We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Dean Hamlet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Naas, Kildare
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I stayed in the Dean Hamlet for a week with two friends. The hotel is in a quite, safe area, less than 5 minutes walk to Paceville the main nightlife area. The room was bright,spacious and clean with a balcony. The pool I found to be clean but retractable sunloungers should be available. Housekeeping is twice a week. George the manager was excellent if we had any queries of where to go/eat or if we needed anything he was most obliging. Free Wifi is available in the lobby area which I recommend to sit and listen to Ronnies stories! Overall I will most definitely return to the Dean Hamlet mainly due to the location and the superb staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emermm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    60
    50
    33
    24
See reviews for
16
66
19
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Having read some reviews of this hotel we were initially quite hesitant about our choice of accommodation. On reflection we could not be happier with the Dean Hamlet. On arrival we found the staff to be very accommodating and eager to help. We were two days late on account of the ash cloud and had expected to be charged as the cancellation was within 24 hours, in fact they generously charged us only the days we stayed. Throughout the trip the staff were friendly and the rooms were kept acceptably clean. The room itself was more than adequate with fridge, kettle, TV, balcony and a very good shower! We didn't find noise to be a problem at all, although our room was quite high up and round the back of the hotel. The location was ideal for a young couple such as ourselves, offering a multitude of restaurants, shops, bars and clubs within a 5min walk. Bus link to Valletta and Sliema is within a 1min walk. Highly recommended for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: We booked a superior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pattieandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

This apartment block in St Julian's is close to Paceville but off the main road and so is not noisy. The location is excellent; the accommodation is good, clean and very good value. There is a fine swimming pool which was never busy. Free wifi too. Very helpful and courteous staff. How could you go wrong?

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Correggio, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

we had the 4 bed room, a kind of apartment with 4 bed + kitchen.
Quite clean, not everyday though. big terrace, quite basic furniture, and sheets. bathroom was ok, but not cleaned every day. I would definitely not suggest to stay in St.Julian's as I did not like it, too noisy, too crowded... I would rather stay in other places.
If you do have to stay there, well... do not expect much.
The hotel has a pool, and two lifts. it is also used as a base for the elgnlis lessons for foreigners students. Quite at night.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights to get a flavour of Malta having spent the preceding week on Gozo.
On the plus side the location is great and the wireless internet was free, but I would not stay there again.
A large part of the place's business seems to come from language schools as opposed to travellers/holiday makers and as a result the area is very noisy until quite late at night and while I was there the air conditioning did not work at all one night and on the other it had a lock on it so that you could not set the temperature lower than 23C!
On top of this the self-catering facilities did not look up to much and eating is out in Malta is so cheap that when travelling on my own I would never choose that option again.
I can understand why people would recommend this, but I can't.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d3c0san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Saint Julian's hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.1 km away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#18 of 33 in Saint Julian's
172 reviews
0.4 km away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
941 reviews
0.3 km away
Rokna
Rokna
#17 of 33 in Saint Julian's
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#15 of 33 in Saint Julian's
192 reviews
0.4 km away
Tropicana Hotel
Tropicana Hotel
#25 of 33 in Saint Julian's
308 reviews
0.1 km away
Spinola Hotel
Spinola Hotel
#14 of 33 in Saint Julian's
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dean Hamlet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Hamlet Hotel

Property: Dean Hamlet Hotel
Address: Triq il-Qaliet, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3223, Malta (Formerly Dean Hamlet Aparthotel)
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,004 - ₹ 36,681
Hotel Class:3 star — Dean Hamlet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in St.Julians, Dean Hamlet Hotel has been totally refurbished during 2010 and upgraded to a 3 Star Hotel. It is only a few minutes walk from the bustling resort and approximately 10 minutes walk from the sandy bay of St.George's. Dean Hamlet has its own swimming pool, sun terrace and gymnasium, 24 hour reception, TV lounge, restaurant, internet cafe and Free WIFI service. Accommodation consists of modern hotel rooms, most of which are with balconies, studio and one bedroom self-catering apartments sleeping up to 4 persons. All apartments are equipped with kitchenette (2 ring cooker or microwave, fridge, etc.) And private bath/shower and w.C. Some studios and most 1 bedroom units have balconies. Some rooms and apartments have their own private terrace at penthouse Level. Daily cleaning service with weekly linen change is provided as standard, unless otherwise arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Dean Hamlet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Hotel Saint Julian`s
Dean Hamlet Aparthotel Saint Julians
Dean Hamlet Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing