We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
9
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2016

The Manilla Church is a B&B that is a wonderfully decorated and charm that is
distinctive for a truly great weekend holiday ! Close to many GTA, Uxbridge, Port Perry
and Lindsay as a tourist base for travelling ! A must weekend for anyone !

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We booked this house on AirBnB for a quiet girls weekend getaway and could NOT have been more pleased!

We went in the winter so there wasn't much in terms of outdoor activity, but that wasn't what we were looking for anyways (still popped out for a walk to get some fresh air, and to load up on snacks from the corner store).

The house is beautiful and the details are so interesting and the interior decor is cool and still accessible while showing off the owners personal tastes. There's even a swing on the main floro! Everything was clean and in excellent working order and there was ample space for all of us. The grounds are well kept and we actually discussed coming back in the summer to enjoy the backyard.

Our hosts were so welcoming and friendly and made sure that our fire never went out (we went through a lot of wood). We pretty much didn't leave the couch in front of the fireplace and it was so so comfortable while we read, chatted and snacked the weekend away.

The kitchen had plenty of space for the 4 of us to maneuver around plus storage for all our goodies. We each had our own rooms which met each of our needs and we loved that they were spaced out so we had our privacy.

Don't hesitate to book this charming escape for whatever you're looking for. Would be great for hosting extended family get togethers, or more girls-only getaways (we can't wait to book ours again!).

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank K_86_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

If you like beautiful, surprising spaces in surprising places...check this out. The Manilla Church Guesthouse is a repurposed church... with doors that open onto a vast, beautifully crafted great room that holds elegant couches, original stained glass windows...and a swing hanging from rafters 20 feet up.

Sarah's delicious baking and Dan's collection of Rolling Stones artifacts are delightful additions to the experience. Rooms are comfortable, linens are crisp, the kitchen is well stocked and Netflix is on. Read your newspaper in the garden, take a walk around this tiny, pretty village, and be happy that there's no nearby Tim Hortons, MacDonald's or Pizza Hut to spoil the view. (But you can get a decent dinner in a nearby village 20 minutes away.)

Room Tip: The second floor bedrooms have doors that shut. The loft is bigger - but open to the great room.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nelly845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Our daugher booked this B & B for us and she could not have picked a nicer spot. What a peaceful place, delightful host and serene feeling. We were warmly welcomed by Jen and shown around this amazing converted historical building and taken to our lofty sitting room adjacent to 2 of the guest bedrooms. Everything was impeccably clean yet very cozy. The lovely pieces of art, the history of the building, the whimsical items around the pace and the passion of the owner in creating this community friendly space added to the welcoming atmosphere.
We will find excuses to come here again and tell our friends about this "secret get away" place!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Tacomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

great to have you here!thanks for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

My girlfriend and I decided to catch a concert in Lindsay, and thought it would be nice to make a mini-vacation of the weekend. I'm really glad we decided to stay at The Brick Church - everything about the place is spectacular. I knew right away that Jen would be a great host when she offered to pick up our concert tickets for us in person, so that we could save on the Ticketmaster service charges.

As soon as we arrived in Manilla (following a quick drive from downtown Toronto) we were charmed by the church, which has been beautifully converted to a warm, welcoming and comfortable space. It's super clean and cozy, while retaining many of the elements of the 1869-built church, such as the huge wood beams and even the church bell.

Shortly after we arrived, with just a couple hours before the concert, Jen made us an excellent dinner featuring an amazing homemade chutney and carrots from her mom's own garden! We felt completely at home by the wood stove, and our room was very clean and comfortable, just like the rest of the church. Breakfast in the morning was delicious, too; I actually tried to replicate the recipe the next day for some friends.

Jen is an excellent, friendly and entertaining host, but is definitely careful to give her guests their space (which isn't the case at some B&Bs). Her living space is in the basement of the church, so we never felt like we were intruding on her home, and we were very comfortable.

We would definitely recommend the Brick Church to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway without going too far from the big city. In fact, we already have.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ASat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews