We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Pont-Rhyd-y-Groes, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

alison854
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Although set in beautiful countryside the rental has no views at all and is overlooked by the rental opposite. WiFi is not available in the rental itself, but in the shared common room. No phone coverage either. The rental itself appears neglected and unloved. Many things (dishwasher, light fittings etc.) were broken. The place was poorly equipped and dirty. It was all very disappointing. The good things were quite comfortable furniture. And mid-Wales is very lovely.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: No views. No wifi. Poor cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Booked last minute, Margaret was very helpful over the phone and gave us good directions. We stayed in the Carthouse....what a fantastic building. The 4 holiday cottages are on a working farm, we were given a tour and introduced to the cows in the cowshed including day old calf. The location is fab for walking but is remote however very well equipped accommodation with everything you could need meant staying in and cooking whilst enjoying the fresh air and country sounds and stunning scenery. We will definitely be going back, can't fault anything, absolutely loved it. Oh and for anyone who likes bird watching, there are loads of Red Kites circling over and near the accommodation, we spent several hours just watching....fantastic!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and facilities and comfort, basically everything
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
7 May 2016
Thank you for your kind comments they are much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Pengwernydd.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jpmonks
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We booked a last minute break at Pengwernydd, from start to finish the owners, the Hopkins family could not have been more helpful.
We talked on the phone prior to leaving and even though we were likely to be late, this was not a problem.
On arrival we were met with a smile and handshake from Margaret who furnished us with the tea bags we'd forgotten and showed us the property.
A lovely barn conversion, with excellent fixtures and fittings. Great to wake up to sounds of the countryside with the sun beaming through the windows.
All in all a wonderful place to stay in such a lovely part of the world. We will return I have no doubt.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Blunt bread knife :-)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheReview...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect, relaxing and tranquil.”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a really enjoyable stay, lovely hosts, amazing cottage, great scenery 100 meter high waterfalls within 5 miles, steam trains & huge reservoirs/lakes within 15 miles, rivers and streams everywhere, the sea and beaches 15 miles away.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamesbatt...
east sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxury, rural hideaway”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We had a short break at the Carthouse. It was everything and more that we imagined. Beautiful location for this first class holiday accommodation. We really appreciated the fresh eggs on arrival. Margaret made us feel very welcome and provided all the home comforts to come back to after a walk in the beautiful countryside. The highlight was relaxing in the living room looking out of the huge glass window to see the sheep and lambs on the hillside with Red Kites and Buzzards circling in the air currents overhead. We shall definitely visit again but this time for a longer stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.