We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
197
8
2
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
8
2
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury tents wild boar local village nature walk tented camp bird walk dam wall bird watching two nights village tour bird life overlooking the lake different species recharge your batteries evening walk no tipping policy the hustle and bustle
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I can't say enough about Chhatra Sagar which is such a beautiful escape from the hustle and bustle of Rajasthan. There are only 13 tents at Chhatra Sagar so the atmosphere is intimate. And what tents! The canvas inside is painted with intricate floral patterns and houses antique furniture, a huge bed with plump pillows and a slate bathroom area come complete with running water and electricity. This is a long way from roughing it. Perhaps the best thing about the camp are the tours which are included of a nature walk and village tour. The insights into life in Rajasthan are genuine and the best that we had during our five weeks in India. This is a must visit place and a real highlight of our trip. Photos here: http://www.gourmet-chick.com/2011/11/chhatra-sagar-nimaj-gourmet-chick-in.html

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaraAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We were at Chhatra Sagar for 3 nights and wanted so stay longer but our itinerary could not be altered easily. So we left it as late as possible to leave for our next destination and the hotel prepared an early lunch for us.

Just one example of the tremendous service provided by everyone there, especially by the two brothers who own the resort.

There ar only 13 tents, so there's no sense of overcrowding! And the place is so peaceful and calm. We just wanted to sit outside our tent and look over the lake and watch the birds and animals.Tents do not have airconditioning, but it's not necesssary at night - and there are fans in all rooms which we found to be suffficient.

All the other guests there seemed to infected by the friendly calmness of the place. So we often made friends with others and shared a large table for dinner.

The village tour and the bird safari are great and well worth doing. And on the latter we were acoompanied by two fox terriers and a young Great Dane who belong to the owners. There was ven a bearer with a telescope on a tripod for close observation of the birds.

Meals are really good - table d'hote - but with a fine selection to suit all tastes. With some local dishes which we had not tasted before.

The absence of light polution makes for ideal star gazing. Never seen such a dark sky with so mant visible stars - even in rural France! And, of course, Raj has a telescope to really look at distant stars and he has a great knowledge of what's up there!

A well stocked bar - so a great place to have pre-dinner Gin & Tonics,

The resort does not have credit card facilities so make sure you take cash!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOG316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have been in Chhatra Sagar on the way from Jaipur to Jodhpur. We should have stayed 2 nights instead of one as the place turned out to be much nicer than expected. It felt nearly
privat - at least very personal. It's the total opposit to the city live we have seen before and after.

Only drawback has been insects during night - but the tents are well protected and funny enough they don't have sets to put under the glasses - but to put on the glasses during
dinner.

The two cousins running the place are very polite - softspocken and good looking ( as my wife
reminded me) - they are also very trustworthy.

Its a save bet - you can't make a mistake when you go there.

But be sure to cary enough cash - I wanted to pay with credit card and this wasn't possible.
Instead they wrote an invoice and asked me to transfer the money after my return to Germany.

Room Tip: There is one tent at a higher place that is woth asking for.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilfried_graebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We went to Chhatrasagar after staying at Shahpura Bagh en route to Jodhpur. It is bliss in my opinion because it is a beautifully maintained property of quality and comfort yet simplicity....ticks my boxes. The tents are well appointed and attractive, the environs sublime and just watching all the courting parakeets enchanting. Bigger wildlife is across the water and one can pick them out with the naked eye or binoculars and the birdlife is excellent. The food is vegetarian which one might find boring, but it is not. I could spend a couple of days here....my visit was all too brief but for anyone lovely but somehow I think for first timers to India it might demonstrate the beauty of India's wild places and that sensible people know how to do it all properly.

Room Tip: For a view maybe see if you can get the end tents?
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoseofScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Many other reviews of of Chhatra Sagar inTrip Advisor really say it all but I must reiterate and confirm that this is a truly exceptional place in a beautiful location, with comfortable and unusual accommodation, hosts who are delightful and who really look after you during your stay. The host family actively support the local community and organise visits to local farms and the village school which really shouldn't be missed, together with walks around the estate to see the local bird and wildlife.The food, drink and service is second to none and nothing seems to be too much trouble. Don't miss "sundowners" on the hill.
We loved our stay and we will return!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews