We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Changes - Still a Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astralis Hotel Domizil
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
St. Louis
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Changes - Still a Great Choice”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Been a while since I had been back to the Domizil and I must say things have changed for the better.

Always a good choice in Walldorf for those working at or visiting Walldorf, this hotel is getting a serious uplift to their public areas.. The previously walled up lobby/dinning area has been remodeled to a new open bar/dining area with a very modern touch. The dinner menu has been significantly modified with new items (try the fish and chips), while keeping the classics. Also the Sauna is now brand new and very nice.

Breakfast is always good and the rooms are as some have indicated on the normal small side. Other improvements are underway but the great service and friendly atmosphere are still forefront.

Room Tip: 701 is my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank execplatscum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
9
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I stayed at the Astralis Domizil for a workshop at SAP, as mentioned before they have free shuttles to SAP and free wireless internet which I found a big plus point. They have good breakfast and great coffee at 16 EUR. The service personnel were very efficient and friendly.

On the downside, as spring came quite soon during my stay my room was very hot, and the air-conditioning did not work properly – only the fan was blowing (I did report it but was not attended too). Also, I only had a feather down duvet on my bed so I had difficulties sleeping as it was way too warm. Lastly, the shower only had a curtain and not a door – I am not very fond of a shower curtain and did not expect a 4 star hotel not to have shower doors.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

This hotel is very nice, comfortable, and convenient. The hotel and its rooms feel like a large B & B and the staff is very friendly and willing to help out.

Parking is free and there is a free hotel shuttle that runs to/from SAP at specific times of the day. On Monday, the shuttle starts at 9 instead of 8. It is a 30 minute walk to SAP. Cab fare from SAP back to the hotel ranged from 5 euros to 8.50 euros. We are not sure why there was such a big difference in fare.

The hotel is close to city centre and restaurants. We walked to many restaurants, even after 10 pm. If you are driving to Heidelberg (about a 20 minute drive), watch out for the red light camera on your way in/out of town. The officials can change the direction that is being monitored.

If you are there for an extended period of time and want to do a load of laundry, the closest public wash center (laundromat) is in Heidelberg. The hotel does provide laundry service on a per piece basis Monday through Friday.

I am a short person so the fact that I was on the top floor which had a sloping ceiling didn't bother me. However, I could see how people who are taller could bump their head.

The free internet access, the breakfast, the friendly staff, made for a wonderful time and I didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: If you are a tall person, tell them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

A nice location to get the small town experience of Germany, in the centre of town. Rooms are compact but cozy and very functional. Nice wall colours, comfortable bed with a good view. Wardrobe is a bit small but suitable for a business traveller. For a small hotel, the breakfast variety is fairly decent and tasteful. There is a dining area next to the reception which gives the feel of a dining room of one's home. Staff is very efficient, courteous and ever willing to help. Other amenities include a spa and gym. Bicycles are available for guests, a must try to get the real experience of a small town stay. The staff is not available for three hours from three to six in evening, but does not cause much inconvinience to guest

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharadjaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

I stayed in this hotel when I was visiting Walldorf for business.This hotel is just 200 meters from city center and you can actually walk around to most of the places in walldorf from here.The hotel is manned by great staff and they are very helpful.The best part of this hotel is they offer you free bicycles to move around town and also has a great DVD library with flat screen TV s and DVD players in each room.

They also offer free shuttle transfers to SAP and other offices and free 24 hrs Wi fi in all rooms!

It also has a mini gym and sauna room.I had a great stay here except last 2 days when the air conditioner of my room was having a problem.But as it was start of the winter in Germany and I could keep the windows open,that was not much of an issue.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHINMAYVASAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walldorf
1.5 km away
Leonardo Hotel Heidelberg-Walldorf
0.9 km away
Hotel Vorfelder
Hotel Vorfelder
#1 of 16 in Walldorf
106 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Ambiente
Hotel Ambiente
#3 of 16 in Walldorf
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Zum Weissen Roessel
Hotel Zum Weissen Roessel
#12 of 16 in Walldorf
14 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Gruenshof
Hotel Gruenshof
#6 of 16 in Walldorf
11 reviews
11.5 km away
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
Heidelberg Marriott Hotel
#10 of 76 in Heidelberg
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astralis Hotel Domizil? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astralis Hotel Domizil

Property: Astralis Hotel Domizil
Address: Schwetzinger Str. 50, 69190 Walldorf, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Walldorf
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Walldorf
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,395 - ₹ 11,757
Hotel Class:4 star — Astralis Hotel Domizil 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Astralis Hotel Domizil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing