We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not much of a tourist spot :(” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horsley Hills

Horsley Hills
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Chittoor
Type: Other
Attraction details
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not much of a tourist spot :(”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Hi people,

This review would be more meaningful to Bangaloreons especially.

I do not understand why there's so much hype given to horsley hills. Its just a hill with a road to it. that's it. The vista the hill offers isnt worth mentioning. there are hardly any attractions on the hill. There are probably some adventure sports but you can find them easily anywhere in the city resorts.

If you feel that I might have a bad judgement, let me tell you that I have visited many places in Karnataka's western ghats. Places like Kemmengundi, Sringeri, Agumbe, Gokarna etc. These places are a million times better than Horsley hills.

Trust me, it isnt worth it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank manojkumary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    51
    44
    8
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice place to relax for 2 days”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

A lovely and calm place....a chill place to relax. A good place for kids too. Few Adventures like walking over a bridge tied to trees. Good food and rooms. No sight seeing like other hill stations, no hectic schedule, so you will have all the time in hand. Mental relaxation. Stayed in Wind Whistle. Strong breeze makes the trees scream like waterfalls. A must see place.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Surbhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great view from the Top”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

We reached Horsley Hills after a overnight train journey from Hyderabad to Madanapelle. This train station is only 26 kms from the hill station and convenient. Accomodation provided by AP tourism and is very good with a wide choice of cottages and rooms. Booking in advance would be helpful. The views of the valley provided from the top are spectacular and unexpected since the elevation is only 1300 metres. The hill station is located within a perimeter of about 1 km totally and this is a limiting factor if your family/group is not into adventure activities

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank antiset11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Horsley hills - excellent place to unwind and do some zorbing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Approach:
We drove from Hyderabad to Horsley Hills which is around 520 Km.

Accommodation:
We stayed in the Governors Bungalow which is named after the W D Horsley.

This suite was decorated quite tastefully and had excellent ambiance.
It was big enough to accommodate all the eight of us.

It costed 6K but was quite huge and proved quite economical as all of us could stay here.
(It has a huge bedroom, a big sitting room, two huge bath rooms and two access areas with ward robe and refrigerator).

There is only one available for rent and we made the reservation from the APTDC web site (no hassles).
Hence it might be better to make the booking of this one early.

There are also cottages available which are fenced and seemed nice. This is an alternative to consider
if the bungalow is not available. Cottages cost around 2.5K per night.
The property is quite huge and on an incline. It takes a good 10 minutes to reach the bungalow from reception
(quite a steep trek in itself!)

Check-in: Check in support staff were quite helpful. We made excellent time on the drive reaching the place and
hence were at the accommodation couple of hours early. They had the place available to us in couple of minutes!

Checkout: Check out was super too and we stayed an additional hour or so beyond the checkout time
and there is good understanding from the resort folks.

Natural beauty: The place is quite beautiful with gulmohar trees in full bloom. Also the view from the
hill top is excellent (it was right behind the governors bungalow).
The breeze is wonderful and at night you can see the completely starlit sky in full glory.
This is the top reason for staying put here.

Activities: There are a couple of adventure activities for Kids.
All of us took Zorbing where people are rolled down in a ball. It was quite enjoyable and inexpensive
(Rs 125 per person). There is a decent swimming pool where the water is quite delightfully cold and is
complimentary for the residents.

Food: Food was quite decent as this place is run by APTDC. Also this is the only game in town and you have to drive
25 kms to reach any alternative place for food (Madanapalle is the closest place).
The breakfast was good and there is a nice lunch (south indian) buffet available.
Evenings they have a decent menu to order from.

Service: The service was quite reasonable where we stayed. There is a separate kitchen in the bungalow and the Tea was quite
invigorating. However, due to the distance from the restaurant i would not recommend ordering food at the bungalow.

Weather: As the altitude is only 1300 Mts above sea level it a bit warm in the month of April / May.
However, the evenings are quite heavenly. We visited in April.

Summary: It is an excellent resort to plan a quiet week end. The approach road is excellent and it is a nice place to unwind.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
17 Thank bramgopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway to Horsley Hills - An amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We decided to drive up to Horsley Hills from Chennai this Christmas Weekend (24-25 Dec, 2011). We were a group of 4 families (8 adults & 2 kids) and it was one of those trips where we enjoyed ourselves to the hilt. The elevation is a mere 1290 metres above sea level and that made us underestimate the weather at this time of the year. The place was extremely cold in the night and this chillness extended till early in the morning. Considering the weather at Chennai, this of course was a welcome change.

We stayed at the APTDC Hill Resort. This probably is the only good place to stay at Horsley Hills. We took 4 rooms (2 in the Governor's Bungalow @ Rs.2310 per room inclusive of tax and 2 in the Whispering Winds building @ Rs.1575 per room inclusive of tax). The booking was done online through their website (www.aptdc.in). The check-in at the resort was easy and very quick.

The APTDC Hill Resort is situated at a very nice location. There is a view-point behind the Governor's Bungalow from where we got a birds-eye view of the mountain range. The Resort also has a good restaurant that serves spicy yet tasty Andhra food. (Buffet for lunch & room service for dinner). The resort also has a bar, a swimming pool, a health spa and a play area for kids. The resort also offers adventure sports (predominantly rope games). We tried a couple of games and it was great fun.

There is also this so-called zoo opposite the APTDC resort, which houses some malnourished caged animals. Also outside the resort we tried the mirchi bhajjis, which taste was amazing.

Overall there is nothing much to do at Horsley Hills except to just relax. We went to Horsley Hills with low expectations and we were not disappointed. Rather we celebrated our decision to go there. Horsley Hills and the APTDC Hill Resort there, gave us an unique experience. My recommendation, go for it!!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
27 Thank Karthik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horsley Hills also viewed

Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh
Tirupati, Andhra Pradesh
 
Chittoor, Andhra Pradesh
Visakhapatnam (Vizag), Andhra Pradesh
 

Been to Horsley Hills? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing