We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveller rating
55
48
25
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
48
25
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ice hotel mini fridge few hours two nights indoor waterpark family suite free parking sized bed bora bora time slot get away all ages living room the great wolf lodge only complaint room for improvement booked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 151 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This was our first trip to Valcartier. Our kids loved the outdoor tubing and water park. We have been to several amusement parks including Disney and West Edmonton Mall and this was their favourite. We will definitely be back.

On the hotel side there’s lots of room for improvement to enhance the guest experience.

Positives: the family rooms are amazing with two queen beds in one room and a king in the second room and large sitting room. The entrance and decor is also very impressive for kids. Service was good overall and staff were very responsive when we called with requests.

Negatives: the rooms should be equipped with kitchenettes to allow for cooking as they are large enough. The food experience is just fair so after day 2 we hated the idea of eating on site. I would highly recommend bringing a toaster and breakfast foods as there is a mini fridge in the rooms. I would also recommend ordering from St Hubert’s as they deliver free and the price is reasonable.

There is no pool except for the water park. We loved the water park and didn’t mind paying for it but there is almost nothing to do at the property when you are not visiting the parks.

I was also very disappointed with the spa. I went for a massage and they told me I would have to pay extra for the thermal pools. I have gone to spas in many resort locations and you are always invited to enjoy the pools as part of the service.

After paying a pretty hefty price I felt a bit nickel and dimmed.

We would go back but two nights would be more than enough. Our preference will be to find another place and to drive to the parks. Since this hotel is the only game in town they can get away with this. This experience could be so great with activities for kids, a pool and outdoor hot tubs which is common for most winter resorts. There were hot tubs but they were only accessible to the ice hotel guests which seemed a bit unfair.

For a first time visit the hotel served its purpose but we will definitely look for other options as the hotel is definitely not the star attraction here.

My final comment to the hotel is that we visited during the off season so there were few people at the water park. When demand is so low and there are so few activities why not offer a multi day admission that would create value for guests. The outdoor park closed on Sunday so we found ourselves limited on things to do. To be able to come and go from the water park would have been nice when we estimate there may have only been 100 people there.

Overall good but this could be so great!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank 155023Tracey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Excellent service, amenities, fabulous beds and a great sleep. Plenty of activities for the whole family.
We enjoyed the Bora Parc indoor waterpark as a repspite from the cold. (Better than Wolf Lodge in our opinion) Enjoyed the Ice Hotel - magical like a frozen castle! Ended at the Godin Family Sugar Shack for an authentic Quebecois experience! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TorontoFunSeekerx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, staff were friendly and very helpful. There were a lot of kids due to the winter park beside the hotel. The hotel is very modern and very clean. We checked in this hotel as part of package for the Ice Hotel, we would stay in this hotel again and highly recommend this hotel with kids especially to enjoy the park activities. The Safari restaurant offers hot buffet breakfast and there are a number of restaurants to choose from that are attached to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lyn2lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

The hotel itself is nice, clean and the room are spacious. It's perfect for a familiy. The problem I have is the cost of the activities that you have to book seperatly. The Bora Bora park doesn't offer a daily pass. This is an aggravation. The waiting time, especially at the lazy river is ridiculous. The water is also cold most of the time. The retaurants are always booked, so you have to make reservation ahead of time. The Safari restaurant is not good at all. They serve frozen food. The general Tao was bad to say the least. The O'Grill is good. You better bring food for breakfast since the offer is limited. You need to drive a bit if you want to eat outside the hotel. The winter park is fun. We really enjoyed it. Overall, we had fun and we enjoyed our week, but because of the cost and the waiting time at the Bora park, I don't think I will go back.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Clelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We stayed at Valcartier as part of a package that was offered for our night at the Ice Hotel. Not quite knowing what to expect from the experience of spending a night in an ice hotel, we opted for the package which included a room at Valcartier.
Valcartier is a modern hotel which is ideal for families. It is part of a larger facility with snow tubing and an indoor water park.
Check in was a little slow, as there was only one person working despite a line up of probably 4 rooms worth of guests.
The room is quite spacious and again well planned for families and have a nice foyer to keep all the wet/snow covered things from the rest of the room. Beds were comfortable and the washroom was ample in size.

My overall rating and issue with this property stem from the availability and quality of the restaurants, the general service and, for us, the incongruous inclusion of the Ice Hotel within this facility.

The restaurants are plentiful, but they opening hours do not allow families to enjoy all the facilities, and still have a meal at the end of the day. Closing hours should be extended. Breakfast is only offered at one restaurant and it is a rather meagre buffet, with limited options.
We felt that the service at both Valcartier and the restaurants, and their recreational activities was lacking and when present, seemed reluctant to be helpful.
Lastly, we felt that the clientele of the Ice Hotel and that of Valcartier don't exactly have the same needs and expectations. While the Ice Hotel is family friendly, the majority of patrons were couples looking for a nice, quiet weekend away at a unique property. Given the price point of the Ice Hotel, guests are expecting a more bespoke experience which is focused on tranquility and ease. Therefore, checking into the main hotel with families in bathing suits and staying on a floor (part of the package) with children running up and down the halls, doesn't blend well with the other part of the experience.
This review is not of the Ice Hotel itself, but rather an addendum to provide some information to those who also book a package deal with Valcartier.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrZZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews