We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jules4163”
Review of Buddhamann

Buddhamann
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 34 - US$ 91
Description: The aromas, the ingredients, the flavours of the Far East and beyond meet Europe’s very essence at Buddhamann, the new eatery in St George’s Bay. Fusing tastes from exotic lands with Europe’s finest, Buddhamann is your place for a new dining experience. Exploring the food and drink is tantalising. And the whole event is magical with vistas of the open sea and a glass-topped area. Using authentic dishes and redefining old ways with new techniques and presentation, Buddhamann offers diners a new concept in food appreciation. Buddhamann, yet another first from Marvin Gauci and the team that gave us award-winning Tarragon and Caviar & Bull.
Restaurant details
Description: The aromas, the ingredients, the flavours of the Far East and beyond meet Europe’s very essence at Buddhamann, the new eatery in St George’s Bay. Fusing tastes from exotic lands with Europe’s finest, Buddhamann is your place for a new dining experience. Exploring the food and drink is tantalising. And the whole event is magical with vistas of the open sea and a glass-topped area. Using authentic dishes and redefining old ways with new techniques and presentation, Buddhamann offers diners a new concept in food appreciation. Buddhamann, yet another first from Marvin Gauci and the team that gave us award-winning Tarragon and Caviar & Bull.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wow! What a fantastic meal! We chose the Namaste tasting menu and weren’t disappointed! We have had the privilege of dining in many restaurants sampling tasting menus over the last few years but this one surpassed them all. The talented chef has come up with an inventive menu of which every ingredient could be savoured. We also love the setting for this restaurant, and appreciated the twinkling lights over the bay (despite the high winds).... The staff were all friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. We hope to return before the end of our week here!

Thank Jules4163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddhamann M, Manager at Buddhamann, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to share you dining experience in Buddhamann Restaurant. We are delighted to read how much you enjoyed our Namaste Menu prepared by our culinary team and our service. Once again thank you for dining with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards,

Buddhamann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 513 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

I was really disappointed with the meal, I had been to Caviar & Bull below this place, several times and have had really great meals there, so I thought I would try the Asian Fusion, honestly it was so disappointing. This type of food really needs to be top quality, I had the Pork and Calamari starter of which there was not much, which is fine, but it needs to have fine taste which it did not. I then had the Tandoori Chicken and again for this type of food it needs to be excellent, some of the chicken had gristle in it and the sauce was something I would expect in a run of the mill Indian restaurant in the UK, just full of sugar, gloopy and not very tasty, when it should have been a fusion of oriental crisp spices. The Buddhamann’s location is really excellent but it needs food to match, the people serving though, for the most part very friendly, which is why I have given two stars.

Thank Shantaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddhamann M, Manager at Buddhamann, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good evening,

Thank you for your feedback and honest opinion.

I am really sorry to hear that we did not performed up to your requirements and standard. Unfortunately there is the case that sometimes we have this comments de to different expectations from our guest's side. As a fusion restaurant we give the whole freedom to our Chef in order to express their vision and imagination guided by their experience. Therefore sometimes some of our dishes are perceived wrongly by some of our highly esteemed guest, whilst we celebrate a great success with the rest of our guest building a very strong reputation on the island. Having said that I can assure you that we can not afford using low quality products in our restaurant, neither allowing ourselves to include an item in the menu without being refined and discussed precisely.

I am sure that if we have the chance to welcome you one more time, we will be able to show you what we stand for.

By then I wish you all the best, whilst hoping that you will consider another visit in Buddhamann.


Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We were told that this place is good for Asian fusion food. When we arrived around 7 pm, the place was empty and a haughty waitress showed us to a table. The lighting was very bad and one could not read the menu properly, especially the cocktails list which was printed on a black background! We felt like we were being rushed to order and when we mentioned the poor lighting, we were told that other people had no problem! We then got up and left to enjoy a meal at a more pleasant, welcoming place.

Thank 65Globetrotter1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddhamann M, Manager at Buddhamann, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2018

Good evening,

I am terribly sorry to hear that you left our restaurant with such an impression. I strongly believe that the answer for the lights was perceived in this way due to a language barrier misunderstanding. Please note that the type of clientele we have build and maintain, does not allow us to be unprofessional or naughty to our guests.


I hope that you will reconsider your visit again to our restaurant, and allow us to treat you in a Buddhamann style.


Best regards,





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

We were celebrating a special anniversary for my daughter and I. The chef came out to the table and made us a surprise dessert. Over the top and the kindness people work there.

Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buddhamann M, Manager at Buddhamann, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Debbie, it was our pleasure to have you with us in Buddhamann and thank you very much for you kind words. Our culinary and service team would be very happy after sharing your valuable feedback with them. Once again thank you for dining with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.


Best Regards,

Buddhamann Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Fantastic good good service
Recommanded this restaurant
Place to be
Nice vieuw
Good service
Fresh food

Thank Liliane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Buddhamann also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Valletta, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Buddhamann? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing