We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would rate this 3,5 - lovely spa, service leaves plenty of room for improvement”
Review of Kurhotel Skodsborg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kurhotel Skodsborg
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodsborg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned to Copenhagen after a 1 night TREAT stay at Skodsborg. It was my first time here - as a birthday gift my sister and I invited our mother for a spa and dinner treat.

We arrived around 2 pm. Was completely ignored by staff behind counter - well, they were on the phone, but a nod and a smile would have been appreciated.

When we were finally welcomed over, there was just a quick check-in (bonus: our room was ready even though we came before check-in time), but NO presentation of hotel what so ever, just a very brief run-over of the timetable of things included in our stay (tea, dinner, spa, breakfast).

We went to our rooms - small but lovely rooms on 1st floor, with a partial sea view. Big bathrooms compared to rest of the room, but hey, it is a spa hotel, and there were lovely Karmameju (Danish brand) products as well as towels, robes and slippers.

We just left our luggage and went to the lobby to have our "Tea With George". Was at first completely ignored by staff. After waiting a while went to counter to let them know that we were there... and then finally our tea arrived. Tea, salmon and cakes were all delicious and lovely. Would have been nice to have a pot of tea, though, instead of 1 (!) cup with a teabag each, but that's a minor detail. Had to walk to counter again, since no small plates (for the salmon) or napkins were brought to our table. But the biggest issue was the music - loud hits from the 80es and 90es. It is supposed to be a relaxing, luxurious event, but with "Kiss" and "Groove is In The Heart" blaring from the speakers, it felt as if the staff did not want us to linger long.

Later, we went to the spa. Oh, now we are talking! It is a lovely place to spend a few hours, mulling around the pool, steam baths, rasul, hot tub, cold baths, infrared treatment chairs etc.

At 7:15pm we had a reservation for dinner at the Brasserie. we were seated at a lovely table overlooking the ocean. Service at dinner was perfect and charming. We had a pre-booked three course dinner - mackarel and cucumber to start, duck as main and a rhubarb dessert paired with a french SauvBlanc, a Barbera and a sweet sparkling red. Every dish was very good and the ambience lovely.

After a good night's sleep we went to the spa before breakfast. It opens at 6am, but at 7.30 am not all of the facilities were open (we went for the rasul which was not lit at that time), but nevertheless had a great time.

At 8:30 we were ready for breakfast at the Brasserie. When we came up, we were ignored by all staff members. When being 3 people, there were only very few table options. Noone asked if we needed any help or welcomed us. After waiting around 5 minutes we noticed people leaving a round table with room for 3. A waiter began clearing the table, and I went to ask him if we could have it. "Yes, when I am finished", was his answer. He then took a very, very long time clearing the table for us - leaving and coming back again carrying a small tray on which he slowly filled cups and plates. Finally, he arrived with clean cups and silverware and nodded that we could sit down. Only two cups had saucers, so we went scavenging on neighboring tables. Breakfast options were delicious and lovely and the room sun filled with a view to the sea. Note that if you order a cappuccino instead of the filter coffee provided you'll have to pay extra. It says so on a piece of paper laid on the tables. Well, not our table, but saw that on one of the other tables. Noone informed us about anything or even said a "Good morning". But - food was lovely, crispy croissants and chia puddings. some of the things provided took a long time to be filled up - there was no jam left in the jar when we needed it, it took 20 minutes before it was back.

All in all, we had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to book again. But - please get your act together regarding the service. A smile, a "good afternoon", a recognition does not hurt anyone and certainly does not cost anything. I don't know why it is so hard to get this in Denmark - to be fair, good service is a rare thing in this country. But at a place that prides itself of being a luxurious destination, it should just be a natural part of the whole experience. You don't have to look elsewhere than your own dinner staff, they know how to do it.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank katrineCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Katrine,
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your dinner in The Brasserie, the spa facilities and your rooms. However, we are sad to hear that you experienced an alarming lack of service and general friendliness (something for which we like to pride ourselves... ). Your review has been distributed to the relevant managers and will be used in the future development of services and training of staff.
We would be delighted to welcome you and your family back at Kurhotel Skodsborg.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Some other international travellers have criticised the lethargic service, the small rooms, the totally impractical light switches and the high extra charges for everything from the use of the Spa to the cappuccino for breakfast. These aspects do need to be taken into consideration when booking this property.

Our experience started with a „warm welcome“ from the young lady at the reception desk with just a single word: „yes?“ We informed her that we have a reservation and got a key for the room. No welcome, no information about the hotel or where to find our room, no help with the luggage (although a young man with a “sailors hat” was lingering in der Lobby) and no information with respect to the other facilities in this Luxury Spa Hotel. We also found out that the Spa is not actually included in the price of the rooms but costs ca. €40/person per day extra!

The reserved „Deluxe room“ looked agreeable at first glance, good size and newish décor and furnishings, but then we discovered that it was impossible not to look directly into the bathroom whilst in the room. The bathroom, including toilet, was separated from the main room by a mere glass wall with glass door – albeit with an opaque decor, but enough plane glass to get a “good view” of the daily toilet routines from your partner. The door was not even sufficient to block the slightest noise.

We asked for an alternative room and fortunately were provided very professional and friendly help and were shown various possibilities. There was a “Spa-Suite”: a room similar to the Deluxe room but with a larger bathroom including roll-top bath at a “special price” of ca. €450 per night and a Superior room which was quite a bit smaller but did have a “proper” door to the somewhat snugger bathroom. We decided for this one since we didn’t need a bathtub and weren’t prepared to pay the steep extra costs.

The breakfast provided a good selection of natural and fresh products. However, little variation if you stay for a week but this is the case in many other hotels, too.
We enjoyed dinner in the Brassiere on top floor. Both menu and service were good.
The unexpected “highlight” of our stay was to get the last table at the Kroun’s Restaurant on Saturday before they closed for their holidays. A delicious 8-course dinner with pairing wines in an elegant but relaxed atmosphere.

Massage at the spa was good and professional and gave access to the spa on the day of the booking. We would have used the pool and sauna daily but thought it was not worth the extra € 80 for an hours relaxation.

As a resume, the Hotel was a disappointment. We ended-up in a small room and didn’t get the benefit from the “wellness hotel” due to the extra charges. The quality of service was dependent on the member of staff; very slow in the Lounge or sometimes very uncommunicative at the Reception. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable and we had a quiet night sleep.

Considering the price/value and service level, we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank milo-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear milo-tb,
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg.
We are sorry to learn that you found your stay with us disappointing.
We will forward your comments concerning the various departments and the responsible managers will take them into consideration in the further development of our products and services.
We wish you all the best!
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is a luxurious spa with hotel attached to it. The spa is decent with two baths, a small jacuzzi and sauna's. Down side to it all is that they allow kids in it as well. There hotel is nice but overpriced for what you get. Breakfast was OK, good variety. If you don't mind paying the price for it its a comfortable hotel!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank maximAXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear maximAXT,
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg. We are happy to learn that you found our hotel nice and enjoyed the spa as well as the breakfast.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

After a visit that my wife and I made in the center and west of Zeland Island in Denmark, we arrived for 2 nights of rest and fun for this hotel
The hotel is beautifully renovated, the garden in front, including the spice bed, impressive,
 The free parking area is very comfortable and there is a private beach opposite the hotel.
The rooms are comfortable and large, and the bathroom is large and well appointed

The hotel's spa includes all the pools, gyms, various classes, saunas, Jacuzzi, and all the other options are of a very high standard, and the service is excellent
The only criticism is the brasserie, where the menu is fixed and if you are more than one night, there is no good choice, the portions are very small, and the waiting time is very, very long,
Breakfast, on the other hand, is certainly good,
The Rooftop is very beautiful with great views

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Rony,
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg. We are happy to learn that you found our hotel beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the spa of a high standard and with excellent.
We will forward your comments concerning The Brasserie to the manager and he will take them into consideration in the further development of our products and services.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Great location next to the beach and a 5-minute walk to the train station which brings you direct to the centre of Copenhagen in 20 Minutes. Nice white building with certain charm. All well kept. They hire bicycles and there is a great nature reserve next to the hotel with many deers. Breakfast is very good and healthy but it was for the 4 days exactly the same. Very friendly at the reception. A very good option if you want to combine a visit of the city and some relax greenery. Not too pricey for what it is worth.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zitavskeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Zitavskeho,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as trips to Copenhagen and "Dyrehaven".
We will pass your comment about the breakfast on to our Head Chef.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skodsborg
Comwell Borupgaard
#1 of 2 in Snekkersten
316 reviews
Indre By (Inner City)
Hotel Kong Arthur
Hotel Kong Arthur
#13 of 118 in Copenhagen
1,867 reviews
Rungstedgaard
#1 of 1 in Rungsted
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beach Hotel Marienlyst
#1 of 4 in Helsingoer
451 reviews
Skovshoved Hotel
#1 of 2 in Charlottenlund
138 reviews
Amager
AC Hotel by Marriott Bella Sky Copenhagen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurhotel Skodsborg? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurhotel Skodsborg

Address: Skodsborg Strandvej 139, Skodsborg 2942, Denmark (Formerly Skodsborg Kurhotel & Spa)
Region: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen Region > Rudersdal Municipality > Skodsborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Skodsborg
Price Range: ₹ 10,943 - ₹ 18,897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurhotel Skodsborg 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to Kurhotel Skodsborg - an international spa hotel based on simple Nordic traditions where nature, history and beauty join forces with knowledge, passion and innovation. We aim to fulfil your wishes and provide an ideal environment, in which you can relax, recharge and return home with renewed energy. We invite you to enjoy our luxurious facilities, experience our royal history and make the most of our 115 years of experience with a healthy lifestyle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Kurhotel Skodsborg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Skodsborg Kurcenter

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing