caceres hotels
1.6 km away
Barcelo Caceres V Centenario
0.6 km away
AH Agora Caceres
AH Agora Caceres
#12 of 38 in Caceres
276 reviews
0.5 km away
Extremadura Hotel
Extremadura Hotel
#10 of 38 in Caceres
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
Hotel Casa Don Fernando
#4 of 38 in Caceres
625 reviews
0.9 km away
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
Gran Hotel Don Manuel
#8 of 38 in Caceres
1,032 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Albarragena
Hotel Albarragena
#11 of 38 in Caceres
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcantara? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcantara

Address: Avenida Virgen de Guadalupe 14, 10001 Caceres, Spain (Formerly Husa Alcantara)
Region: Spain > Extremadura > Province of Caceres > Caceres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Caceres
Price Range: ₹ 3,452 - ₹ 6,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alcantara 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Alcantara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Alcantara cáceres
Husa Alcantara Hotel cáceres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing