We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel in a Town with Limited Options”
Review of Parkhotel Plauen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkhotel Plauen
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Plauen
Reviewed 31 March 2016

Background: We are retired Americans who pursue an active lifestyle, appreciate functional and clean lodging with easy-in and easy-out access. We generally don't rate a hotel unless we've spent at least two nights there. We stayed here as part of a driving vacation in Germany.

Would I stay here again? Yes

Notable positives/delighters: Excellent value; quiet neighborhood; clean; lots of electrical outlets; great shower pressure; responsive front desk staff; breakfast included; located within walking distance of center of town; parking included; historic building

Notable negatives/disappointments: Lots of stairs (could be a probable for mobility impaired); limited toiletries; variable bed hardness; limited counter space in the bathroom;

Other including remarkable experiences: Plauen is a special place for me. My maternal grandmother grew up here before moving to the US after World War I. The town is charming. In my retirement years I finally was able to visit.

Room Tip: Lower floors to avoid dealing with lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trogons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Just fantastic place. Ask for room 9 quiet and comfortable. Only one comment. Please accept AMEX.
Breakfast supper, free car park and very central to town. No negatives at all. Staff friendly and super helpful. I would for sure stay there again.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
Thank Jolyholys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel but I ate a few meals in the restaurant. They have a few local dishes. The pot roast and dumplings was very good and the tomato soup with mozzarella was amazing. The best I've ever had. The staff were friendly. The restaurant was not crowded and it took a little while to get our food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Not one of these large bed palaces, but very welcoming atmosphere. Loved the restaurant/bar in the basement - and thank you for the chef to still prepare a light dinner even after kitchen closed. Rooms are large, but as this is an old villa, different rooms may vary. Unfortunately the rooms are not soundproof, so may notice other guests when they leave for breakfast early.
A short 5 minute walk from the city center, in a quiet neighboorhood. Beware - construction in the area right now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sischka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Couldn't have asked for more. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel itself is close to the centre of Plauen, although it has it's own restaurant and bar - both excellent. We stayed for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it, the room was spacious and immaculately clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plauen hotels
0.4 km away
DORMERO Hotel Plauen
DORMERO Hotel Plauen
#3 of 8 in Plauen
16 reviews
0.7 km away
Best Western Hotel Am Strassberger Tor
0.8 km away
City Hotel Plauen
City Hotel Plauen
#8 of 8 in Plauen
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Schlosshotel Joessnitz
0.3 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#4 of 8 in Plauen
79 reviews
0.1 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Deutscher Hof
#6 of 8 in Plauen
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Plauen? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Plauen

Address: Raedelstr. 18, 08523 Plauen, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Plauen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Plauen
Price Range: ₹ 7,047 - ₹ 7,506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Plauen 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Parkhotel Plauen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing