We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

The Look Out Discovery Centre
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Bracknell
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are a hands-on science and discovery centre aimed at primary school aged children with over 90 activities to entertain. We have an amazing outdoor play area which includes an all-access section. With a picnic area and coffee shop, you can stay all day.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I must be missing something at the Lookout because it’s pretty average to me. Whenever we take the little ones we tend to exhaust the activities after an hour or so. Happy to be corrected if I miss the attraction

1  Thank rodney120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Public Relations Manager at The Look Out Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Rodney, Thank you for your review. Do you come inside the science exhibition when you visit or just use the play area? I would love to get some more feedback if you would like to email us at thelookout@Bracknell-forest.gov.uk. Thanks, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"all ages"
in 48 reviews
"play area"
in 27 reviews
"mountain biking"
in 13 reviews
"coffee shop"
in 15 reviews
"water area"
in 11 reviews
"science museum"
in 14 reviews
"water play"
in 13 reviews
"construction zone"
in 7 reviews
"go ape"
in 36 reviews
"building area"
in 10 reviews
"children aged"
in 6 reviews
"excellent place"
in 6 reviews
"lookout tower"
in 6 reviews
"educational fun"
in 5 reviews
"hot air balloon"
in 5 reviews
"school trip"
in 5 reviews
"different age groups"
in 5 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Kids enjoyed play ground. Can go for a walk but not great. It’s all ok for a couple of hours. Not much else for kids to do beyond the playground and go ape which you pay for. Not worth travelling too far to get there in my view but guess its ok if you live locally.

1  Thank MikeJAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Public Relations Manager at The Look Out Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you were disappointed. Did you come inside to The Look Out Discovery Centre or just use the park outside? I would be very interested in more details if you came inside - perhaps you could email us on thelookout@Bracknell-forest.gov.uk. Thanks, Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Our grandsons love this place when we can take a picnic in decent weather. Lots of climbing and wigwam building to be done and you can see where your children are from the seating area which is excellent.

Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Public Relations Manager at The Look Out Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review Mary. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We’re a couple with a small dog. The Look Out is not pretty. Tends to be really muddy even in the better months. Put off by the unnecessary parking fee and the large groups of cyclists. The few Uber Fit Cyclists that treat it like the Tour de France make it unsafe for small children, dogs and even adults have to stay alert to avoid a nasty collision. Not a place for a relaxing dog walk.

Thank JoHarper500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Public Relations Manager at The Look Out Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi, Thank you for your review. We do get multiple users of the forests which does tend to make it quite busy for dog walkers. I will pass your comments on to the Crown Estate who manage the woods. There is a page on the Bracknell Forest Council website which gives advice on the best places in the area to walk dogs.

You can find this information here
https://www.bracknell-forest.gov.uk/parks-and-countryside/countryside-walks/great-places-circular-walks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We visited this place on a wet and cold Easter weekend. This was the first visit for me, but not the first for my family. You pay to park in the car park, but can get this refunded at the entrance to the attraction.

This places entry fee is acceptable for what is there and we had an enjoyable few hours doing everything.

There is lots to do and see in the park. The areas are divided into different zones, which you work through, all catering for small to young children.

We did most things apart from the outside play area due to the weather. We went up the towers, which is very high and level with the tops of the trees, this is an excellent vantage point. We did most activities, including the wet zone, which was great and allows you to experiment with dams and small boats, as well as other experiences. The building zone was good with large scale Lego style foam building bricks, as well as other play construction materials around a soft play house, today it was very busy.

The lighting zone was great fun. Also the activities area was brilliant, with lots of things to do. We really liked the paper helecopters, because you can make and fly them yourself, unfortunately most of the felt tipped pens didn't work, which was disappointing, but all the actual materials required were available.

We bought hot drinks, which was a bit confusing as signage says you can't take drinks from the cafe, however everyone seemed to be taking drinks (with lids on top, which were provided) into the park. I even asked the person on the till if this was ok and was told it was. This was ultimately ok and the drinks were fine, with loads of lids etc available.

The cafe experience was a bit disappointing, the girl who served us the drinks was a bit matter of fact with her attitude and did not deliver the best customer experience, however the lad working with her was very good.

The toilets were clean and tidy, but very small, meaning you may have to juggle to get in and out if there are other people there.

All in all this was a great visit and we had a really good time. I would certainly recommend this place if your in the area.

Thank Karl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L, Public Relations Manager at The Look Out Discovery Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Karl, Thank you very much for your review. I have made sure that all of the felt pens in the DCT area have been checked and replaced - thank you for letting us know. I will also pass your comments on to the coffee shop. It sounds like you generally had a great day so thank you for giving us the opportunity to correct those niggles. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Look Out Discovery Centre also viewed

 
Bracknell, Berkshire
Bracknell, Berkshire
 

Been to The Look Out Discovery Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing