We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful hotel and staff were very miserable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The St. George's Park Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is a terrible hotel, it needs a complete refurbishment. The food is terrible and the bar staff are very unfriendly and miserable. Mark and Sergio seemed to be the only 2 which seemed happy. Gemma the bar manager was paticularly unhelpful and rude most of the time.
I would not recommend this hotel to anybody it was not cheap and was in the noisiest part of malta with gentlemens clubs, prostitutes, bars and nightclubs just round the corner.
Building work next to the hotel made it very noisy and not relaxing at all.

Room Tip: I would imagine they are all terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel171, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

dear guest, thank you for your comments.
We would appreciate if you illustrate to us why the food was terrible.
The hotel is in the main entertainment area of the island, so it is normal that this area is very noisy, especially at night.
clubs, nightclubs and bars are normal in such areas, but there are no prostitutes in the area around the hotel.
We cannot do anything about the building works and that problem is common to all the hotels in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 401 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

I really cannot give any stars for this awful hotel but trip adviser app insists I give at least one star ! Not worthy ! All I can say is DO NOT go there ! Bath had mould & there was a screw head sticking up from the floor Bathroom not clean Only served coffee & tea at breakfast from a machine Pool bar noisy booming loud music Lounge bar closed indoor pool closed No where to sit ! Have to hire kettle for rooms & pay deposit for tv remote not that anyone would want to stay in the rooms Noisy horrible unclean and under staffed All inclusive holiday it certainly was not ! Ate out most of the time as the food so bad & fed up drinking out of plastic cups No toilet paper or hand drying facilities in toilets Mangement excuses end of season or we don’t do tea or coffee with lunch & dinner Asked for mayonnaise for salad was told no more /finished !
Sorry Malta we won’t be back this “hotel” is shameful and needs to be shut down !

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank silversue2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 night stay in this hotel what can I say horrendous!
50 Euro deposit on the room 10 Euro per night for air con the list is endless
Cockroaches in the room
Construction starts at seven am drilling
Curtains didn't fit
No remote for TV
Room door was extremely hard to open
Breakfast was horrible
I good go on and on
Just do not go this hotel

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel171, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

dear guest thank you for your comments. The 50 euros deposit is refunded at the end of the stay. We can do nothing about noise which emanates from construction in the area, and this is a problem shared by all hotels. As for your other comments, if you can give us the room number and the dates when you were in our hotel, we can investigate the issues you mentioned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Myself and my friend (aged 30) stayed here for 3 nights from 29th September to 2nd October 2017 on an all inclusive basis. The hotel was sufficient for our needs but definatly would not recommend all inclusive. Breakfast was ok, consisted of buffet cooked breakfast, sausages were small hot dog type, beans, scrambled egg, toast, wary of the bacon as this came with bone/gristle in the slices, and the black pudding looked like chocolate browny. Cooked meats, chips? and fruits also available. Coffee available self service from 2 coffee machines which struggled with queues. Bread often ran out. I only had lunch and dinner here for the one day thankfully. Lunch was buffet again with salad, hot option was spaghetti bolognaise, Soup was also available. Edible but not great, meat sauce was watery. Dinner was awful, unfortunately the hot beef in gravy was so chewy it was not possible to eat, resorted to soup and bread and got something from up the road later on. Room was basic, no remote for the tv so couldn’t change the channel, in need of modernisation.
I would stop here again, it was sufficient, but would just do it b&b next time.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

As first time holiday makers me and my girlfriend decided to travel to the beautiful country of Malta. After careful consideration we decide that The St. George’s Park Hotel would be a ideal place to stay because of its reasonable price in a fantastic location and supposedly good facilities.

Unfortunately this wasn’t the case.

We was sold a room which had both a double bed and kitchen so when we walked through the door to see two single beds in a room and a bathroom we was very shocked. We then went to ask at reception where our double bed was the staff on reception were not only rude but they said that no room in the hotel has double beds.

As this was our first holiday and both being so young we was not expecting anything majorly fancy or luxurious but the room we was staying in was absolutely disgusting. It was outdated and falling apart. Wires were hanging out the wall and ceiling. The side light by the bed wouldn’t turn on correctly. The bath leaked which meant that our whole room ended up flooded after a shower which then meant our towels had to be used to mop up the floor. A number of times we found bugs crawling around the bathroom and room. The all round cleanliness of the room was terrible and we even questioned weather or not house keeping actually cleaned the room. To prove our point we purposely made a little mark with food on the bed sheets and put a chocolate wrapper in the pillow case... the wrapper was still in the pillow case days later and so was the mark on the sheet.

At night we questioned our safety. When we shut the porch door and locked it it was still very easy to open the door with very little force from the outside. This was very worrying considering we was on the bottom floor. This worried us even more when we found out that the safe passcode was “A,B,C” and you was unable to change this so that was a waste of €10 as we did not use it.

Night time at this hotel is not a time to sleep unless you have ear plugs. At gone 4am people would be running up and down the corridors shouting and screaming and banging on people’s doors and also slamming their own at incredible force.

We were only bed and breakfast and quite frankly this was a relief after seeing the poor quality of the breakfast on our first morning after arriving to the hotel late at night. The food was not only dry, cold and not fresh it also was covered in flys. This meant that we did not eat breakfast at the hotel for the remainder of the holiday which inevitably cost us more money.

This is not the only facility at The St. George’s Park Hotel that was disgusting.

We knew going at this time of year we ran the risk that we could get hit by rain but we thought this would be fine as we was advertised an ‘excellent indoor pool facility’. This wasn’t the case. When we went down to the indoor pool we asked the staff if it was open and the told us it was but we took one look at the pool and went straight off after looking a dark green pool. Which shows that the pool was not cleaned and also indicated that the staff clearly did not have a concern for the well-being of their guests as they were happy for us to swim in such a disgusting pool of water. As well as this the outdoor pool was inadequate not only did it sting both of our eyes just putting our heads under the water for a split second one of us has now come home to a nasty eye infection and now on strong antibiotics. Finally even though the website states that the hotel is a non-smoking Hotel this is not the case. Many guests would be sat in their rooms with the doors open and would be smoking this caused problems for us as one of us has asthma.

As young, first time holiday makers we have many friends that are planning to go on their first holidays but we would certainly not recommend The St. George’s Park Hotel to any of them or even anyone for that matter. This was not the experience we was hoping for our first holiday together as an 18 year old couple.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JackBates99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuel171, Guest Relations Manager at The St. George's Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

dear guests, thank you for your comments. Please give us your room number and the period when you stayed in our hotel, so we can investigate the issues you mentioned about your room.
On the other matters which you mentioned, meanwhile :
You could not have been sold a room with a double bed and a kitchen. We have double bed rooms, but they do not have a kitchen, and we have studios with kitchen but they do not have a double bed.
We need to know the information requested above in order to check baout the state of your room and the balcony doors.
The safe password is not A,B,C. It is the guest who gives the code to the safe, and nobody else knows it, so it is evident that you did not read the instructions correctly, and did not ask for guidance, as to operate the safe is very easy.
The breakfast is never dry, and it is never covered with flies. We provide English and continental breakfasts ans we would appreciate if you can specify what you did not like.
We do not understand your comment about the indoor pool. Of course, in summer, very few people use the indoor pool, but we can assure you that the pool is clean. As regards the outdoor pool, thousands of guests have used the pool this summer and this is the first complaint we had about eye infections.
It is a bit difficult for guests to smoke in the rooms as we have a fire alarm system which detects cigarette smoke in the room, but we do not condone such behaviour and stop when we are notified about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Julian's hotels
0.5 km away
Dean Hamlet Hotel
Dean Hamlet Hotel
#22 of 33 in Saint Julian's
198 reviews
0.2 km away
be.HOTEL
be.HOTEL
#13 of 33 in Saint Julian's
359 reviews
0.4 km away
Allegro Hotel
Allegro Hotel
#20 of 33 in Saint Julian's
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#11 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,237 reviews
0.4 km away
Rokna
Rokna
#19 of 33 in Saint Julian's
385 reviews
0.2 km away
Alexandra Hotel Malta
Alexandra Hotel Malta
#23 of 33 in Saint Julian's
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. George's Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. George's Park Hotel

Address: Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3140, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Price Range: ₹ 1,628 - ₹ 5,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St. George's Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 425
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Sea St George's Park, Malta is an ideal choice for a lively break to this stunning Mediterranean island. Located in a privileged position within the heart of Paceville, St. Julian's, this property sits just 300m from a pretty sandy beach and provides easy access to a fantastic choice of restaurants, bars and clubs that this vibrant area is renowned for. The Blue Sea St George's Park is perfect for those who are looking for an active holiday in the heart of Malta's night life, with a range of facilities and amenities at hand to keep everyone entertained. With classic décor throughout the reception area, the atmosphere of this property makes it a great place to relax and unwind after a day of sightseeing or after enjoying the lively local nightlife. The two outdoor swimming pools, one indoor pool (not heated) and a children's pool, provide plenty of idyllic places to soak up the Mediterranean sunshine. Guests of the Blue Sea St George's Park have the opportunity to get active at the gym (available at a local charge). The nearby sandy beach of St. George's Bay, is just a few minutes' walk from the Blue Sea St. George's Park and offers a host of water sports (all at a local charge). A range of dining options are available at the Blue Sea St George's Park that include a lounge bar, pool bar (seasonal) and a buffet restaurant. An in-house entertainment program is offered throughout the year to ensure that everything is provided for a fun and relaxing holiday for the young at heart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your The St. George's Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Georges Park Complex Hotel Saint Julian`s
The St. George's Park Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing