We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
243
45
17
16
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
243
45
17
16
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjacuzzi baththe pubthe private dining roomflask of fresh milkunderfloor heatingfish and chipsblack sheeplovely villagestayed one nightsunday lunchyorkshire breakfastlovely roomexcellent staycooked to perfectionyogurtwalnut roomprovenance
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

After cycling in the rain & sleet for hours we were soaked to the skin & in need of a place to dry off.
We reached the village of Helperby on Easter Monday & found the Oak Tree Inn.
We walked in dripping wet to find a warm welcome & two roaring open fires. The latte's we ordered were spot on & they served some chocolates on the side. Lovely touch!
We waited a while & perused the menu, then realised the Inn had rooms at a very reasonable price (full breakfast included) & with the rain continuing to persist. We was over joyed when we enquired about stopping over & was told we were in luck, the Willow room (ensuite) was available.
The room was decorated & furnished to a high spec with the added additional touches of biscuits & bathroom toiletries.
The bed was the most comfortable bed we have slept in. We had the most mega sleep ever.
The ensuite was compact but had everything you could want & the underfloor heating was an added bonus.
Once we had thawed out & warmed up we went down for our evening meal. The Inns menu was reasonable priced with a large range of meals to choose from including catering for all appetites & dietary requirements. We chose the gourmet cheese burger. Served on brioche buns with homemade relish they were morish & yummy.
The following morning we was welcomed again by the helpful & attentive staff. The breakfast buffet was lovingly displayed & your full breakfast order was taken on request. Due to a full days cycling we plumped for a continental. Fantastic that this was all inclusive of the room rate.
Apparently the Oak Tree Inn is part of a chain called Provenance Inns, we will defo be visiting this or one of their alternatively hotels in the future.
Thoroughly enjoyed stay!!!!!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

Thought we were going out to get fish and chips and ended up being taken to this very welcoming hostelry.
Welcoming staff and excellent food.
Both had steak which was cooked perfectly. Desserts were lovely too.
The only thing I thought that let it down was the wine was over priced. £10.50 for a 250ml of Malbec is excessive. Apart from that it was very nice.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank JanMZ714YV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Stayed one night. Easy to find, main high street of Helperby. Parking good,quick
Check inn. Bedroom a good size, very clean with good bathroom. Beds very comfortable. Restaurant excellent, service very good. Could find no fault. Staff really
Give you a welcome, nice and friendly. A good brew behind the bar. Will return

Room Tip: Book early
Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Hotel in a beautiful old building with a good array of accolades.
Impressed with the attitude of the staff and the willingness to help:
- a towel with marks? genuine apologies and rapidly replaced
- the wine we ordered not available? a (slightly) more expensive original option chosen but offered at the lower price of the unavailable one
Nice touches which instill confidence in the professionalism and attitude of the staff.

Good menu, but particularly good steak - 28 day aged fillet was a triumph.
And my own particular marker of quality cooking? Very good crème brulée with a really crispy top.

Comfortable, spacious bedroom, good coffee/tea facilities and a well appointed en suite.

Breakfast offered a range of buffet options - fruit, yoghurt, cereal - along with a tasty variety of cooked options, all offered in the attractive bar/lounge area adjacent to the open fire.
Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judgmental
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018 via mobile

We've driven past here many times but always on our way back from elsewhere, this time we called in for lunch on our way to the Dales, as it turned out a good decision. Friendly staff, efficient service and good food, what more can you want? There was a nice atmosphere about the pub, busy but not packed, certainly on our list of desirable lunch spots.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lightning92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews