We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horsley Hills - An Unique Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chittoor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
APTDC Haritha Resort
Chennai, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Horsley Hills - An Unique Experience”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We decided to drive up to Horsley Hills from Chennai this Christmas Weekend (24-25 Dec, 2011). We were a group of 4 families (8 adults & 2 kids) and it was one of those trips where we enjoyed ourselves to the hilt. The elevation is a mere 1290 metres above sea level and that made us underestimate the weather at this time of the year. The place was extremely cold in the night and this chillness extended till early in the morning. Considering the weather at Chennai, this of course was a welcome change.

We stayed at the APTDC Hill Resort. This probably is the only good place to stay at Horsley Hills. We took 4 rooms (2 in the Governor's Bungalow @ Rs.2310 per room inclusive of tax and 2 in the Whispering Winds building @ Rs.1575 per room inclusive of tax). The booking was done online through their website (www.aptdc.in). The check-in at the resort was easy and very quick.

The APTDC Hill Resort is situated at a very nice location. There is a view-point behind the Governor's Bungalow from where we got a birds-eye view of the mountain range. The Resort also has a good restaurant that serves spicy yet tasty Andhra food. (Buffet for lunch & room service for dinner). The resort also has a bar, a swimming pool, a health spa and a play area for kids. The resort also offers adventure sports (predominantly rope games). We tried a couple of games and it was great fun.

There is also this so-called zoo opposite the APTDC resort, which houses some malnourished caged animals. Also outside the resort we tried the mirchi bhajjis, which taste was amazing.

Overall there is nothing much to do at Horsley Hills except to just relax. We went to Horsley Hills with low expectations and we were not disappointed. Rather we celebrated our decision to go there. Horsley Hills and the APTDC Hill Resort there, gave us an unique experience. My recommendation, go for it!!

Room Tip: Whichever time of the year you go, please carry some woolen wear or jacket with you. The weather can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Karthik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

37 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    23
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

This is the best location to stay at Horsley Hills. There are few others like, Chittor Co -operative society guest house and Indian Railways guest house. But, not very sure how to book these two. The Haritha Resort at H.H. is built within a huge campus and covers almost the top of the plateu.

Looks: A true resort with some games like zorping, rope climbing, swimming pool etc.

Reachablity: Very easy, at bus stop.

Location: At the hill top and opposite to the nature park.

Connectivity: Not good for Vodafone, Airtel, Docomo within the room and few parts of resort.

Power: We didn't face any power failures, even though a generator is there to provide backup

Safety: We didn't find anything unsafe there although the resort has multiple aaproaches where outsiders can enter but that was no issue.

Food: Good for South Indians, limited options for North Indian dishes and Chinese.

Rooms:

Sl. No. Room Type No of rooms Tariff
1 Whisper Winds 8 Rs.1500/-
2 Wind Whilstle 6 Rs.1300/-
3 Wild Winds 8 Rs.1700/-
4 Wind Fall 4 Rs.2500/-
5 Governor Bunglow AC 4 Rs.2200/-
6 Governor Bunglow Non AC 4 Rs.1800/-
7 Cottages (Big) 4 Rs.1600/-
8 Cottages (Small) 6 Rs.800/-

The above tariff includes South Indian Buffet breakfast and usage of Swimming pool for 1/2 hour. Tariff doesn't include the taxes.

Booking: Online, Phone and Spot (for online visit, http://218.248.2.228/aptdc/login/OnlineLogin.jsp )

Room Conditions: Very good as per the tariff.

Staff behaviour: Mr. Lokesh Reddy (at the reception) is really a very nice person and ready to help you with all your queries. Room Service is available but not good in Wind Whistle building.

Any Worst experience:

1) Room boys will come and ask you to check out at the day of your check out which we
didn't like much good.

2) Limited option of cuisines available except at dinner.

Room Tip: I checked the Governer Bunglow but felt much better at Wind Whistle. Choose a room at upstairs and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Ranamome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Horsley is wonderful place by itself to go with family and friends. This hotel was clean and above standard. Don’t expect a five star facility. But it’s good and safe to stay here. The rooms are very big and if you are going with your friends you can share the rooms. Basic facilities are available in all the rooms. It’s very near to the place where you can go for trekking. Fantastic place to stay with friends. Value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Angel_Traveler444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2010

I visited Horsely Hills during 1st week of Nov'10. Place is good. APTDC Rooms are pretty good with friendly persons at reception. Food at inhouse restarent is good and they provide good room service as well. They are more then happy to oblige your specific needs. Over all it's great. As it foggy weather, we couldn't try inhouse games :-( Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kRamkiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chittoor hotels
0.0 km away
Reva Resorts & Holiday Homes
90.3 km away
BKR Residency
BKR Residency
#1 of 2 in Chittoor
1 reviews
91.3 km away
Hotel Saroj Krishna
Hotel Saroj Krishna
#2 of 2 in Chittoor
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to APTDC Haritha Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about APTDC Haritha Resort

Property: APTDC Haritha Resort
Address: Horsley Hills, Chittoor 517325, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Chittoor District > Chittoor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Chittoor
Price range (per night): ₹ 900 - ₹ 2,500
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Aptdc Haritha Hotel Chittoor
APTDC Haritha Resort Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing