We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury comforts in a beautiful setting”
Review of Chhatra Sagar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chhatra Sagar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury comforts in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

After a whirlwind five days through Delhi, Agra and Jaipur, we stopped at Chhatra Sagar en route to Udaipur. What a great decision.

Perched upon a dam overlooking wetlands in the Rajasthani countryside, there are 11 guest tents, a lounge area and a dining area -- all outfitted with thoughtful, luxury comforts. Upon seeing the fully functional en-suite bathroom, I had to remind myself I was in a tent.

The camp is all-inclusive -- generous portions of delicious food; wine, beer and liquor; gratuities as well.

There is a bird walk every afternoon for about an hour and a half, ending with sundowners. I don't know much about birds, but enjoyed the walk, the spottings and the drinks.

We only had one night to spend and left with a greater appreciation of India's beauty and another reminder of its terrific hospitality.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank teschbacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    7
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
27
110
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk,England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Only one night can be spent here to experience this incredible tented camp. Private tents are immaculate and filled with luxuries such as writing desks, printed robes , gorgeous patterned quilts and hot water bottles in the beds. Feeling part of the sociable group of other visitors is fun as tales of travels are exchanged.
The food is exquisite from arrival lunch on circular mahogany antique tables in the dining tent overlooking the lake to pre- dinner cocktails around the firepit before a sumptuous 3 course dinner. The highlight is the lake , thankfully full after an heavy monsoon and full of amazing migrating and native birds. The bird safari early evening is very special . With our expert guide and equipped with binoculars we did a huge walk stopping as we went to spot rare birds, pelicans on the water and coloured feathered creatures never seen before.
This camp is small, intimate and like a fairytale to stay in - unmissable .

Stayed February 2017
Helpful?
Thank BELINDAG87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westcliffe, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We consider ourselves lucky that our travel agent booked us here halfway through our trip. Chhatra Sagar is an oasis of calm to recharge from the hectic pace of India.

The tents are well appointed and the grounds are lovely. But what makes this place so special is the owners and the service. They are there to pamper you with food and drink around the clock, all included in the price of the room. The family who operates this resort have owned the property for years, and are incredibly personable.

Did I mention the hot water bottles that are tucked into your bed at night? Heaven.

Make sure you avail yourself of the tour of the local farm and village. The resort does a lot to support the local community, and it was informative to see how they live and work today. The local people are extremely friendly. Theydo a great nature walk, too.

This is definitely one place I would come back to if I can.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank copperrosemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Heavenly ! Spacious and stunningly designed tent beautifully furnished with a chunky and luxurious stone slab bathroom. Everything was seamless and could not be improved. The food each meal was delicious and original with romantic candle lamps throughout the camp and welcoming campfires. Hot water bottles and tent heaters were turned on whilst you are dining, and quilts added so the short transition from dinner to bed was so comfortable.Total relaxation and recharge in blissful peace after Jaipur's busy couple of days. Family hosts were charming,attentive and personal without being intrusive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieInDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We stayed here for one night and wished we had longer. The camp is immaculate and the tents supremely comfortable. The bed and shower were excellent as was all facilities around the camp. Sitting, looking out of the water was serene, fascinating and relaxing.
The food was different to all the other places we stayed, being lighter and much more authentic. The dining arrangements were great and food was too plentiful! It was a great touch to light the fires and sit and chat around them. The owners of this enterprise are charm personified. The highlight for me was the nature walk, as we saw numerous birds and some wild boar. I loved being expertly guided around and shown all kinds of wildlife. If you have the chance to come here do so, even though it is off the beaten track it was a highlight of our tour.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark and Wils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pali
109.8 km away
Chanoud Garh
Chanoud Garh
#1 of 6 in Pali
194 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Vrindavan
Hotel Vrindavan
#3 of 6 in Pali
2 reviews
28.2 km away
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
#1 of 1 in Beawar
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 km away
Lakshman Sagar
Lakshman Sagar
#1 of 16 in Pali
118 reviews
0.0 km away
Rawla Bagh - Nimaj
Rawla Bagh - Nimaj
#3 of 16 in Pali
11 reviews
149.1 km away
Varawal Leopard Camp
Varawal Leopard Camp
#2 of 36 in Pali
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhatra Sagar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhatra Sagar

Property: Chhatra Sagar
Address: District . Pali-Marwar, Pali 306303, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Pali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,269 - ₹ 6,682
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chhatra Sagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tents have always been an important part of Rajput lifestyle. Constant campaigns in far flung lands meant long stays in tents under inhospitable conditions. Tents were the only luxury available and soon these “homes away from home” evolved into mobile, mini-palaces.Chhatra Sagar captures the essence of this romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, MakeMyTrip, Yatra and TravelGuru so you can book your Chhatra Sagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Pali
Chhatra Sagar Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Pali, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing