We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
197
8
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury tentswild boarlocal villagenature walktented campbird walkdam wallbird watchingtwo nightsvillage tourhot water bottlesbird lifeoverlooking the lakeincluded in the pricedifferent speciesrecharge your batteriesevening walk
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

After a whirlwind five days through Delhi, Agra and Jaipur, we stopped at Chhatra Sagar en route to Udaipur. What a great decision.

Perched upon a dam overlooking wetlands in the Rajasthani countryside, there are 11 guest tents, a lounge area and a dining area -- all outfitted with thoughtful, luxury comforts. Upon seeing the fully functional en-suite bathroom, I had to remind myself I was in a tent.

The camp is all-inclusive -- generous portions of delicious food; wine, beer and liquor; gratuities as well.

There is a bird walk every afternoon for about an hour and a half, ending with sundowners. I don't know much about birds, but enjoyed the walk, the spottings and the drinks.

We only had one night to spend and left with a greater appreciation of India's beauty and another reminder of its terrific hospitality.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank teschbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Only one night can be spent here to experience this incredible tented camp. Private tents are immaculate and filled with luxuries such as writing desks, printed robes , gorgeous patterned quilts and hot water bottles in the beds. Feeling part of the sociable group of other visitors is fun as tales of travels are exchanged.
The food is exquisite from arrival lunch on circular mahogany antique tables in the dining tent overlooking the lake to pre- dinner cocktails around the firepit before a sumptuous 3 course dinner. The highlight is the lake , thankfully full after an heavy monsoon and full of amazing migrating and native birds. The bird safari early evening is very special . With our expert guide and equipped with binoculars we did a huge walk stopping as we went to spot rare birds, pelicans on the water and coloured feathered creatures never seen before.
This camp is small, intimate and like a fairytale to stay in - unmissable .

Stayed: February 2017
Thank BELINDAG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We consider ourselves lucky that our travel agent booked us here halfway through our trip. Chhatra Sagar is an oasis of calm to recharge from the hectic pace of India.

The tents are well appointed and the grounds are lovely. But what makes this place so special is the owners and the service. They are there to pamper you with food and drink around the clock, all included in the price of the room. The family who operates this resort have owned the property for years, and are incredibly personable.

Did I mention the hot water bottles that are tucked into your bed at night? Heaven.

Make sure you avail yourself of the tour of the local farm and village. The resort does a lot to support the local community, and it was informative to see how they live and work today. The local people are extremely friendly. Theydo a great nature walk, too.

This is definitely one place I would come back to if I can.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank copperrosemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Heavenly ! Spacious and stunningly designed tent beautifully furnished with a chunky and luxurious stone slab bathroom. Everything was seamless and could not be improved. The food each meal was delicious and original with romantic candle lamps throughout the camp and welcoming campfires. Hot water bottles and tent heaters were turned on whilst you are dining, and quilts added so the short transition from dinner to bed was so comfortable.Total relaxation and recharge in blissful peace after Jaipur's busy couple of days. Family hosts were charming,attentive and personal without being intrusive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieInDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed here for one night and wished we had longer. The camp is immaculate and the tents supremely comfortable. The bed and shower were excellent as was all facilities around the camp. Sitting, looking out of the water was serene, fascinating and relaxing.
The food was different to all the other places we stayed, being lighter and much more authentic. The dining arrangements were great and food was too plentiful! It was a great touch to light the fires and sit and chat around them. The owners of this enterprise are charm personified. The highlight for me was the nature walk, as we saw numerous birds and some wild boar. I loved being expertly guided around and shown all kinds of wildlife. If you have the chance to come here do so, even though it is off the beaten track it was a highlight of our tour.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark and Wils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews