We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place in a rural area”
Review of Chhatra Sagar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chhatra Sagar
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

This peacefully and quite tentedcamp is situated on a lakeside dam. Beatiful!
The owners are extremely good in birdwatching and take very good care of their guests.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miephansnetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2012

We spent 2 nights here in November 2011 and I think I've thought about it most days since. Harsh and his brother are the best hosts and the staff extremely efficient and friendly. The tented rooms were a revelation! I could never have imagined a tent could be so luxurious. Attention to detail was impressive. Fresh roses floating in shallow bowls of water each day in the bathroom and the bedroom, afternoon tea outside your tent, gin and tonic waiting for you at the top of the hill walk ... I could go on, but I think you might enjoy discovering the joys of Chhatra Sagar for yourself! Oh yes, and the food was god too!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncatering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Chhatra Sagar is not to be missed.
My wife and I have had the good fortune to stay at Chhatra Sagar on four separate occasions over a period of years, so I have complete confidence in the accuracy of this review.
The small number of luxury tents are superbly maintained. Each tent has a view over the lake which enables you to experience magnificent sunrises and watch hundreds of geese and ducks, wheeling and turning in the sunrise.
Harsh, Nandi,Raj, Vasundra & Sridini are perfect hosts, and ensure that each guest is properly catered for.
I can assure the reader of this review, that he or she will not experience a place closer to heaven than Chhatra Sagar.

Room Tip: If the guests are "romantics", I would suggest they secure one of the two tents on the hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThakurSahibMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I can't say enough about Chhatra Sagar which is such a beautiful escape from the hustle and bustle of Rajasthan. There are only 13 tents at Chhatra Sagar so the atmosphere is intimate. And what tents! The canvas inside is painted with intricate floral patterns and houses antique furniture, a huge bed with plump pillows and a slate bathroom area come complete with running water and electricity. This is a long way from roughing it. Perhaps the best thing about the camp are the tours which are included of a nature walk and village tour. The insights into life in Rajasthan are genuine and the best that we had during our five weeks in India. This is a must visit place and a real highlight of our trip. Photos here: http://www.gourmet-chick.com/2011/11/chhatra-sagar-nimaj-gourmet-chick-in.html

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were at Chhatra Sagar for 3 nights and wanted so stay longer but our itinerary could not be altered easily. So we left it as late as possible to leave for our next destination and the hotel prepared an early lunch for us.

Just one example of the tremendous service provided by everyone there, especially by the two brothers who own the resort.

There ar only 13 tents, so there's no sense of overcrowding! And the place is so peaceful and calm. We just wanted to sit outside our tent and look over the lake and watch the birds and animals.Tents do not have airconditioning, but it's not necesssary at night - and there are fans in all rooms which we found to be suffficient.

All the other guests there seemed to infected by the friendly calmness of the place. So we often made friends with others and shared a large table for dinner.

The village tour and the bird safari are great and well worth doing. And on the latter we were acoompanied by two fox terriers and a young Great Dane who belong to the owners. There was ven a bearer with a telescope on a tripod for close observation of the birds.

Meals are really good - table d'hote - but with a fine selection to suit all tastes. With some local dishes which we had not tasted before.

The absence of light polution makes for ideal star gazing. Never seen such a dark sky with so mant visible stars - even in rural France! And, of course, Raj has a telescope to really look at distant stars and he has a great knowledge of what's up there!

A well stocked bar - so a great place to have pre-dinner Gin & Tonics,

The resort does not have credit card facilities so make sure you take cash!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pali
109.7 km away
Chanoud Garh
Chanoud Garh
#1 of 6 in Pali
206 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Vrindavan
Hotel Vrindavan
#3 of 6 in Pali
1 reviews
80.0 km away
Hotel Mint Inn
Hotel Mint Inn
#6 of 6 in Pali
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
Hotel Raj Mahal Beawar
#1 of 1 in Beawar
5 reviews
13.2 km away
Lakshman Sagar
Lakshman Sagar
#1 of 16 in Pali
129 reviews
140.0 km away
JAWAI
JAWAI
#1 of 37 in Pali
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhatra Sagar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhatra Sagar

Address: District . Pali-Marwar, Pali 306303, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Pali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pali
Price Range: ₹ 32,015 - ₹ 36,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chhatra Sagar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury tents have always been an important part of Rajput lifestyle. Constant campaigns in far flung lands meant long stays in tents under inhospitable conditions. Tents were the only luxury available and soon these “homes away from home” evolved into mobile, mini-palaces.Chhatra Sagar captures the essence of this romance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Yatra, MakeMyTrip and TravelGuru so you can book your Chhatra Sagar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Pali
Chhatra Sagar Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Hotel Rajasthan
Chhatra Sagar Pali, Rajasthan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing