We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveller rating
350
304
164
93
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
304
164
93
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews funicular railway room was large sicilian orange juice time consuming indoor pool and jacuzzi a bit annoying dark room kids club hotel is situated ice cream fish piano bar enjoyable stay whole week bus service the bus pizza
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017

We stayed four nights, two at beginning of week and two at end of week on a Magic of Sicily tour. It was a terrible beginning and a terrible end to the week. This is a noisy hotel as we discovered and in spite of three requests for a quiet room, we were placed over the banqueting rooms with a wedding and a birthday party going on. The room walls are very thin and if the noise is not from below, then it is from the sides, this is especially noticeable when in bed or in the bathroom. Our room was not particularly clean and as the hotel is perched on a hill overlooking the motorway and the sea with no transport links or shops nearby, you are obliged to pay their excessive 2 euros for a bottle of water. A return taxi trip (no shuttle bus) to Taormina is 40 euros, so do not stay here without transport. Buses, reception told us, are very unreliable and difficult to get to. Food was at best lukewarm and we frankly were disgusted by what we saw going on - hands being used by waiters directly on food, yoghurts being mixed up when a bowl got emptied (e.g. natural yoghurt tipped into strawberry yoghurt) - the joke was that the yoghurt was volcanic like Etna as it had fermented. On our return at the end of the week, the food situation was worse, with mould on the kiwis, rotten apples, fruit flies swarming around the melon and rotten kiwis and again barely lukewarm food, surely a major health hazard. Our contact with the reception and hotel manager was awful - they were rude, refused to move us even though the hotel was mostly empty and the restaurant manager actually refused to remove the rotten apples! Wifi at 4 euros for 2hours on one piece of equipment is another example of taking as much money as they can and giving very little. I would suggest avoiding this hotel at all costs otherwise you will be isolated, hungry, unhappy and out of pocket.

Room Tip: high up as possible
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliatk168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Never really got into the atmosphere of the hotel.
The behind the counter staff were so dull and did us a favor by answering us. The example was taken from the Reception manager who was a prime example of how not to relate to guests.
I suppose that being charged Euro4 for 2mb of WiFi in this day and age is almost absurd and really does leave a bad taste in the mouth.
Ok, the rooms were passable with FANTASTIC views ( but they charge for WiFi )
Breakfast in the lower dining room was very good and with a good variety of good food. (but they charge for WiFi )
Dinner was in the upper restaurant . You get there by an internal diagonal lift
( fenicular) which added to the experience ...
Food was as the same standard as breakfast. (but they charge for WiFi ) It did get to me !!

Service was the same as the reception but worse !!

I should mention that this hotel is build the the face of a mountain and is a complex of 2 or 3 hotels together.

To summerize.....Spend your money somewhere else ! - Maybe there you will get a smile !!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Generally satisfied with the standard of the hotel rooms and cleanliness. My room on the second floor had a balcony and overlooked the sea Despite booking a single room it had a double and single bed. Good choice at breakfast and dinner buffets. Bus stop for many local tours just outside the parking area. Unlike previous reviewer I had no problem with hot water. However on the minus side reception and staff generally spoke only very basic English and I had difficulty making them understand me. I arrived after 9pm and could not get any food - the only bar food appears to be a ham sandwich and I am a vegetarian. One of the pools was closed as there is renovation work being done. No entertainment in the evenings as advertised but may be due to it being out of season. Most of the other hotel guests appeared to be German - October seems to be their time for visiting Sicily - they were everywhere! Dinner served in sister hotel accessible by lift.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHELAGH h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

That was such a fun - food, room, entertainment - everything was perfect!
And lovely people working at the hotel!
The only bad thing is a beach (that doesn't belong to the Hotel, but there's a deal between them) - the staff of Lido Tropicana was a disgrace to Sicily, a disgrace to Italy!
Rude and uneducated, always telling us where to sit - on an empty (almost) beach! Imagine that!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dmitry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

Hotel Antares, Sicily. Review
My family of 4 stayed at the Antares hotel, September 2017, for 4 nights. We were given 2 rooms on the 6th floor. Antares is part of a bigger complex of hotels, all built on top of a steep hill and connected via 2 rail cabins. The view from our rooms were fantastic. To get to the beach one has to use a special elevator to the bottom of the hill and then walk 10/15 minutes. The hotel is quite isolated from nearby towns and you will need a car to get around. There are a precious few (mostly always occupied) parking spots up hill, the hotel does have a parking area far downhill for guests, but you will have to pay an extra daily fee for parking. On and off Wi-Fi in the hotel is also available but for an extra fee and limited to 2 GB. Breakfast and dinner had the same identical tasteless menu daily, lots of pasta, not much variety and no rice at all. The staff….never in all our trips abroad have we come across such a (mostly) sorry bunch, never a smile, almost all with a long, busy, don’t bother me face. Luckily we did not spend much time at the hotel as we had a rented car and daily went touring after breakfast only returning tired in the evening for dinner, shower and sleep. About sleep…the beds have super soft springs, so if you have any back problems then keep that in mind, you will also be awakened by mosquitoes buzzing around your face. My family and I are easy going and could tolerate all the above, however what really got us irritated was the showers… no hot water or to be more precise only mildly tepid water in both our rooms. The shower heads, tiny with minimum flow and pressure, one literally has to pass the shower head slowly over each inch of the body to get wet. Even after complaining several times nothing was done about the hot water. Our return flight was late, so when asked if we could use the rooms a little longer were told that we need to leave by 10:00 and that we could stay till 16:00 for an additional fee of 120 Euros…we left at 09:00. (Luckily we still had the rented car). Cannot recommend this hotel in any way or form…except for the wonderful view.

Room Tip: Arrive with car and have meals elsewhere.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Joey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews