We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good three-day visit in corner room”
Review of Narragansett Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Narragansett Inn
Ranked #24 of 27 New Shoreham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2017

The Narragansett Inn is old (1912) but good and also is inexpensive. We stayed in a room on the second floor that shared a bathroom/shower with seven other rooms, but it was clean and when it was occupied we could use one of the two bathrooms on the third floor, so there was never a wait. There was a sink in the room, which was convenient, and there is also a convenient, large bicycle rental place two minutes walk away by The Oar. There was a large fan in the room but we loved the cross breeze so request a corner room. The free breakfast is a hot buffet and is outstanding. Also, don't miss the two great food trucks on Block Island -- Southeast Light Delights at the southeast lighthouse and Pots & Kettles north of Fred Benson Town Beach -- and 133-year-old theater in town.

Room Tip: A corner room is good for the cross breeze, as there is not AC in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank allen979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

This is a good spot not frequented too much by the "downtown" crowd (not quite sure what I mean by that) so it's peaceful. Striper was on the menu and how can you beat that. It was delicious. Salt Pond is right in front of you offering a great view. Prices are reasonable.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank kentito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

A group of 4 of us, 2 couples, stayed here in their annex building. It was DISGUSTING! We often stay on Block Island and are very used to sharing a bathroom, but is is usually shared by no more than 3 bed rooms, their upstairs has 5 rooms sharing a bath and it shows!! There was continually a plunger next to the toilet, EWW, and the shower CLEARLY had not been really cleaned all summer. The tub was caked with mold, the non slip mat was slimy with mold and mildew, the curtain rod was held together with tape, and the shower drain was so clogged you were standing in filthy ankle deep water by the time you finished your shower. Plus, the noise, partying, and arguing from the 3rd floor was unbearable as were the chain-smokers who sat smoking on the front porch as the smoke drifted into the building and up to the bedrooms. Also, we were told our bed was queen-size, nope, it was only a full size. The whole place is clearly not taken care of. We did not feel comfortable saying anything to anyone and left the next day. Too bad, because it is a great location.

Room Tip: do not stay in annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PitBossJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We stayed at the Narragansett Inn for three days. It was so quaint, like staying at your own summer cottage. The room was very basic and simply appointed. The whole island has a very laid back feel. Bring only casual clothes. The food was fantastic!! We had breakfast there each day and it was so good. The service was very thoughtful, graceful, without being in your way. They were very attentive to our needs. I really enjoyed staying there. If you have a boat or friends with one this is the place for you, so close to the marina. This is a fun trip, try Narragansett Inn.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank E9632PBalanp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017 via mobile

The Narragansett Inn offers a daily breakfast and dinner. Our dinner was excellent. We had the lobster hush puppies and ginger wrapped scallops (gluten free) followed by dinner. I had a delicious swordfish dinner with lobster mashed potatoes, my husband had gluten free jerk chicken, our friend had a burger with the lobster mashed potatoes and his wife had the fish and chips. She found the fish to be fresh and tender, but the coating was a bit heavy and undercooked in spots. We mentioned it to the owner who said he would share that with the chef.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Shoreham hotels
0.7 km away
The 1661 Inn
The 1661 Inn
#2 of 27 in New Shoreham
625 reviews
0.7 km away
Inn at Spring House
Inn at Spring House
#5 of 27 in New Shoreham
42 reviews
0.9 km away
Spring House Hotel
Spring House Hotel
#1 of 6 in New Shoreham
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Gothic Inn
The Gothic Inn
#26 of 27 in New Shoreham
72 reviews
0.2 km away
National Hotel
National Hotel
#2 of 6 in New Shoreham
255 reviews
0.2 km away
Surf Hotel Block Island
Surf Hotel Block Island
#4 of 6 in New Shoreham
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narragansett Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narragansett Inn

Address: 1 Ocean Avenue, PO Box 1801, New Shoreham, Block Island, RI 02807
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Block Island > New Shoreham
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in New Shoreham
Price Range: ₹ 9,062 - ₹ 18,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Narragansett Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Narragansett Hotel Block Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing