We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better management is needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We were travelling from Oslo to Gävle in Sweden on the day before Midsummer, a day with strong traffic. We therefore chose to drive via Borlange in order to avoid too much stress on the road. We chose the Best Western Gustav Wasa.The hotel was awarded for its architecture. By all means, it is well deserved.
However, already before entering the front door you see that the most important first impression is shabby. Our room was clean, actually no further complaints, but you have this feeling it just is a run-down place. The Wasa restaurant is closed at least it got some furnitures which are not fitting in. The pool was closed as under construction. The water basin in the garden wasn`t cleaned for years, I guess. The other restaurant was obviously outsourced as the staff didn`t even know when breakfast was served. It was a kind of a Western saloon and they managed well. People and ofcourse families seemed to enjoy their food and the entire atmosphere, and so did my wife and myself. The breakfast is probably the reason for blaming for bad management. I do not want to be too picky, but it would extend this report out of proportions and this just after a one nights stay. Again, it could be a very nice hotel if management would look to details. You are staying in hotel from the mid-80ies and almost nothing has happened since a part from the flat tv which was placed on the wall in front of the beds - I would have gone for a smarter placement. Now, the rate they were asking for was in compliance with what we experienced. I think, the people from Best Western should talk to the hotel management.

Room Tip: I think ll rooms are quiet located
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GUMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2015

We booked a trip to Darlana from Stockholm for Midsommer. Of course the hotel was not going to be that busy but I feel that the hotel did not really cater for any guests that were staying there.

For the three days that we spent there the hotel bar and restaurant were closed. When asked if we could get anything to eat the reply was "There is an Indian restaurant open somewhere".

Second night we ended up going to the local bar which was nice.

Also there was a sign on the door of the Swimming Pools saying "Open early June". Despite it being June 21 it was still not open.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank deanfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2015

Easy to park and across the street from the train station, if you travel by train. Small but nice hotel rooms. Good price for the quality of service. Very good included breakfast. My preferred hotel at Borlänge.

Room Tip: Easy to park and free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LUCDEBELLEFEUILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2014

Stayed 1 night at this hotel - 2 couples, 2 rooms. We found it great in every way. Front desk staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The rooms were decent size and clean, comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was great, lots of choice and well presented.
We had dinner at the restaurant, and enjoyed the atmosphere and food very much. Very much an American music theme to the decor.
The lobby area was spacious, with seating and a TV, and free coffee and tea available.
The free WiFi also worked perfectly via a supplied password... an important feature when you want to Skype home.
Overall, I would return here if my travels took me back.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed here for one night in May. It is very convenient for the railway station, but expensive by UK standards at £85.46 a night. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, spoke good English, and even made some fresh coffee. As their restaurant was not open they recommended an Italian restaurant just round the corner and this was excellent, both for the food, service and value for money. Breakfast was well up to Best Western standards.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveSodbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Borlange
0.6 km away
Quality Hotel Galaxen
Quality Hotel Galaxen
#1 of 8 in Borlange
365 reviews
0.4 km away
Scandic Borlange City
Scandic Borlange City
#2 of 8 in Borlange
269 reviews
0.4 km away
First Hotel Brage
First Hotel Brage
#5 of 8 in Borlange
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bergmastaren
17.8 km away
First Hotel Grand Falun
39.2 km away
Best Western Plus Grand Hotel Elektra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel

Address: Tunagatan 1, Borlange 784 34, Sweden (Formerly Park Inn Borlange)
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Dalarna County > Borlange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Borlange
Price Range: ₹ 6,803 - ₹ 12,951 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel, Borlange's leading hotel best known for quality accommodations and prize winning architecture. Our hotel is located in the heart of Borlange's business district neighboring some of Sweden's largest corporations within the steel, railway and highway sectors. We are also located in the famous tourist region of Dalecarlia which includes other attractions such as Romme Alpin Ski Centre, Falu Copper Mine and Carl Larsson.Our warm professional staff and personal charm will make you feel right at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Gustaf Wasa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing