We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot and claustrophobic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lingfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hot and claustrophobic”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

The hotel and room looked very impressive on arrival. The room was clean and had 2 large double beds with lots of pillows. However, the a la carte menu for the evening was burger and chips, fish and chips or chicken with a vegetarian option. A member of our team arrived late and it seemed a real problem to provide a meal, with lots of staff telling us there would be a long wait. The bar tender couldn't crack a smile either (as I am tea total this was not because of raucous behaviour). The room was unbearably hot, and the window was locked, so either the air conditioning had to be on all night, but was very noisy, or it was too hot to sleep. Several colleagues mentioned not sleeping for the same reasons. Terrible night's sleep. Stuffy and hot. What a waste of energy and money.......just allow customers to open the windows.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lincs-Lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    412
    153
    56
    37
See reviews for
257
395
17
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This was our second time at this hotel,what can i say absolutely brilliant time was had.We arrived early for the races,check in was no problem as usual,check in staff fantastic,went up to room overlooking racecourse,how good is that for a racing fan.Room really nice and modern,bed of a very good standard.
The bar is a bit over priced but then again every hotel bar is pricey,the bar staff we have met have been excellent and a credit to the hotel,we shall meet again very soon,overall a great hotel with great staff.Oh and not to forget there is a great curry house just a few minutes down the road,enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallygator43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bexleyheath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel was great for an overnight stay following a day at the races. It's clean, and the service was excellent from start to finish. We used the restaurant which was a bit pricey, but the food was good.....think I would have enjoyed it even without backing a couple of winners!

Room Tip: Golf course or race track views are better than the car park side, and you get a little balcony on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leytonorient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed here recently after a day at the races. The hotel is on ,the same site, modern, clean and with a pleasant aspect. We didn't have dinner but we did have breakfast, which had a good choice and was well presented. In nice weather you can sit outside. Used room service and it was prompt and affordable. The health club is OK but in common with modern hotels, is constructed without windows so has a gloomy feeling about it. Pool is fine and sauna/steam room fine. There is a jogging trail around the surrounding area. There is a good choice of local restaurants in Lingfield (particularly the curry houses). The race course view rooms are great with fab views. We originally booked a room for 4, but were advised that this would be a tight fit, so I booked another room for teenage children. When we checked in, the racecourse view room would have been fine for 4 so could have saved £140!
A modern hotel, with all that entails. Staff try hard.

Room Tip: A room for 4 is possible assuming you are all family
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurgessWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Recently visited for a 2 night break with the family including 2 young children. Parking is easy and is away from all the race day traffic. Check in was smooth, receptionist Donna was particularly helpful and all the staff in fact were very friendly. The hotel is very modern and clean as its quite new, so everything is in tip top order. We upgraded to a 3rd floor room with balcony with a racecourse view, this was great as racing was on one day, so we watched it all from there. The room was lovely with some nice touches. TV had several channels, Sky Sports, At The Races! etc. Breakfast was fantastic, so much on offer and real quality, it was a treat. It was also open from 6.30am upto 11am which was nice. The pool was nice and warm and the jaccuzi, sauna and steam rooms were great. The bar was slightly expensive, but no more than expected. The grounds are well kept and you're free to roam around on non race days, around the course, enclosures, parade ring etc. We loved our stay and thoroughly enjoyed it, we would reccomend the hotel, even more so if you are into horse racing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PWFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lingfield
4.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
Crowne Plaza Felbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in East Grinstead
1,289 reviews
8.3 km away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
12.1 km away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Copthorne Hotel Effingham Gatwick
8.6 km away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
10.2 km away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club

Property: Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Address: Racecourse Road, Lingfield RH7 6PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Lingfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lingfield
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,865 - ₹ 15,135
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an elegant countryside escape at the Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club. Located in Surrey, near the borders of West Sussex & Kent, our hotel offers a seamless blend of luxury and comfort. Overlooking the Lingfield Park Racecourse, we offer world-class facilities including an 18-hole golf course, on-site spa and the Cyprium Bar and Grill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing