We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great choice for busy area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great choice for busy area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

This hotel would suit anyone like me who likes a bit of luxury but without formality. The rooms are modern, clean and spacious. You look after yourself, so no staff hovering to clean your room, open the door, carry your bags. That might sound like a disadvantage to some, but I'm done with cloying hotels where there is always someone waiting to pounce and do something you didn't want doing, and get tipped for the privilege. The reception area is welcoming at all hours, with big squashy sofas where you can curl up with a book or use the free wifi, and there is great quality coffees and snacks 24 hours. The fridge in your room is empty so you can stock up on what you want from a useful shop next door. The hotel is far enough away from the 'party' area of town to avoid the worst of the noise, although there was some low level noise in the early hours from what looked like a hostel across the road from people returning from the bars, but it wasn't unreasonable. If I could ask for two improvements, they would be for the indoor pool area to be open later than 8pm, and for check in to be available earlier than 3pm. Many if not most flights arrive early in the morning, and leave also in the morning, so rooms must be becoming available all through the day as they get cleaned. There's nothing worse than arriving on holiday then having to wait 4 or 5 hours to get into your room - it feels like a wasted day of your holiday. All in all though I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    453
    158
    39
    14
See reviews for
118
537
45
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We checked in about 5am bleary eyed after flight change by air Malta from 11am to 11.55pm missing a night of our holiday.We were so tired just went to bed.We had what was described as courtyard room on waking up, looked out of window for courtyard,which was glass/perspex half domed roof of the breakfast room.Our only complaint would be this description.The room itself was great plenty of space, comfy bed,excellent shower and facilities.We found room a bit dark as we were reluctant to open curtains fully due to positioning,saying that, it was very quiet and peaceful,which suited us.All the the staff were very pleasant,professional and helpful.Room was cleaned to very high standard.We booked late check out at a cost and were asked if we needed more towels etc.If you are a smoker you would be better booking room with balcony,as no smoking hotel.The roof top pool area was very quiet,plenty of sunbeds but the weather was too cold for a dip,but nice place to relax with good views over St Julians.Indoor pool and Spa looked very nice but we did not use it.Hotel is in great position for numerous restaurants mainy Italian,but travel to other parts of island is so easy by bus,a ticket for unlimited travel for a week 12 Euros absolute bargain.The hotel is right next door to paceville clubbing area,but we were not at all disturbed by noise maybe if you have room facing street might be different,but courtyard room was very quiet.We did not take breakfast but it looked fine looking out of our room window.All in all we had great relaxing 6 days and would return to the George if in St Julians again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms if you want peaceful night sleep and do not smoke.If you get higher floor you rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choddychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silkeborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
181 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had booked a taxi via the hotel at 22 EURO and the driver was waiting with a sign in the arrival area so the transfer was very quick and easy.

We had booked a studio room and when we arrived, we were given a normal double room. We went back to the reception and were immediately given the keys for a studio room on the 3rd floor. The room was very, very nice - super modern and very tastefully decorated. Bathroom with tub (we do not need that though - would prefer just a shower). Amenities in the bathroom were good and plentiful. The kitchen had everything we needed - even a dish washer which was a delight through the week we stayed there.

The balcony was fine but not suited for eating breakfast outside as the table was only around 40 cm tall. There is a bar table with two chairs inside plus a couch and table. The TV is useless since you have to pay to see anything except 4-5 news channels - we did not need it but just noticed that we do not want to pay for TV - it has to be included in the price. The same goes for WiFi - a brand new hotel and we are in the year of 2012 - free WiFi is a matter of course. In the lobby area the WiFi was free but when you have to work a bit, it is not really convenient.

The sleeping area is separated from the kitchen with a closet wall which is a quite elegant solution with plenty of closet space. The bed was very comfortable. Cleaning was spotless. One of the minuses was the noise. We are not very sensitive and we knew the area was noisy but in a brand new hotel they should have invested in some noise reducing glacing to avoid this problem. We were okay but a woman sounding like a hyena at 4 o'clock in the morning can be pretty annoying.

The bar area is very nice with reasonable prices and there is also a small shop with drinks and sandwiches to bring to your room. With a studio room it would have been nice if there had been some fresh bread in the morning but there is a supermarket close by open from 8-21 most days. The pool area is nice but the bar was closed and the pool half empty when we were there - no problem though.

There are many very good restaurants in the area (surprisingly good actually) and if you take the short walk to Spinola Bay or St. George's Bay, you have a chance to enjoy the sun at some small nice bars and cafes.

We can definitely recommend The George - the staff is friendly and helpful, there is a nice atmosphere and excellent rooms. You may consider bringing earplugs though.

Room Tip: We had a room to the back street of the hotel and our feeling was that the rooms over the entrance w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trane&Trane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

A really nice hotel, great staff, all very friendly. Spoilt by being in a very noisy neighbourhood. Spent 7 nights here, only got 2 full nights sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Dear Derek,

Thank you for choosing The George for your stay in Malta and taking time to review the hotel.

Although never foolproof, the hotel is equipped with double glazing balcony doors that are designed to reduce the noise levels within the rooms. We have very rarely had this complaint and trust that we will ensure allocating less noisy rooms if this issue arises again.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was luxurious and very comfortable with an excellent breakfast! The staff were welcoming and the location was ideal for exploring the island, you can walk all the way along the promenade to Sliema and there are buses to all parts of the island from the top of the street.

Room Tip: We selected a courtyard room which meant we had a balcony overlooking the back of the hotel, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Julian's
0.0 km away
Hotel Valentina
Hotel Valentina
#1 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.2 km away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Juliani
Hotel Juliani
#2 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Argento Hotel
Argento Hotel
#7 of 34 in Saint Julian's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
1.6 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
0.6 km away
Marina Hotel Corinthia Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Phone Number:
Region: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,705 - ₹ 12,694
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing