We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good cottages/bad services”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chowara
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Their USP is the beautiful property, amid of green surroundings next to a not so crowded beach, though quite old one.
But services are real slow, due to lack of staff or may be some other reasons. We had to call 4-5 times and wait for almost 1- 1.5 hrs. when we faced some issue in our locker. again for check out the staff took almost 40-50 mins, as you can't carry you luggage due to lot of stairs from the cottages to the pick-up/drop areas. Moreover the buffet(B/F) food they serve is not at all edible, they serve food as per their ayurveda treatment centre even to their regular guest coming for leisure travel...

Room Tip: beach facing cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PARAMSIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear Paramsim,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Thanks for your mail and feedback.

We are very happy to note you are happy with our room, beach, swimming pool and location. Yes, we are exclusive Ayurveda resort and all services and facilities are designed for this purpose. We are promoting and propagating the Ayurveda life style, so we are non alcoholic and restricted smoking. We do not entertain children, the resort services are not based on leisure guests, this is very clearly mentioned in our web. We are very sorry if any inconvenience caused due to our service policy based on Ayurveda. Looking forward to see you for an Ayurveda holiday with us.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 14 December 2016

The moment I stepped in , I was totally awed by their property.location is perfect- it is very close to a quiet beach. Fortunately, this beach is not frequented by tourists and one can truly enjoy the clean water.
Location wise it is 10/10.
Facilities: 10/10 clean, good swimming pool. Yoga sessions. During our stay we saw dance programmes and Veena/Sitar show arranged at their properties. I think they had all that is promised for a good Ayurvedic retreat !

Food : 7/10. Having travelled extensively in southern India, I didn't feel it had the authentic Kerala taste but I think it could be because of the Ayurveda value that they brought in. Nonetheless, the buffet spread was good enough.

Overall, a wonderful property, worth the money, and would highly recommend it to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DishaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Horrible experience at the hotel. In terms of the spa, when we arrived we selected the package that gave you 2 hours of spa service per day for three days. The spa service was not relaxing AT ALL because the two therapists talked the WHOLE two hours of my treatment. I ended up only completing two days of treatment because it was so disappointing and not relaxing as it should be.

The service was quite bad as well - when we asked for white towels, a hair dryer, and bottled water, someone showed up with towels and that was it. We had to call again to ask for the remaining two items, and then the hair dryer came... then we had to ask again for water, which eventually came. Also, the place is quite run down and since you are in a more remote location, you can expect large bugs to show up in your shower like they did for me. In the morning I opened the shower curtain to find dead cockroach looking bugs in the shower.

Will never stay here again (we left early) and I would not recommend this hotel either.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 900aileenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

This is the 02nd time you are posting same feedback.

Please verify your posting, is in the same resort that you had stayed??. As we do not have any records of stay as per the information you had provided. Also we never had any incidents reported as you had mentioned in your feedback. We have 24 hours security and CCTV camera surveillance in the resort. Even we have security and life guards in our beach. We provide 4 bath towels in every room (02 brown colored one to use after treatment and 02 white colored) in addition 4 hand towels ( 02 brown colored and 02 white) 04 face towels ( 02 brown colored and 02 white). We provide 02 bottled mineral water in every room/per day and to reduce the use of plastics we had provided 02 glass bottle to refill mineral water from big bottles. We have great pleasure to inform you that we won the prestigious National Tourism Award for Best Wellness Resort in India repeatedly and Kerala state Tourism Award contentiously for Ayurveda and IT. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend for a health vacations. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you at our Resorts.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My daughter and I were so excited to experience an Ayurvedic resort. The surroundings are definitely picturesque and the little cottages are pretty. That's where it ends. The first night we were woken 12:30 a.m. to someone trying to break into our cottage. We turned on the light and they went away. We spend the entire night sleepless with the light on. Staff tried to tell us it was the wind or animals. We requested bottled water, hair dryer and towels. It took them 3 tries to provide them. We decided to leave 1 day early as our experience wasn't good, but they wouldn't even credit us for the last night we missed. We are from Canada, and we would not recommend this resort to anyone.

Room Tip: Wifi is spotty and frustrating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Somatheeram Ayurveda Group!

Please verify your posting is in the same resort that you had stayed??. As we do not have any records of stay as per the information you had provided. Also we never had any incidents reported as you had mentioned in your feedback. We have 24 hours security and CCTV camera surveillance in the resort. Even we have security and life guards in our beach. We provide 4 bath towels in every room (02 brown colored one to use after treatment and 02 white colored) in addition 4 hand towels ( 02 brown colored and 02 white) 04 face towels ( 02 brown colored and 02 white). We provide 02 bottled mineral water in every room/per day and to reduce the use of plastics we had provided 02 glass bottle to refill mineral water from big bottles. We have great pleasure to inform you that we won the prestigious National Tourism Award for Best Wellness Resort in India repeatedly and Kerala state Tourism Award contentiously for Ayurveda and IT. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend for a health vacations. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you at our Resorts.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016

I stayed at Somatheeram and enjoyed my stay. Rooms are very clean and the property is very well maintenant. The staff is friendly but not every one speaks English which is a pity. The restaurant is very basic, I prefer to go and eat at Manaltheeram, the other resort at the beach. Internetconnection is very poor.
Treatments are good but to many people, so they rush and don't take time to give it properly. A lot of people get the same treatments which is a bit unusual.
Yoga is very good. Nice place to go but Manaltheeram is much better.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubhashCBose, CGM at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your stay and feedback.

We are very happy to learn that you had a enjoyed your stay at Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort. Thanks for your appreciation on our room, cleanliness, beach, Yoga and swimming pool. All our service line persons are able to speak English, we are providing language training also, surely we will take more care on it. Somatheeram and Manaltheeram menu is same without any change, even the cooks also interchanged to keep same standard and service in both side same, surly our extra attention will be in place. Ayurveda we have 30 treatment room, 80 therapist and 15 doctors. only very rear places in Kerala have this much big facility. Ayurveda treatments are combination treatments, even if it is same from outside view, it has many difference such as oils used, type of application, duration of treatment, combination etc. So every individual is getting personalized treatment for their cure. We assure you our best care and attention. We have great pleasure to inform you that we won the prestigious National Tourism Award for Best Wellness Resort in India repeatedly and Kerala state Tourism Award contentiously for Ayurveda and IT. Please be assured that the resorts will also be of exceptional service to friends and relatives that you recommend for a health vacations. Team Soma Group is looking forward to sever you at our Resorts.

Warm regards

Subhash C Bose
CGM
Somatheeram Ayurveda Group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chowara
5.7 km away
Turtle On The Beach
Turtle On The Beach
#5 of 52 in Kovalam
1,018 reviews
0.2 km away
The Travancore Heritage Beach Resort
7.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Green Cove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Soma Palmshore Beach Resort
0.3 km away
Manaltheeram Ayurveda Beach Village
0.3 km away
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
Ideal Ayurvedic Resort
#1 of 2 in Chowara
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort

Address: Kovalam, South of Kovalam, | South of Kovalam beach, Chowara 695501, India
Region: India > Kerala > Ernakulam District > Chowara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chowara
Price Range: ₹ 6,214 - ₹ 8,285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somatheeram is the world of authentic Ayurveda. A serene Aryurvedic resort by the sea in South India. Here you can benefit from traditional Ayurvedic therapy as well as yoga in a blissfully peaceful environment. It is one of the best tourism spots in Kerala, India. Located at Chowara Beach on a hillock 9 km south of the famous Kovalam Beach, Trivandrum, Kerala with over 15 acres of greenery all around.And for houseboat trip in kollam u can visit our kollam allseason backwater resort .. search for allseason kollam ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, ClearTrip, Booking.com, Expedia, MakeMyTrip and Agoda so you can book your Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somatheeram Ayurveda Hotel Chowara
Somatheeram Ayurvedic Beach Hotel
Somatheeram Ayurveda Resort Kerala/Chowara, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing