We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Accomodations in Daintree!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daintree Rainforest Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Accomodations in Daintree!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2016

We recently spent two nights at the Daintree Rainforest Retreat, and it was great. I had read many reviews of other lodging in this area, but this motel seemed like it would be perfect for me and my son and his two friends. We had two rooms, and one had a kitchenette which was perfect for making breakfast before heading out for activities. The decor was bright and cheerful, the rooms and grounds very clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Unfortunately, it was raining both days that we were there so we didn't get to enjoy the pool, but it looked beautiful! This is a really lovely spot, and I'd highly recommend staying here on a trip to Daintree.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette and pick up groceries at the Woolworth's near Mossman before h...
See more room tips
Green Features: This motel uses solar power and recycled rainwater, and is very environmentally friendly!
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    47
    5
    6
    8
See reviews for
44
66
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Deniliquin, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Loved the small touches like mosquito coils provided. Screen on Windows and doors for letting lovely fresh air in at night. Lots of forest noises makes for interesting sleep. But that is what makes it special. Location great. Walk to Cow Bay Hotel for reasonable meals.

Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lourene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2016

As usual when holidaying, we selected our accommodation online. The first thing that attracted us to this Retreat was the swimming pool, which was surrounded by lush tropical growth. Unfortunately, we never got around to using it, due to the weather and lack of time!

Our room was very comfortable, with a Queen bed, ceiling fan, microwave, toaster and jug. There is no A/C, due to the retreat using solar power. Of course, we had an en suite bathroom, which although small, was adequate. The hot water was sometimes just tepid, as during our stay, it rained un-seasonally, but with the usual Queensland sunshine, that shouldn't be a problem.

We were supplied with mosquito coils so that we would be protected if we sat outside, and all windows and the door were screened.

One downside was that there are no laundry facilities, but some of the camping grounds are willing to let you use their coin laundries, so no big deal.

Breakfast is available, and there is a BBQ area for cooking. If you want to eat out, the local hotel is just across the road, and there are other places just a short drive away.

Travis and Margaret, the owners, couldn't have been more helpful, and gave us great advice on where to go, and what to do. They even made some of our bookings for us for local tours.

If you want a pleasant family friendly stay in the Daintree, I'd recommend Daintree Rainforest Retreat.

Green Features: Very good. Uses Solar energy, and saves water where possible.
  • Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this motel having booked through booking.com a couple of months ago. Glad we did. The private and quiet entrance to this property sets the tone and although offering older style of facilities, our room was spotlessly clean and pool was lovely. Rooms are away from road and very quiet. Restaurant not open when we stayed but helpful and friendly advice pointed us to the Crocodilus resort for Sunday night BBQ. Travis was a very welcoming host, keen to share local information. Would happily stay again.

Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank needsun255344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2016

This place was amazing, tucked right into beautiful rainforest. We saw many birds and wildlife while staying here. The rooms are comfortable and have everything you would need. The pool is amazing and the host was very friendly. We will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2015, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anteler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cow Bay
9.3 km away
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
Daintree EcoLodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Daintree
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.0 km away
Cow Bay Hotel
Cow Bay Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
3.1 km away
Lync-Haven Rainforest Retreat, Cabins, Camping & Wildlife Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 km away
Silky Oaks Lodge
Silky Oaks Lodge
#1 of 2 in Mossman
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
1.9 km away
The Epiphyte Bed and Breakfast
1.5 km away
Daintree Crocodylus
Daintree Crocodylus
#1 of 2 in Cow Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daintree Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daintree Rainforest Retreat

Property: Daintree Rainforest Retreat
Address: 336 Cape Tribulation Road, Cow Bay, Queensland 4873, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Daintree Region > Cow Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cow Bay
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,788 - ₹ 8,872
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Daintree Rainforest Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Daintree Rainforest Retreat is a small family owned motel. It sits nestled in the forest surrounded by towering trees and lush gardens. While we do not have a restaurant we do offer a covered BBQ area with its own sitting area and a fully equipped and comfortable communal kitchen together with 2 further sitting/dining areas. The Cow Bay Hotel is a 2 minute walk and while it is very close, it can be neither seen nor heard from the motel. Our rooms are cooled by ceiling fans and guests can further escape the tropical heat with a dip in our palm fringed swimming pool. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Daintree Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Hotel Cow Bay
Daintree Rainforest Retreat Daintree Region/Cow Bay, Queensland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing