We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
5
5
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
5
9
2
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Lovely staff and the atmosphere is amazing.

This is not somewhere you go on holiday, it is a business hotel or somewhere you pass through.
It is warm welcoming and very quirky. If you get Sanna on reception you are going to have a very good time!

I have stayed here before, and it did seem a little stuck in the past (much like the town) but I came back to a newly refurbished room and I understand they are gradually working their way through the hotel.

Last time I had a single room which had the perk of a private sauna. The steam shower is another plus if you ask for the right room.

All in all if you are booking here, remember it is in the middle of nowhere. I consider it an experience hotel. I feel I have made friends here and that when work brings me back again I will enjoy visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well Sodankyla is not on top of the toursit destinations, except if you like the northern lights, and in this case, thent he ebst place to be is out of any city or town. BUt the Bear is a great place, just fight s on. Breakfast is ordinary. Main course is restructed. Rooms do not have good curtains, so the light just comes pouring in...not good for the midnight sun sleepers. The interente is just not a great affair, and very frustrating, but you can use cable, ...

Centrally located, and the staff make the best of what they have. Great to see sa great red wine hiddrn from view. You have to ask, but it is worth it.

Room Tip: Have a drop of Ozzie red from under the counter...its the best, and waht a surprise...helps you sleep!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Without a doubt, the nicest hotel in town. Solid food, good clean rooms, and a convenient location. I've stayed here multiple times, even after visiting other local hotels, and I'll stay at the Karhu again in the future.

In room saunas are nice, good parking, and a pool table in the lobby for relaxing in the evening.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
3  Thank coloryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Welcoming staff, and surprisingly good buffet when I stayed there. Actually they had a very good intern German cook which produced tastier food than the actual English cook.
Rooms were okay, nice shower but no exhaust! Sauna in the hotel, laundry room although not very clean.
Main complain is light curtains which really don't help to have a proper night sleep during Arctic summer time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel was quiet but the food was only average. The service was good until 10pm and then the place shuts down, including the bar. The room I had was average, the TV didn't work and the blinds did not shut out the 22 hours (as it was only May!) of daylight - black-ouit curtains (commonly available north of the Arctic Circle) were needed! Also, breakfast cereals are put out the night before!

Room Tip: Ask for black-out curtains in summer
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews