We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (475)
Filter reviews
475 results
Traveller rating
287
98
49
21
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
287
98
49
21
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teamellington hallsandwichesdining roomcaravan parklog firesunday lunchcouldn't do enoughwedding venuecooked to perfectionbeautiful buildingpuddingevening meallong driverelaxing weekendlambcheesecake
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 475 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful week at Mellington Hall, set in a lovely mid wales countryside. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. A big thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable, ( and for giving our dog scooby doo sausage for breakfast everyday!)
We stayed in the Mainstone suit
Roseann Shanks

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Queen_bee765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The review on 2nd February title "Ideas of grandeur" was absolutely correct. My wife and I stayed mid July in an overpriced small dull room with miss matched linen and was adequately cleaned.
To list a few things the Hall had no atmosphere, inexperience young staff, terrible breakfast and poor choice on the evening meal especially the sweets. To rate this hotel at any more then two stars is most definitely ideas of grandeur and would be a disappointment to anyone with reasonable standards. This was our main holiday of the year, which we had both been looking forward too and to put it mildly it was a great let down.
The only plus point was the location - which was excellent

Stayed: July 2017
3  Thank bertiecat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This hotel is in an amazing area. The hall itself is splendid and has a very interesting history. When we walked in to check in, however, the lady behind the desk was too busy reading something on her phone to be bothered to help us. When we stood there, another lady came and checked us in.
The room we stayed in was very good, it was big, the beds were confused and the bathrooms were large and well stocked.
The meal we had here was quite good. We sat in the bar and chatted to the man behind the bar while our dinner was being prepared. He was incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gretta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday afternoon as part of a birthday celebration, to try somewhere different, as we often visit local venues for Cream Teas or Afternoon Tea.
The setting is outstanding & being an old country house there are a series of reception rooms & the staff move around. Other people have commented on this but we didn't find it difficult to make ourselves known & we were warmly greeted.
We sat outside because the grounds are lovely & had great service from two different members of staff. Nothing was too much trouble & the teapot was refreshed without a quibble.
Having eaten plenty of these over the years, I can comfortably say this is our current favourite. Everything was fresh & they even made plain scones at our request as my wife doesn't eat fruit scones - other people have complained about the freshness but we had an excellent selection of sandwiches & cakes with fresh strawberries & raspberries.
Also worth noting that we struggled to finish it because there was so much & very reasonably priced.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sheriff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017

I was given a voucher for afternoon tea for 2 here for my birthday, which I was thrilled to use, but unfortunately my experience at Mellington Hall was awful. On entry we were ignored, even after ringing a bell at reception numerous times, and ended up having to go through multiple rooms to seek out a staff member. The staff were generally moody, impolite and poor mannered, making our experience quite tense and unpleasant. As well as this, the staff seemed wholly unprofessional as a whole, with no teaspoons even being produced for our cups of tea, one wearing a disgustingly stained uniform, and one looking more as though she was wearing pyjamas than anything else. At one point a staff member wandered through the room in which we were seated casually looking at something in depth on her personal mobile phone. The food was almost inedible, the cakes tasted as though they had been there for over a week, the sandwich selection was poor and similarly poorly crafted. Overall, we spent just under half an hour here as we were so disappointed in the experience, and felt an atmosphere of tension the entire time, we seemed to be an annoyance to the staff more than anything else to be honest. We will not be returning again, which is such a shame as it is such a beautiful hall with such beautiful grounds!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank welshgirl2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews