We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveller rating
156
126
62
25
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
126
62
25
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourse dinnersmall roomtrain stationbusiness triptwo daysbeautiful locationmodern hotelhotel restaurantup to datescrambled eggsrelaxed atmospherefeel welcomecentral copenhagenspa areatop floorhigh qualitysea view
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 384 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Some other international travellers have criticised the lethargic service, the small rooms, the totally impractical light switches and the high extra charges for everything from the use of the Spa to the cappuccino for breakfast. These aspects do need to be taken into consideration when booking this property.

Our experience started with a „warm welcome“ from the young lady at the reception desk with just a single word: „yes?“ We informed her that we have a reservation and got a key for the room. No welcome, no information about the hotel or where to find our room, no help with the luggage (although a young man with a “sailors hat” was lingering in der Lobby) and no information with respect to the other facilities in this Luxury Spa Hotel. We also found out that the Spa is not actually included in the price of the rooms but costs ca. €40/person per day extra!

The reserved „Deluxe room“ looked agreeable at first glance, good size and newish décor and furnishings, but then we discovered that it was impossible not to look directly into the bathroom whilst in the room. The bathroom, including toilet, was separated from the main room by a mere glass wall with glass door – albeit with an opaque decor, but enough plane glass to get a “good view” of the daily toilet routines from your partner. The door was not even sufficient to block the slightest noise.

We asked for an alternative room and fortunately were provided very professional and friendly help and were shown various possibilities. There was a “Spa-Suite”: a room similar to the Deluxe room but with a larger bathroom including roll-top bath at a “special price” of ca. €450 per night and a Superior room which was quite a bit smaller but did have a “proper” door to the somewhat snugger bathroom. We decided for this one since we didn’t need a bathtub and weren’t prepared to pay the steep extra costs.

The breakfast provided a good selection of natural and fresh products. However, little variation if you stay for a week but this is the case in many other hotels, too.
We enjoyed dinner in the Brassiere on top floor. Both menu and service were good.
The unexpected “highlight” of our stay was to get the last table at the Kroun’s Restaurant on Saturday before they closed for their holidays. A delicious 8-course dinner with pairing wines in an elegant but relaxed atmosphere.

Massage at the spa was good and professional and gave access to the spa on the day of the booking. We would have used the pool and sauna daily but thought it was not worth the extra € 80 for an hours relaxation.

As a resume, the Hotel was a disappointment. We ended-up in a small room and didn’t get the benefit from the “wellness hotel” due to the extra charges. The quality of service was dependent on the member of staff; very slow in the Lounge or sometimes very uncommunicative at the Reception. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable and we had a quiet night sleep.

Considering the price/value and service level, we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank milo-tb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear milo-tb,
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg.
We are sorry to learn that you found your stay with us disappointing.
We will forward your comments concerning the various departments and the responsible managers will take them into consideration in the further development of our products and services.
We wish you all the best!
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

This is a luxurious spa with hotel attached to it. The spa is decent with two baths, a small jacuzzi and sauna's. Down side to it all is that they allow kids in it as well. There hotel is nice but overpriced for what you get. Breakfast was OK, good variety. If you don't mind paying the price for it its a comfortable hotel!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank maximAXT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear maximAXT,
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg. We are happy to learn that you found our hotel nice and enjoyed the spa as well as the breakfast.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

After a visit that my wife and I made in the center and west of Zeland Island in Denmark, we arrived for 2 nights of rest and fun for this hotel
The hotel is beautifully renovated, the garden in front, including the spice bed, impressive,
 The free parking area is very comfortable and there is a private beach opposite the hotel.
The rooms are comfortable and large, and the bathroom is large and well appointed

The hotel's spa includes all the pools, gyms, various classes, saunas, Jacuzzi, and all the other options are of a very high standard, and the service is excellent
The only criticism is the brasserie, where the menu is fixed and if you are more than one night, there is no good choice, the portions are very small, and the waiting time is very, very long,
Breakfast, on the other hand, is certainly good,
The Rooftop is very beautiful with great views

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear Rony,
Thank you for taking the time to review your spa stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg. We are happy to learn that you found our hotel beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the spa of a high standard and with excellent.
We will forward your comments concerning The Brasserie to the manager and he will take them into consideration in the further development of our products and services.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

Great location next to the beach and a 5-minute walk to the train station which brings you direct to the centre of Copenhagen in 20 Minutes. Nice white building with certain charm. All well kept. They hire bicycles and there is a great nature reserve next to the hotel with many deers. Breakfast is very good and healthy but it was for the 4 days exactly the same. Very friendly at the reception. A very good option if you want to combine a visit of the city and some relax greenery. Not too pricey for what it is worth.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank zitavskeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, PR-chef at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Dear Zitavskeho,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as trips to Copenhagen and "Dyrehaven".
We will pass your comment about the breakfast on to our Head Chef.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

We spent 2 days at the Skodsborg and were sad that we couldn't stay longer. The hotel is a big place with modern infrastructure but an old, white mansion type feeling. It has a large spa and recreational area and large conference room facilities. The restaurant on site is excellent. The bar/library area behind the reception is cozy and inviting. A real haven for old style recreational vacation in a modern surrounding.

Room Tip: Any room with a garden view is fine. Make sure it is not too far from the reception area.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Advents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walther G, Public Relations Manager at Kurhotel Skodsborg, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Dear Advents,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Kurhotel Skodsborg.
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be delighted to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Walther G

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews