We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
242
426
307
167
116
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
242
426
307
167
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfish tankhen partykeller barjacuzzi bathlive banddry ski slopegirls nightice rinkbit datedgreat nightspa facilitiesplenty of choiceone night stayreception areafull englishbreakfast was excellentfollowing morning
Filter
Updating list...
1,160 - 1,165 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2009

I have very little to write about the standard of this hotel and their customer service . . .. I struggle to understand how any hotel/customer service supplier can be so 'lax' in our current economic climate!

Customer Service = Rubbish (seriously bad attitudes!)
Food = Rubbish (very over -cooked and poor quality) AND seriously over-priced (£32.00 for a room service Fillet SteaK!!!)
Spa = Out of date and in need of some serious refurb!
Bedroom Decor = Outdated
Cleanliness = Average
We choose to stay at this hotel through local recommodation and booked it through last minute dot com, therefore managed to get it at a reduced rate - does this equal reduced quality??? Be very, very careful! Not for the weak willed!
NEVER EVER AGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Coppid Beech was recommended as the best hotel in the area, it was far from it!
Every time we left the room, we would return and find that our card keys did not work, the night receptionist needed customer service training, (badly) the window in our room was broken, there was road works that we were not informed about right outside our room. we had breakfast in our room, the entire breakfast, bar the poached eggs was cremated. (you could break a tooth on the sausages)
The breakfast on the next morning, although cooked exactly the same, was missing toast, butter, and cups for the tea and coffee.
In general, it was one of the worst experiences in a hotel i have had for a very long time.
The prices for the food are way too expensive for the quality of what you actually get.
I would advise anyone seriously thinking about staying there to reconsider, the Hilton is just round the corner, it has to be better.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Great quality hotel, very comfortable rooms and decor interesting.

Breakfast and food excellent, as was the check-in-out service.

Used the pool, sauna and steam room, all OK, male changing room having trouble with tiles at the moment but repairs are underway.

Would not hesitate to return to the hotel, which I have planned in a few weeks.

The only downside is the speed of service in the restaurant during evening dinners, however, in fairness, it is not designed to be rushed and I found the basement bar much better for my needs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveBMidlands_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Stayed one night 10th October 2009 on spa break (via spabreaks.com) with 2 old school friends. Had 2 adjacent rooms (one twin, one double), both with balconies overlooking rear of hotel (trees & car park) - very quiet even though there were a couple of large hen parties also staying. Break included dinner, bed & breakfast, one 30 min treatment and full use of pool, sauna, jacuzzi etc. Food was great (set dinner menu is fine), bit busy at breakfast but plenty of food & choice. Rooms very comfortable, staff polite and helpful, treatments good. Only criticisms are that pool area needs a bit of sprucing up and more loungers, and also bar food for lunch/snack is pricey - but there is a garage & off-licence opposite, so went got sandwiches to eat in the room! Apart from that everything was just what we needed, can't say it was particularly relaxing, but that's because we hardly stopped talking, eating & drinking for over 24 hours! Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annettejean57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The hotel is a fair size and quite noticiable so you won't miss it. It is built around some sort of alpine/santa's grotto theme which I initially thought was a bit odd being in the middle of Berkshire? (In the light of day I noticed the dry ski slope next door.)
Stepping into the hotel the alpine theme seemed to be watered down somewhat. The reception is decorated to a fairly high standard, there is a series of large fish tanks on each level of the building in a tower arrangement that you can stand and look up to from reception. Which i thought was quite an interesting feature.
The room was ok size wise, the bathroom was a little tired and needed a bit of touching up. There were tea/coffee making facilites with some biscuits in the room which is always welcome. Overall the room was ok.
The hotel has a couple of restaurants and bars. There is a gym and spa located in the basement.
There was an average range of choice for breakfast but the quality was good. The hotel is a fair way away from anywhere, you would probably need a car or other means of transport to access to a wider selection of restaurants. Overall not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancs_Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews