We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Guesthouse”
Review of The Manilla Church

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manilla
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Manilla Church
Ranked #1 of 1 Manilla B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2016

This place is absolutely gorgeous and so spacious. The photos do not to it justice. It was the perfect getaway for the night. We wish that we could have spent more time here. The layout is interesting and location is easy to get to from Toronto. We loved it and we enjoyed having the kitchen to make our own dinner. The host is so kind and helpful as well.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cyndy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (8)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2016

The Manilla Church is a B&B that is a wonderfully decorated and charm that is
distinctive for a truly great weekend holiday ! Close to many GTA, Uxbridge, Port Perry
and Lindsay as a tourist base for travelling ! A must weekend for anyone !

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We booked this house on AirBnB for a quiet girls weekend getaway and could NOT have been more pleased!

We went in the winter so there wasn't much in terms of outdoor activity, but that wasn't what we were looking for anyways (still popped out for a walk to get some fresh air, and to load up on snacks from the corner store).

The house is beautiful and the details are so interesting and the interior decor is cool and still accessible while showing off the owners personal tastes. There's even a swing on the main floro! Everything was clean and in excellent working order and there was ample space for all of us. The grounds are well kept and we actually discussed coming back in the summer to enjoy the backyard.

Our hosts were so welcoming and friendly and made sure that our fire never went out (we went through a lot of wood). We pretty much didn't leave the couch in front of the fireplace and it was so so comfortable while we read, chatted and snacked the weekend away.

The kitchen had plenty of space for the 4 of us to maneuver around plus storage for all our goodies. We each had our own rooms which met each of our needs and we loved that they were spaced out so we had our privacy.

Don't hesitate to book this charming escape for whatever you're looking for. Would be great for hosting extended family get togethers, or more girls-only getaways (we can't wait to book ours again!).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank K_86_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

If you like beautiful, surprising spaces in surprising places...check this out. The Manilla Church Guesthouse is a repurposed church... with doors that open onto a vast, beautifully crafted great room that holds elegant couches, original stained glass windows...and a swing hanging from rafters 20 feet up.

Sarah's delicious baking and Dan's collection of Rolling Stones artifacts are delightful additions to the experience. Rooms are comfortable, linens are crisp, the kitchen is well stocked and Netflix is on. Read your newspaper in the garden, take a walk around this tiny, pretty village, and be happy that there's no nearby Tim Hortons, MacDonald's or Pizza Hut to spoil the view. (But you can get a decent dinner in a nearby village 20 minutes away.)

Room Tip: The second floor bedrooms have doors that shut. The loft is bigger - but open to the great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelly845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our daugher booked this B & B for us and she could not have picked a nicer spot. What a peaceful place, delightful host and serene feeling. We were warmly welcomed by Jen and shown around this amazing converted historical building and taken to our lofty sitting room adjacent to 2 of the guest bedrooms. Everything was impeccably clean yet very cozy. The lovely pieces of art, the history of the building, the whimsical items around the pace and the passion of the owner in creating this community friendly space added to the welcoming atmosphere.
We will find excuses to come here again and tell our friends about this "secret get away" place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tacomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

great to have you here!thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Manilla Church? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manilla Church

Address: 8 Church St, Manilla, Ontario K0M 2JO, Canada (Formerly The Brick Church)
Region: Canada > Ontario > Manilla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Manilla
Price Range: ₹ 4,348 - ₹ 6,599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manilla Church is 5000 sq ft of luxurious modern Open concept space with a blend of original features from the 1800s. Once inside the triple brick stained glass gothic church, you're met by the open concept design with 30 ft ceilings supported by exposed hand carved Doulas Fir Beams. There are 3 large bedrooms with queen size beds and a Master Bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and separate walk in shower. The space accommodates up to 6 guests per night via 3 queen beds, and one single bed. During your stay at The Manilla Church we invite you to treat the space like home. You will have access to all amenities, and are welcome to relax in the backyard surrounded by beautiful English gardens. Your privacy is important to us but we will be available should you require anything, as we live in a separate basement apartment in the home. The Manilla Church is located 1-1.5 hours North East of Toronto in the Kawartha Lakes region of Ontario, with beautiful lakes, beaches, golf courses and so much more within easy access. We are 1.5km from the Trans-Canada Trail with other biking, hiking, and snow shoeing trails at your doorstep. Winter, Spring, Summer, or Fall there is something for everyone to enjoy. Car travel is recommended. There is driveway parking for up to 3 cars and safe side street parking for guests at no additional cost. We provide tea and coffee, and put out fresh fruit and muffins in the morning for all of our guests. We are also an event venue, perfect for photo shoots, weddings, baby showers, parties, live music, exhibitions which can comfortably accommodate 40-50 people. Talk to us about event planning and rental costs for the day, half day or long term rentals. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing