We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
8
3
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
3
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sierra nevada moto taxi the owner santa marta mirador antonio sunrise viewpoint location lodge hammocks
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

The best location and hospitality we received in Colombia. The boss says this place just hit the spot for her, she was really cranky from the night before and this place sent her into Nirvana...which allowed the rest of us to sleep with our eyes closed finally. The Mirador spot is the best view of the Sierra Nevada looking out into the ocean over Minca and Santa, without even considering the serene and alligator-free pool you walk past to get there. The location is 5km on a road designed to break your back and you can take a moto taxi if you don't like yourself, but I highly recommend calling the hotel and asking for a car to be arranged as it is cheaper and safer. Antonio, the owner is a great host and ensured our stay was amazing. Cannot beat the serenity at this place, so do yourself a favor and extend your stay. Wake up early enough to meet all the different spiders and catch the sunrise, grab the local car by it's neck and pet it while enjoying the sunset and getting a paw massage

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

The views from here are incredible. They have constructed an awesome viewpoint with hammocks and a fire pit - very relaxing. The lodgings are simple but very clean. The staff were kind and helpful. Hot water was a serious bonus. Great proximity to la Victoria (coffee farm, where you can also buy locally brewed beer) and hikes to Los Pinos (2 hours each way) and Pozo Azul (1.5 hours each way). Home cooked meals were great portions sizes and yummy. The pool is small but very pretty and relaxing after a hike.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mjmckenna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our stay was..too short! My friend and I loved the location, the accomodation, the friendly team and owner (thank you so much for their warm welcome and for taking care of us), the mirador, its view and hammocks, the eco lodge, the lifestyle and philosophy.

At Colores de la Sierra you will find simplicity and respect yes; this why I loved the place and also, the vibrations of the land, of Nature all around. Stunning sunset and sunrise with a view on Santa Marta port and the Sierra Nevada around! Unique breakfast while watching and hearing so many birds.

We spent one full day there. We left center of Santa Marta with a private car service in the direction of Minca. We stopped in Minca at the center of the little town. Then we took two moto taxi to reach the eco lodge with our bagpacks after maybe a 20 minutes ride, discovering the location, in respect and coordination with Nature.
And then in the afternoon we made a 3-4h ride with our moto taxi guys who waited for us to get the room. They brought us to unique places, isolated fountain, stunning view points with a stop at Casa Elemento, natural swimming pool, etc.

Then we came back to Colores de la Sierra. It was not too late. The right time to enjoy a few hours chilling behind the restaurant, in the hammocks or to go to the mirador and see the sunset. Time was suspended at that moment. The girls took care of us and cooked us delicious pizzas.

We slept in one of the rooms that have some walls of wood, in the lovely wood house just after the reception, going to the mirador. I have to admit my friend was a little bit afraid, because we dont especially like little friends from the jungle :) But...the room was perfect, and we did not see any little beast. It was definitely the best night ever in Colombia! And we felt secure when sleeping with the mosquito net, even if we did not see any mosquito at the end of February in the room.

The day after was time to leave. We enjoyed the sunrise all alone in the hammocks, the breakfast time and tranquility for a last couple of hours and el Signore, the owner of the lodge kindly offered to drive us to Santa Marta so we could take a bus (Marsol company) to Cartagena. He took care of us and we are really grateful. It was also really interesting to discuss together and to understand how the project was born, why, etc.

Thank you and all the best to Colores de la Sierra team, Muchas gracias a todos, gracias al Signore. Lù y Christal

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LugdivineU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

I recommend it 100%, we stay in private rooms and are very clean, cozy for a good rest after hiking in the mountains. The hotel also has very pleasant spaces such as the viewpoint where you can enjoy a beautiful view of the city of Santa Marta.
Mr Antonio, thank you for everything.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Issmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

We’ve spent 2 nights in this lodge and we’ve found the location amazing! The sunset at the top is beautiful and the silence to sleep very appreciated.
2 small remarks (but we’re sure will be improved as we came at the very first days): breakfast was quite basic (juices, more fruits and/or marmelade could be added) and wifi is very limited (only WhatsApp, no web page and signal very weak).
Finally, the personal is very friendly so you won’t be disappointed!

Date of stay: December 2017
3  Thank arnaudd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews