We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot”
Review of Chhatra Sagar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pali
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chhatra Sagar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We had a long days drive to get here - 8 hours in the car with minimal stops - and were pretty ratty by the time we arrived, especially as our driver did not know the way so we milled around in Nimaj village for a bit. However, we were met in the car park immediately and walked up the steps to the sitting dining area and wow, what a great first impression. Beautiful far reaching view over the (rather depleted as bad monsoon this year) reservoir with water birds, and antelope grazing beyond. We were handed a cold drink and a cold towel - maybe things weren't too bad after all! Our tent was lovely, prettily decorated and with a sitting out area, which we took full use of and were brought tea and yummy little biscuits. Very good service. We had arrived too late to do anything that evening, and anyway just wanted to relax after a long, taxing day, but next day we spent a very pleasant morning being shown round a nearby farm and village. The village silversmith did good business with his lovely bangles. We then enjoyed a tasty lunch quietly looking at the open landscape, before continuing our way to Jodhpur. A charming place to stay, would have liked another night, and completely different to anywhere else we stayed in Rajastan.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyrtleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 169 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2009

This is a really nice stop-off between Jaipur and Jodhpur. It breaks up the long drive nicely, and it's wonderfully peaceful. The views are great and the place itself is very relaxing, yet offers enough activities to never be dull. The birdwalk is very interesting and the tour of the nearby village is fascinating and informative The food is simply delightful and just keeps coming. The atmosphere is friendly and relaxed, with a lovely campfire set up in the evening, around which you can chat to other guests if you feel like it.

The tents are absolutely huge and it's lovely to be able to sit just outside on the lounge chairs, on the edge of the dam. This is definitely a worthwhile stop-off and one I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whirlwind79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2009

This is a beautiful tented camp run by brothers and cousins. The tents are stunning on the edge of the dam. The food is cooked by your hosts' wives who are happy to give you a cooking lesson every evening. The tour of little local village is magical. You learn so much about real life in rural india. It brought our whole trip to life and stayed with us for the rest of our time in India - suddenly everything was more relevant. You just have to come and stay here if you possibly can.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chutneywallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Chhatra Sagar is truly a magical place . Luxury tents on a dam overlooking a lake teeming with birds during the winter , so peaceful and tranquil that it would make you wonder why one would like to live in a city .The family that owns and runs the place can give courses on hospitality to the most experienced hotelier - about them, I could go on and on .
If you are planning Rajasthan , you simply have to include Chhatra Sagar .

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hedgefund007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

This hotel by a large dam is amazing - it is made up of 11 luxury tents with 2 on top of a hill with fantastic views. The dam although a little low on water is a haven for animals and bird life and is just so peaceful.

The produce is all grown locally and the food is delicious. The service is incredible - hot water bottles, the softest down pillows, silver service tea and toast delivered to your tent before breakfast, gin and tonics waiting at the top of the hill for your sunset walk.

The excursion to the local village, the bird watching and farm tour all provided fantastic photo opportunities.

It really is difficult to find fault. It was the perfect midpoint break in our Rajasthan holiday. .

Can't recommend this hotel highly enough - as with most other people we met there we wish we had booked 3 nights instead of 2.

Check out their website - you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gaynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pali hotels
109.7 km away
Chanoud Garh
Chanoud Garh
#1 of 6 in Pali
208 reviews
80.0 km away
Hotel Mint Inn
Hotel Mint Inn
#6 of 6 in Pali
6 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Vrindavan
Hotel Vrindavan
#3 of 6 in Pali
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Lakshman Sagar
Lakshman Sagar
#1 of 16 in Pali
129 reviews
140.0 km away
JAWAI
JAWAI
#1 of 37 in Pali
94 reviews
0.0 km away
The Country Retreat Farmstay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhatra Sagar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhatra Sagar

Address: District . Pali-Marwar, Pali 306303, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Pali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Price Range: ₹ 31,843 - ₹ 39,706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chhatra Sagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tents have always been an important part of Rajput lifestyle. Constant campaigns in far flung lands meant long stays in tents under inhospitable conditions. Tents were the only luxury available and soon these “homes away from home” evolved into mobile, mini-palaces.Chhatra Sagar captures the essence of this romance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Pali
Chhatra Sagar Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Pali, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing