We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Gite Almé is an exceptionally comfortable...”
other travellers have booked this property
Gites 'Almé' and 'Baloubet' at the Haras du Gazon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gites 'Almé' and 'Baloubet' at the Haras du Gazon
Gites Almé and Baloubet at the Haras du Gazon Haras du Gazon nestled in a green valley in the lush Normandy countryside
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Gites 'Almé' and 'Baloubet' at the Haras du Gazon
Gites Almé and Baloubet at the Haras du Gazon
Haras du Gazon nestled in a green valley in the lush Normandy countryside
View over the parterre in the front courtyard
Entrance to the games room
Rose garden
Walled garden
Swimming pool
Rose covered archway
Waterlily garden
Walkway between fields
Mares and foals in the Spring
Private lake
Stables at the Haras
Gite Almé Living area
Gite Almé Kitchen
Gite Almé Bedroom
Gite Baloubet Bedroom
Gite Baloubet Bedroom
Gite Baloubet Bedroom
Gite Baloubet Living room
Gite Almé Bedroom
Gite Almé Bedroom
Gite Baloubet Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Falaise, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ratty93
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gite Almé is an exceptionally comfortable, well-equipped and spacious property set in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Anne and Tim are excellent hosts who are a discreet presence but who are on hand to provide help when it is needed. The house file on what is available in the area is very impressive! Our grandson especially loved being so close to the farm's magnificent horses and being able to see the foals and walk the dog! The gite is terrific for a group, being very comfortable throughout and providing different spaces in which to relax, play games etc. The shared activities room is another bonus. Bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and well-equipped. When we could tear ourselves away, we enjoyed exploring the local area which has very varied landscapes for walkers. we had a wonderful week are already planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely,lovely place to stay, in a beautiful location with pool, pool room and tennis courts for happy children”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When, reluctantly, leaving our gite, we found Bayeux market to be small and perfect to visit and of, course, the Tapestry as well as the museums in Bayeux and Notre Dame church.

Additionally, Falaise Chateau, birth place of William the Conqueror, was of interest for all ages and very reasonable.

Some of the major WW2 beaches are an easy drive to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely location, plenty to do.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navigator...
Leamington Spa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Something for everyone!”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I needed to book a place for 11 people, made up of three generations and Gite Alme at Haras du Gazon was perfection. The gite was superb, wonderfully equipped and the whole site is stunningly beautiful. There is a large, well maintained swimming pool, a children's play area, beautiful gardens, a lake full of carp which one can fish and horses, swans, geese and coypu, which kept our youngsters constantly occupied. The owners, Tim and Annie, were excellent, always very helpful if we needed to ask advice and keen to ensure that our holiday was just what we wanted it to be.

I am certain that we will be going back again in future years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful accommodation and surrounding area. Facillities and the relaxing atmosphere.
Liked least: The flies that come from being on a farm and stables
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sconniee
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Brilliant family fun”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014

Haras du Gazon is in a very peaceful and quiet location in Normandy, but is not far away from many attractions. There are 3-4 Gites in total with the owners/hosts Tim and Anne living in the main house.

Our stay was as a three generation one week stay as a 75th birthday present to my Mum, with three children (8,7 and 5) and it worked brilliantly, although 1 week was a little too short.

There is plenty to do at the Gites: swimming pool, games rooms, tennis a short walk away and plenty of outdoor space to run around in. The kids loved watching the daily routine with the horses as well as feeding them on numerous occasions during the day. Each child adopted a horse as their personal favourite. Although all the Gites were occupied, there was never a sense of being crowded as there was always plenty of space at every activity.

Tim and Anne are excellent hosts, were always available if we had any questions and directed us to numerous places we otherwise would not have gone to: Falaise castle (home of William the Conqueror), several local markets, D-Day landing beaches and museums, the Bayeux tapestry.

The quality of the Gites was excellent – the best I have stayed in in France, and with the TV with English satellite and DVD’s, everyone was entertained long after the sun had gone down.

I can thoroughly recommend Haras du Gazon, although the best recommendation comes from the children who are desperate to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not being able to stay for longer
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts, Annie & Tim and being right with the horses during our stay.
Liked least: Having to leave....
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing