We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and miserable ......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My husband and I stayed for one night at this hotel, and I am so pleased that we had not booked for more than that one night.

The approach to the hotel is impressive and the building looks magnificent being Victorian Gothic , I believe. However , it seems that, apart from the tower at the left side of the building, which is used as the hotel , the rest is closed off and derelict.

Once we entered the entrance hall, we were met by the smell of stale cooking and general mustiness. It just did not smell clean and welcoming.The receptionist was, at best surly as she explained how to get to our room, without asking if we needed help with the luggage or offering to show us the way.

The room itself was not properly clean with dust on the table and on the shelf above the sink. General debris and a peanut could be seen on the carpet and a small bird feather graced the chaise longue whilst flies decorated the window cill.The windows were closed when we went into the room.

There were no toiletries in the bathroom other than big bottles of body wash , shampoo and body lotion which were still sticky from the previous user. No shower hats, cotton wool balls , make up pads,etc. but dressing robes were hanging in the bathroom and the shower was very good.

The complimentary tea tray in the room had a few open teabags, non descript economy biscuits , not even with the makers name on the packet , and no milk. We did not partake of these items , not being sure how long they had been there.

Once in the bar for pre-prandial drinks, there was more disappointment . The only gin available was Gordons which was poured into a glass with the tonic, a slice of lemon added and then handed to us. We asked for ice, which meant the young lady pulled a face and went off to the kitchen to get ice. This young lady was not the miserable receptionist but another member of staff.

We were given two conflicting dinner menus as well as the bar menu, but once having verified which was that evening's menu made our choice and waited for dinner.

We were shown into the dining room which had tables in various stages of being set or not having been properly cleared . Many used tealights were still in their holders and left on a table. The only flowers in there were in a vase of dirty water but no flowers or candles on the tables.We had expected the dining room to be very elegant as seen in photographs, but even the wine glasses were of the cheap and nasty variety .

Dinner duly arrived. The cod loin served to my husband looked grey as did the chicken wrapped in bacon served to me. The food was luke warm served on very hot plates. A miniscule dish of vegetables was put on the table which included carrots. The potatoes to go with the chicken never appeared. The chicken was dry and the outer part tough and the bacon wrapped around it was hard with an edging of white fat . The whole meal tasted as if it had been reheated in some form,especially as the carrots were slimy rubber in texture, but certainly could not be described as being freshly prepared for us that evening. The food was sent back to the kitchen and we asked if there was a chef on duty, and if so, could we discuss the meal with him. We were assured that the chef had freshly prepared everything but he had now " gone upstairs". The young waitress said she would deduct the cost of the meal from our bill.

The bed was not particularly comfortable as the pillows were quite flat, so I did not sleep well.

There was a thirty minute wait for breakfast to be cooked and served , but in the meantime we were able to help ourselves to fruit and cereals from the buffet table. This buffet sideboard was also in need of a good clean as there were crumbs and dust present. One of the teacups had to be changed as it was dirty.

The table where we had been sitting for dinner the previous evening still had our used napkins on it and had not been properly cleared.
The butter pats tasted rancid.

As we checked out, it was to find that we had been charged for the inedible meal, but the surly receptionist did, in fact deduct this cost.

It is not as if the hotel was busy ..... we were the only 2 guests staying that night ! Having really looked forwards to staying in what seemed, from photographs, a beautiful country hotel, the reality was incredibly disappointing.

Would we stay there again or recommend this place to friends ? Certainly not !

Room Tip: Don't go there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Seggiesmoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 431 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here on my birthday for one night
On arrival we were greeted by 2 lovely ladies and a gentlemen who offer to carry our bags
After checking in my husband and I wanted to book a taxi as we had tickets to the Jersey Boys, the hotel kindly offered to book for us.

Breakfast was lovely, everything from continental to full English

Lovely hotel
Beautiful scenery
Definitely worth a visit

Thank you for a lovely stay

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017

My wife and I booked one night here as a stopover en-route to North Wales. It was very reasonable and we didn't expect it to be extra ordinary. However, we both agreed that this hotel was one of the nicest country hotels we have ever used. The location is fantastic, the grounds in front of the hotel are wonderful and the building itself is fabulous - but the hotel's charm is more than the sum of its parts, the charm lies in the wonderful olde world charm conveyed by the staff and the overall ambience. We stayed on a Thurs night in late Aug, we only saw two other guests, and only interacted with three different staff members - this was great for us as we felt that we were guests in a country house. We sat outside, enjoying a cuppa and the sun and wished we were able to stay another night. I gather the current management team are departing shortly and I sincerely hope that the new team maintain the look and feel of this wonderful gem of a hotel. We had dinner which was wholesome and plentiful, and breakfast which was excellent.

Room Tip: Front facing, with views across the meadows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MOD90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Horrendous experience. Booked as a family to get some rest on a long drive. When we booked there was no mention on their website that there was a wedding. Had we known this we would not have stayed as the reason we booked was to get sleep. From 7pm onwards the noise from the wedding was horrendous to the point hat my husband and I could not talk to each other or watch TV. At 9pm I complained to the receptionist who was unhelpful. By midnight I still had not slept and the noise escalated still further as drunk guests shouted and swore at each other right under our window. Clearly as parents this was not what we had hoped for our family room. I phoned the receptionist again at this point and said this was a disgrace and that they should never have sold us the room. The receptionist said "we would sort it in the morning". First thing in the morning I took my 2 year old out for a walk to see the sheep and was greeted by the sight of bottles and broken glass lying on the ground from the wedding the night before. We decided to check out without having breakfast as we were exhausted from a lack of sleep and wanted to get away. On checking out I was stunned when the same receptionist to whom I had complained to twice the night before demanded full payment for the room (£200 in total). I explained that I had had a dreadful stay and hadn't slept. She was incredibly rude and stated we were lucky to have had a room, at least we had got some sleep after midnight and therefore should pay the full amount. I offered to pay for the food we had had (which was excellent) and the laundry but the receptionist would not accept this and argued that we were being "unreasonable". A disgusting way to treat people and frankly they should be ashamed. Also, we paid for a laundry and drying service and were handed back a bag of wet towels. A horrific experience and one that we would never repeat. I will also be writing a formal complaint to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paulina_1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire E, Owner at Mellington Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for your taking the time to review your stay at Mellington Hall Hotel. As you may have seen from more recent reviews, we, the owners of Mellington Hall Hotel, have taken back control of the Hall since the tenants vacated at the end of October.

I'm sorry that you had a bad experience when you stayed at Mellington due to the noise from a wedding that was taking place downstairs. You may be interested to learn that Mellington Hall Hotel will no longer be advertised as a "wedding venue", but more as a Country House Hotel where guests can relax in the beautiful and tranquil surroundings and enjoy their stay with us.

We have made every effort to improve our guests' experience, having made many positive changes to the Hall and I sincerely hope that you will find the time to come and visit us again to see for yourself, the improvements that we have made.

We would love to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards.

Claire Evans
Mellington Hall Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here overnight in a family room. I had seen on the website that the current proprietors were leaving so it came as no surprise to see that the place needed some refurbishment and was understaffed. There was low morale amongst those that were there as they didn't know what was going to happen. Hall and grounds are beautiful but food was below average and children's menu lacking as mostly processed food served without vegetables. Tableware wasn't very clean either.

Such a shame as my husband had booked this as a surprise via a different website so didn't know about the change in tenancy.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mellington
5.7 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montgomery
299 reviews
7.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
846 reviews
15.1 km away
The Elephant & Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.5 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,611 reviews
31.1 km away
Prince Rupert Hotel
Prince Rupert Hotel
#5 of 16 in Shrewsbury
1,245 reviews
30 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#3 of 8 in Ludlow
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellington Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellington Hall Country House Hotel

Address: | Churchstoke, Mellington, Montgomery SY15 6HX, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Montgomery > Mellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mellington
Price Range: ₹ 7,194 - ₹ 14,258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mellington Hall Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mellington Hall Country House Hotel is a Grade II Listed 19th Century house set in beautiful landscaped grounds with spectacular views in every direction. A mile from the nearest road, the hotel offers country house seclusion, comfortable, well-appointed and well-equipped rooms, and locally sourced food and drink. Call in for coffee, stay for lunch. Take afternoon tea or stay a few days. The aim of everyone you meet here is to ensure that guests leave refreshed, glad they came, and already planning their next visit! In the adjacent grounds there is a beautifully laid out holiday home park of the highest quality which is run alongside the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Mellington Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellington Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing